We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
lthomp7
London, United Kingdom

Great budget accomodation

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jun 9, 2017via mobile
Good value for aitutaki. Very friendly and helpful staff. Clean and comfortable room with en suite bathroom and small communal kitchenette. Swimming pool in the middle of the motel was nice and well kept but the real attraction is the location with a 1 minute walk to the lagoon edge and a beautiful sunset
Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱41,959
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱41,959
  • Booking.com
    ₱41,975
3.3 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
₱19,424
Go to your Happy Price
    3.9 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
    Free Wifi
    Free parking
    ₱30,234
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Hotels.com
    • Vio.com
      ₱26,222
    • Booking.com
      ₱28,395
    4.0 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
    Free parking
    Pool
    Beach villas
    ₱6,218
    No prepayment needed
    • Priceline
      ₱6,216
    2.8 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
    Beachfront
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    • Booking.com
    • Trip.com
    4.3 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
    Free parking
    Pool
    Beachfront Deluxe
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    • ZenHotels.com
    2.1 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
    Free parking
    Beachfront
    Absolutely Beautiful
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      ₱6,063
    • Vio.com
      ₱6,058
    • Priceline
      ₱6,060
    5.2 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    5.2 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Booking.com
      ₱33,670
    • Priceline
      ₱29,452
    • Expedia.com
      ₱33,657
    5.3 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
    Free parking
    Pool
    Get rewarded with One Key
    • Expedia.com
    • Booking.com
    • eDreams
    1.7 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
    Free parking
    View more hotels in Aitutaki
    Reviews (15)
    Filter reviews
    15 results
    Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    1
    3
    Traveler type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    Traveler rating
    3
    5
    3
    1
    3
    See what travelers are saying:
    Selected filters
    Filter
    Updating list...
    7 - 12 of 15 reviews
    Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

    This hotel motel is not a flashy beautiful Motel that is showy but don't turn away. If your looking for a real Aitutaki experience The Reef is perfect. Located on the other side amongst the local village. we met some amazing people. You MUST hire a scooter and explore all the roads and villages. Shane at The Reef arranged a scooter to be dropped at The Reef for us within 30 mins. Shane showed us to open a coconut using "the coconut stick". Tip: Shane is great but you will have to ask him to show you things or he will not think to (island time-lol) once you ask nothing is a bother. The rooms are basic (no tv) but we learnt to see the beauty of The Reef Motel. We would return....if Shane was still running it. Hot tip bring ear plugs as the village is filled with the sound of roosters crowing in the morning. Ear plugs made it no problem at all. For the price and the experience of a real Aitutaki holiday where you are enriched by the people and the beautiful Island....stay at the Reef.

    Date of stay: November 2015
    Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    3  Thank Sally F
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed September 14, 2015

    I stayed here as part of a Kitesurfing package and found the place to have all the basics that we needed. When we first arrived there was no fridge in the room but after talking to management that was quickly sorted out. There was no cooking facilities in the room but they did allow us to use the kitchen and bbq across the road. There's a swimming pool in the middle of the complex which was pretty clean and free from any leaves. Wifi access was pretty good but you sometimes had to sit outside the reception to get a good signal at busy times. The closest shops were about 15mins walk away but not a problem if you have a scooter. Overall a good experience but like most other places on the island it could do with a bit of a renovation

    Date of stay: September 2015
    • Trip type: Traveled with friends
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Mark S
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed August 10, 2015

    The units are basic but good, thanks to the caretakers of the place. We had comfy one bedroom unit with solar powered hot water ,fan, small fridge, cooktop,use of towels and utensils, use of the swimmng pool which was very clean. We had use of the kayaks which was awesome, it is across the road from the lagoon and the views are awesome. There is a wifi hotspot at the motel which is very handy!. There isnt any parking but there are areas you can park. The caretakers Shane and his wife are really lovely ,hardworking people who really go out of there way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Also you will definitely need some type of vehicle as it is a fair distance away from the town centre. It is situated in the Nikaupara area, not Arutanga.

    Date of stay: July 2015
    1  Thank louiseh643
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed March 22, 2015

    We found the team at The Reef to be friendly and very helpful. We had paid for accommodation at another property and after several issues, including raw sewage spilling out of the toilet, we decided to change properties.

    We had a lovely bungalow with a beach view, it was clean, well appointed and nice and relaxing.

    Date of stay: March 2015
    • Trip type: Traveled with family
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    1  Thank TriciaD576
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    Reviewed December 5, 2014

    The motel was great. Our situation required a cheap stay for our final night and the Reef motel was perfect.
    Pira was there to greet us and helped settle us in.

    The motel is situated in a quite part just outside of town, about 10-15 minutes walk to the center past a few goats and local houses. I wouldn't expect any nightlife unless the motel is full, then maybe a beach party. This suited us so thumbs up.
    The pool was unfortunately drained but at least you know they're maintaining it.
    The room was clean, fairly small and had what was needed. It's a budget motel but good value in our opinion.

    Upon leaving there was a problem with our aiport transfer so Pira took us to the airport. Very helpful and easy going.

    A fantastic experience was walking back from the town center after dark and seeing all the mud crabs on the full moon creeping around. Big guys compared to Australia.

    Thank you for a pleasant stay and helping us get to the airport.

    Room tip: The first room on the left was pretty good. Most seemed similar
    Date of stay: November 2014
    • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
      • Sleep Quality
      • Cleanliness
      • Service
    2  Thank David N
    This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
    View more reviews