We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Louise H

Awesome Caretakers

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Aug 10, 2015
The units are basic but good, thanks to the caretakers of the place. We had comfy one bedroom unit with solar powered hot water ,fan, small fridge, cooktop,use of towels and utensils, use of the swimmng pool which was very clean. We had use of the kayaks which was awesome, it is across the road from the lagoon and the views are awesome. There is a wifi hotspot at the motel which is very handy!. There isnt any parking but there are areas you can park. The caretakers Shane and his wife are really lovely ,hardworking people who really go out of there way to make your stay as comfortable as possible. Also you will definitely need some type of vehicle as it is a fair distance away from the town centre. It is situated in the Nikaupara area, not Arutanga.
Date of stay: July 2015
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.3 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • Priceline
4.3 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₱26,662
  • Expedia.com
    ₱30,208
4.0 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
5.2 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
₱52,290
₱46,421
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱46,421
  • Booking.com
5.3 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
5.1 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Beachfront
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.1 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Beachfront
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
5.4 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Beachfront
Bungalow no.7
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
4.8 km from The Reef Motel Aitutaki
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (15)
Filter reviews
15 results
Traveler rating
3
5
3
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
3
5
3
1
3
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 15 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2015

We found the team at The Reef to be friendly and very helpful. We had paid for accommodation at another property and after several issues, including raw sewage spilling out of the toilet, we decided to change properties.

We had a lovely bungalow with a beach view, it was clean, well appointed and nice and relaxing.

Date of stay: March 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TriciaD576
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed December 5, 2014

The motel was great. Our situation required a cheap stay for our final night and the Reef motel was perfect.
Pira was there to greet us and helped settle us in.

The motel is situated in a quite part just outside of town, about 10-15 minutes walk to the center past a few goats and local houses. I wouldn't expect any nightlife unless the motel is full, then maybe a beach party. This suited us so thumbs up.
The pool was unfortunately drained but at least you know they're maintaining it.
The room was clean, fairly small and had what was needed. It's a budget motel but good value in our opinion.

Upon leaving there was a problem with our aiport transfer so Pira took us to the airport. Very helpful and easy going.

A fantastic experience was walking back from the town center after dark and seeing all the mud crabs on the full moon creeping around. Big guys compared to Australia.

Thank you for a pleasant stay and helping us get to the airport.

Room tip: The first room on the left was pretty good. Most seemed similar
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David N
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 8, 2014

Reef motel was a great place to stay - the rooms were nice and clean, Pira and the other staff were very friendly and obliging, and it was well located relative to the small main town and the lagoon cruises. Best way to get around is to hire a scooter, then the whole island is accessed in 15 minutes. Fun times hanging out by the pool and in the dining area across the road.

Reef motel is not the fanciest, but it was comfortable, clean and fun. We spent a lot of our time exploring the island and the lagoon, and Reef was a great base.

Room tip: We stayed in a room with a separate bedroom which was helpful for reducing the mozzies that sneaked in the front door to get to the bedroom. Kitchen is helpful, but its more expensive to cook yourself than to eat out, so we didn't use it as much as we thought we might.
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank kiwibearess
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 4, 2014

We were picked up at the airport by Pira, she is friendly and helpful. She drove us around the small town pointed out places of interest and then we stopped to pick up a few quick groceries. At the motel she helped us by calling places to book my scuba trip, lagoon cruise, and scooter rentals as we brought no phones or computers. The motel is clean, and we did have a kitchenette, apparently all rooms do not. Another reviewer complained of ants, if you leave any food out they will come, put your food in the fridge and clean up after yourself and you will not have any problems. As for mosquitoes, they are all around the island, use repellent, mozzie coils, and close the doors quickly (especially at dusk and dawn). The motel is very nice for the price and has a small pool, it is also about 1/2 mile from the main town (a few minutes by scooter). 2 lagoon trip companies depart right in front of the hotel so this is convenient. Hotel is oceanfront, but there is no beach, but the lagoon is why most come here, and with a scooter the beach at the Pacific Resort is 7 minutes away. The best beach on the main island is Ootu beach, and that is where you can kayak out to some of the small islands. This is maybe 15 min by scooter from The Reef Motel. The best beaches are actually in the lagoon, that is why a lagoon tour is a must. If you camp, stay in youth hostels, and travel on a budget like my family, then I recommend the Reef Motel, for the price, friendliness, and helpfulness of the motel staff. I stayed at the end of June 2014 for 5 days, and I believe the motel is under new owners. If you want a beach or closer to the other side of the island be prepared to spend more then double for the same kind of accommodation.

HAPPY TRAVELS

Room tip: Get a room with a kitchenette, as eating out is expensive.
Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LIKEWOWWIPEOUT
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed June 27, 2014

backpacker motel/hotels have better standards then The Reef Motel.
they advertised private kitchenettes, but the rooms don't have then - it is a shed across the road.
it's away from everything.
the rooms are dirty, unhygienic and full of ants and mosquitos
if staying on Aitutaki - best to treat yourself to some place nice.
STAY CLEAR of The Reef Motel - Aitutaki

Date of stay: June 2014
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Sallyporsche
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews