We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Virginia S
Melbourne, Australia

Beautiful beachside spot

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Jul 23, 2023
Steve was helpful in finding rooms for us all, car hire and airport pickup. This place is well located with good swimming on the doorstep and nice cafes and restaurants nearby. Rooms were clean and comfortable with excellent beds. We loved the low key vibe and would happily return.
Date of stay: July 2023
Room Tip: Enjoy the nearby cafe and restaurants. And a trip out on the lagoon is fantastic.
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱55,536
₱46,730
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    ₱46,612
  • Expedia.com
    ₱46,621
  • StayForLong
    ₱55,536
0.3 km from Ranginui's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
₱30,339
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    ₱33,434
  • Hotels.com
    ₱27,148
  • Trip.com
3.3 km from Ranginui's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
our lodge
₱8,863
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    ₱8,841
  • eDreams
    ₱8,863
2.9 km from Ranginui's Retreat
Free parking
Beachfront
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
3.0 km from Ranginui's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Ranginui's Retreat
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
2.8 km from Ranginui's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.1 km from Ranginui's Retreat
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
3.8 km from Ranginui's Retreat
Free parking
Pool
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.2 km from Ranginui's Retreat
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (121)
Filter reviews
121 results
Traveler rating
49
39
15
8
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
49
39
15
8
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews walking distance koru cafe great place to stay paddle boards fly screens we've stayed bar and grill rent a scooter lani steve cabin bbq accommodation fraction lagoon island units
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 121 reviews
Reviewed June 4, 2023 via mobile

I stayed two nights at Ranganui’s. The location is great, walking distance to the boats and 3 nearby restaurants. The room was small but clean. The area is rampant with mosquitos, so bring insect repellant! The only reason I gave this place 3 stars instead of 5 is due to the lack of communication with staff. I had emailed my itinerary as well as the need for a morning airport shuttle. When I arrived, I had to wait an hour outside to find someone to help with check-in. I never saw the owner again and upon leaving, did not have a ride and had to walk 35 minutes to the airport with my heavy bags. One thing to note that I didn’t know in advance is the office is closed some days and only open 8:30-noon others.

Room tip: Bring bug spray!!!
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Traveled solo
1  Thank Culture17796389164
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 12, 2023 via mobile

This place is a great find…..
Great location on the lagoon, not for from the lagoon cruises set of point - just down the road. Koru Cafe and The Boatshed Bar and Grill are within easy walking distance - there is no restaurant at Ranginui’s Retreat but the rooms have cooking facilities. There is a pool, sun-loungers, kayaks, paddle boards and snorkelling gear. There are scooters available for hire.
The rooms have recently been renovated and are nicely decorated.
Our room had a king bed, table and chairs (inside and outside), bbq, microwave, cooking facilities, kitchen utensils/equipment, bathroom with external shower.
Other rooms had two bedrooms and slept 4 adults - they had all the other stuff too.

Room tip: If you wish to hire a car ask before you get there - just to be sure….. We were there end of March/beginning of April - it was quiet…..
Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank kerry1465
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 7, 2022

Awesome place to stay and great people running it. Couldn't think of a better place to stay. I very highly recommend it.
Clean units well groomed grounds. All scooters where reliable and well maintained.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 30, 2022 via mobile

We found Aitutaki to be a charming place to visit. We paid for an ‘are (I think that’s the Cook Island Māori version of ‘whare’!) close to the water & the accomodation was light, bright, & quiet. The bed was fabulous with great quality linen. Loved the outdoor shower and the electric frypan in the kitchen, and the BBQ was a bonus. We also found Steve & Laine to be attentive, helpful and pleasant hosts

Room tip: Take your own mask and snorkel and do a lagoon cruise.
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank johnnavon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 1, 2022

Great location on the island you get you have the same view as the $2000 a night over rated cabins across the water ..% minutes walk and your at the Blue Lagoon sunset bar and Restaurant Cheap drinks and meals get the steak is better than home . 5 minutes in the other direction your at the Boatshed to watch the moon rise or sun if you want to get up early Get the fish and chips . Walk out the gate and the boys at Platinum Cruising whether cruising the lagoon or chasing the big fish they have great new gear just ready to go . After a long couple of years in lock down and needing a break just the smiles and joking with the locals will warm your hearts such a loving experience! Poor old Ginnyjing must think the Mozzies have been trained just to get him because of his nationality Rarotonga and Aitutaki have them make sure you find accommodation that has fly screens and pack spray .

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank megsk2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews