We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be called the Hidden Secret!”

The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill
Ranked #23 of 108 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$24
Cuisines: Polynesian, Seafood, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill is on the site of the old Maire Nui Cafe set within the luxurious grounds of the Maire Nui Botanical Gardens. Now incorporating a stainless 'outside' Kitchen for night time, The Hidden Spirit offers holiday makers and locals alike a dining experience with a real point of difference on the island of Rarotonga. Specialising in fresh local produce (especially seafood) cooked in a local style but with a subtle influence of the Orient.Open:Monday-Friday 10am-4.30pmSaturday: Midday-4.30pmNights: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday: 6.30pm- 11.00pmBooking essential for night time grill.
Reviewed 14 February 2019

we stopped off for a smoothie and a spot in the shade during our trip to the gardens, and the atmosphere and the smoothie were fantastic!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank rebeccawD7393QW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 339 reviews

Reviewed 13 February 2019 via mobile

Called in for lunch. Service was good and food was very fresh and tasty. Garden setting is lovely with a little walk through to the cafe and a $5 donation to wander around the garden if you like. Lovely flowers well maintained by volunteers. There is mozzies about so take your spray with you in case you need it.

Date of visit: February 2019
1  Thank Melissa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 February 2019

We came here for lunch and had a wonderful time. Beautiful grounds, amazing service and great food! Would highly recommend!

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank donnag5652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 February 2019

I had the watermelon salad this time round and it was super fresh and super delicious - they sell a small array of souvenirs here too - we got some gorgeous coasters and bamboo straws!

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank JudeAF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 January 2019 via mobile

We whizzed past this place a couple times on the scooter and one day I said “pull in here, we have to find this hidden cafe!”. I’m so glad we stopped because the gardens were beautiful with butterflies hovering. The owners were super friendly ladies and the food was delicious! Organic ingredients right from the garden were used in this yummy chicken curry. Definitely recommend to anyone staying in Raro for a lunch stop.

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank travelagentjetsetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill also viewed

 
Titikaveka, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing