We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Ani O

Easy Going

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed May 13, 2019
A classic little 1980's style motel - no frills and a bit run down but has old school charm and very nice managers. Organise your own transport in advance - its close to town but the island has a few options to offer - mostly scattered all around - so best to get a car or scooter to explore at first.. when you get your bearings then you could get a bicycle :) Across the road is a small jetty where TEKING tours set off on their day trips - which is handy also. Its quiet but NOT the best beach for swimming in - so if you are wanting the lagoon view with white sands then don't stay here. Its a great option for big groups - with each room having at least a queen & single bed in each. Some of the units are self catering. There needs to be a few renovations done to some of the plumbing and the laundry area which is a bit swampy and prone to mosquitos - so take good repellant. It has a very cute swimming pool and generally a nice welcoming vibe. I liked it alot.
Date of stay: May 2019
Room Tip: Room 2 was good for me.
Trip type: Traveled on business
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱42,388
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱42,388
  • Agoda.com
    ₱37,647
  • Booking.com
    ₱42,453
3.3 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
₱31,290
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₱31,242
  • Lol.travel
    ₱30,083
  • Expedia.com
    ₱31,242
4.0 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
₱19,654
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    ₱19,624
  • Hotels.com
    ₱17,662
  • Priceline
3.9 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free Wifi
Free parking
₱34,130
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Priceline
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱28,710
  • Booking.com
    ₱34,182
5.3 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
Beach villas
₱6,290
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    ₱6,285
2.8 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Trip.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
4.3 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • ZenHotels.com
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
5.2 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
4.1 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
5.1 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
5.4 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
3
5
3
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
3
5
3
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 15 reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2018

We had 2 rooms booked. Had rung up 2 weeks prior to confirm. When we got picked up from airport we were told we had 2 rooms in different motels a few km's apart. This was not suitable since my elderly parents were to have 1 room and they needed us close by to help them. We had no transport or phone and it was too far to walk all the time. We had trips booked in together also so it was going to be very awkward. In the end we had to settle with an very old rundown room so we could be in the motel with our parents. This was a real let down for our holiday. We had booked and paid for the motel 4 months in advance so there was no excuse. The Reef motel offered no real apology or compensation for the inadequate room we had to accept. Do not book with this motel. Very disappointing!

Room tip: Find another motel!!!!
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank GlenMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 30, 2017

It's a great and quiet place 20 meters from the water, 15 minutes walking from the shop in town. We also walked nighttime and it was great under the stars, the whole island is safe and friendly. We loved this starting point to get lost in the jungle and riding the bike in the gravel roads around and accross the island.
The room was nice, fresh and tidy...don't forget you're on the beach!
Could not pretend more from a budget motel.
Ana, the manager, is a great hoste, very helpful and friendly, always keen for a chat.
The atmosphere around is wild, the time slows down.
Ka Kite

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank beachhouse2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 18, 2017 via mobile

9 day stay. Nice and clean. Pleasant manager. Situated in beautiful quiet part of the island, 20 minutes walk to the Centre and boat pick up (for kiting). Has little pool, with view on Honeymoon island (kite place). Good value!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Wybke
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 17, 2017 via mobile

When we arrived the office was empty but one of the long term guests showed us to the unit she thought was ours. It was very basic. The kitchenette consisted of an electric kettle and a toaster. There was tea and coffee but no milk and none available. Two of us staying but only one towel. The motel is situated at the bottom of the island away from any shops or amenities. We hired a scooter from the motel. The headlights worked intermittently which was disconcerting at night. We were it was full of fuel and the fuel gauge indicated full. We only did a few miles so the fuel gauge still indicated full. I went to top it up only to discover it was almost empty which meant when we picked it up it was not full. We had booked a scooter to be at the airport for us to pick up but it was not there so we had to pay a $40 transfer fee to get to the motel.

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Bigall1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 10, 2017 via mobile

Good value for aitutaki. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room with en suite bathroom and small communal kitchenette. Swimming pool in the middle of the motel was nice and well kept but the real attraction is the location with a 1 minute walk to the lagoon edge and a beautiful sunset

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank lthomp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews