We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little stock and off hand staff”
Review of Fruits of Rarotonga - CLOSED

Fruits of Rarotonga
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

I have returned to Raro having been here many times before in the early 2000’s.

The Fruits is no long the same - selling the, scones and world beating jams.

We popped in to get drinks and a snack and got an out of date Diet Coke.

Having driven by every day for a few weeks it is closed unless there are a lot of people at the beach and there is not any stock.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank seniortrend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (180)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 180 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2018

This is the only place that we encountered poor and borderline rude customer service on Rarotonga - but it was kind of funny. Came in for a smoothie a lady in the back is eating a burger. We asked if it was open she said yes, then continues to eat, her mouth full of food and sauce all over the face comes over and asks how she can help...lolol

We stayed next to it for 2 week and been there only once. You can't tell if it is open or closed.
Also charge you 50 cents for a to go cup.

When and if you do get a smoothie (don't get anything else). It is pretty good.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank KirksGuide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 April 2018

No idea how to rate it since we didn't buy anything there so I've gone with three stars - average rating. Mainly I wanted to add this review because we were staying very close and there seems to be so much contention as to whether they're ever open. The answer being - yes, they are. We called in to specifically ask that question and were told their opening hours (at the time of our visit, March 2018, and under the current ownership) are - 12 (noon) till 4.00pm. Monday to Friday.

Hope this helps some people with any plans they have to visit the area and want to call into the shop. It appears to be mainly a small takeaway with some seating selling burgers, fish and chips and drinks etc. Seems nice enough for a place to grab a quick bite and/or a cold drink after snorkeling opposite or to take across the road for a casual picnic style meal while enjoying the view. But, again, can't vouch for the food just wanted to update on their current status and hours.

Date of visit: March 2018
1  Thank Dianz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 December 2017

There were no signs of life at all during our recent trip. I think it has finally closed.

Hopefully someone else will take it over and restore it to its former glory as it's in a great position for those going snorkelling at the Tikioki marine reserve.

Date of visit: November 2017
3  Thank nzlilibet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Spent a week in raro and drove past daily, never open and no sign up. Was disappointed as was looking to stop in after a spot of snorkeling across the road.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Gen_V18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fruits of Rarotonga also viewed

 
Avarua, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing