We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Solarpowered_12
Taupo, New Zealand

Convenient Location

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 11, 2016
3rd visit to Aitutaki and first time at Popoara. We love this end of the island and Popoara Ocean Breeze Villas are well located and has the added bonus of The Boat Shed Bar & Grill (just remember to book!). Good facilities and we noted that they have upgraded one of the villas so presume others will follow. Clean and tidy and nice to have the cooking facilities. Great location with an easy walk to Ootu Beach and other bar/restaurant and cafe. The staff were friendly & we thoroughly enjoyed our stay there. This is a quiet, relaxing place to stay & relatively private.
Date of stay: August 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
3.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • eDreams
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
  • Priceline
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱17,828
  • Expedia.com
    ₱20,202
Free parking
Pool
Absolutely Beautiful
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Official Site
    ₱10,007
  • eDreams
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
Free parking
Pool
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveler rating
5
13
4
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
5
13
4
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 24 reviews
Reviewed March 4, 2015 via mobile

This was our second stay at Popoara , we stayed last year for few weeks and this year as well for 2 weeks and we enjoyed our stay as usual. The villas are clean, tidy, well equipped, good value for money and on a good location, on the breeze side of the island. Staff are very friendly and helpful and the owner is very friendly and helpful too.
Highly recommend this villas

Date of stay: January 2015
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank 19islandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 2, 2014

6 wonderful nights on restfull Aitutaki. Enjoyed the food and drink at the boat shed next door and appreciated the cooking facility when we needed a light dinner and being able to cook the Mahi Mahi we caught. If you stay here just don't try and visit the Island resort across the estuary. We popped over for a look and the offered to "escort" us to the bar then they would "escort" us back to the boat. Just go some where else that makes visitors welcome. Thanks to the boat shed crew for the service and pleasure of your company.

Ken & Jacqui

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kjpeters2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Me and my husband have been 5 times to Aitutaki and we know the island upside down and those villas are great value for money, clean and the staff are very friendly.. The owner is very nice to and always helpful.
Teina was our star :) she went the extra mile for us many times and thats not what we usually see when we travel.. Thank you for looking after us !

Date of stay: January 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 19islandcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Great spot, clean, affordable, easy access to the lagoon. Next to good restaurant with basic good food and cool reasonably priced drinks at the bar. Friendly staff, most hospitable, very safe. I would return in a heartbeat.

Room tip: Rent a pedal bike and take in the beauty of this laid back place. could have a fresh h2o pool but the salt water lagoon is world class.
Date of stay: May 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed March 6, 2013

We live in Rarotonga but my husband had work to do at he Aituaki Airport for 3 days so we ideally stayed at Popoara villa which is located at the end of the runway. My widowed mother followed us and had the villa right next door to us. It was very practical for us as we had villa 1 & 2, a few steps away from the parking and from the restaurant. My 75 year old Mum did not have to walk far. Villa had A/C which I believe is a must for Aitutaki because it can get quite hot. Enjoyed the sun and sea during the day and came back to a cool room in the evening for a good sleep. Staff was friendly from young man Atai who pick us up at the airport, his twin brother Fabio who attended to us in office, Vaine who served us our food, Teina who cleaned our room and Maria, the owner who chatted with us at dinner time. Thanks to all.

Room tip: All 4 villas are A/C so comfortable.
Date of stay: March 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ninice_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews