We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Lori G
Aurora, Colorado

Villas with Beautiful Sunset views

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 11, 2019via mobile
Recently stayed at Aretai and all I can do is rave about this property and the villa. The villas are situated on the beautiful lagoon with sunset views that will amaze!!! The property managers Lawton and Marie are the best and were helpful in getting reservations for different island activities.

I would highly recommend for families, friends or a romantic getaway!!!

I will absolutely be staying at Aretai again on one of my future trips to Aitutaki!!!
Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • eDreams
0.6 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • ZenHotels.com
0.4 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
₱42,336
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱42,336
  • Booking.com
1.8 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    ₱19,429
  • Expedia.com
    ₱19,997
1.0 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.6 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱17,640
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free Wifi
Free parking
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
2.7 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱34,621
  • ZenHotels.com
    ₱29,263
  • Booking.com
3.1 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Absolutely Beautiful
₱9,408
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,408
2.8 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
42
18
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
42
18
3
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 64 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2019 via mobile

Sorry this review is so overdue.

We stayed at Aretai in June 2018 for two nights as a side trip to our twelve night stay on Rarotonga. This was also our second time on Aitutaki (having experienced the day trip on our previous visit). We wanted a home base to explore the island and have something beach front to enjoy the sunsets and relax on our down time.

I think Aretai delivered for us. The accommodation is pretty basic, but you’ve got all you need to be comfortable.

Lawton was a great host. He picked us up at the airport, made reservations for dinner the first night, and helped secure the last van in town on very short notice (elections were being held and some government folks had all the vehicles).

The path to the highest point on the island (beautiful overlook) is about 100 meters down the road toward town. Take the time to hike up there.

The beach isn’t adequate for swimming or snorkeling, but the sunsets are spectacular and you can wade out into the lagoon for quite a ways. After a day on the lagoon

Was a little disappointed that the property manager/owner (who I understand does not live on the island) required we rent both units for a couple and four children (14, 11, 7, and 3 year old). These are two bedroom units with two couch beds in the family room in front. One unit was perfect for us. Not complaining, I get it, but the unit is certainly large enough to accommodate a family of our size comfortably.

High scores for the beauty of the place and the on-site manager Lawton.

Should we ever be blessed to return for another extended stay on Aitutaki, Aretai would be a great option.

Beautiful island. Great service Lawton!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank azspecialk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 11, 2018

Aretai is a collection of villas right on the beach on Aitutaki's west coast. It is a little north of the main township area, about 3km. The beach is nice and not very busy at all with no large resorts nearby.
The villa we stayed in is a 2 bedroom free standing unit, with a large family area and deck. There are 3 of these, 2 are absolute beach front and the other is set back slightly being the other two. There are another 2 more villas which look very nice as well, although I didn't see inside them.
The villa is equipped with 2 rooms with a double bed in each and 2 single beds in the living area. The kitchen has a fridge / freezer and full electric oven and 4 hob stove. There are adequate cooking pots, pans and utensils for 4 people. Tea and coffee is provided.
The bathroom is clean and roomy with ample towels and soaps provided.
Rooms are not fully serviced every day but rubbish is taken away daily. This suited us just fine.
The hosts are very welcoming and accommodating. Lawton and Maria took great care of our family and made sure our stay was fantastic.
There is an outdoor BBQ area as well, which we took advantage of.
If you are looking for a property with a fantastic location and a set up that allows you to cook in, and have a feeling of a home away from home, this is it. We travelled as a family and it was ideal.
We will certainly be back!

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TangataMoana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 21, 2018

The Villas were perfect for our two families on holiday together. They were very spacious and the beds were really comfortable. The large decks on each villa were perfect for sharing meals and watching the sunsets. Couldn't have been more beach front. Absolutely stunning! Our hosts were, so friendly and accommodating. Even picking us fresh passion fruit from their vines in the Garden. We would love to stay again, one day....

Room tip: Choose the beach front Villa if you can get it!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dufffamily2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We booked eight nights here and the villa was clean and quiet. Although there were a few roosters around, they did not disturb our sleeping. The kitchen had a full- size refrigerator and the cooking supplies were adequate. There is a laundry room on site. The villa is located directly on the beach with nice lawn chairs to relax in the shade. The kayaks were extremely enjoyable. Although the area directly in front of the villas is not good for swimming because of the coral, but there is a great swimming hole within a short walk from the villa. We enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarborTownFlyFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

We had a such a relaxing time (once we settled into the roosters routine) they wake you before dawn but it is worth it as that is when it is cooler and fresh. Marie who lives behind the villas was such an enormous help picking us up and returning us to the airport and generally helping us settle in and experience just small slice of Aitutaki magic.

The villas are comfortable and self catering. Note there is no air conditioning but fans throughout and screens on all the windows.

I loved all fruit trees in the garden and once I figured out I had to get up at 5:30am to beat the birds I harvested fresh gauvas, passionfruit and limes which ended up in a version of Key Lime pie Aitutaki style :) and of course freshened our drinks!

Swimming is best in the hole to the left of the villas and the kayaks are great to explore the reef.

We all took Puna’s snorkel tour which was both entertaining and educational from the impounded Ecuadorian drug running vessel in the harbor, to our first glimpse (we nearly stepped on her) of the ground nesting red-tailed tropicbird (Phaethon rubricauda) on Honeymoon Island, to the gorgeous colors of blue sea where we met so many different varieties of gorgeous colored fish, coral and clams - we could have done it more than once!

The guys all went out with Mike at Black Pearl and despite coming home empty handed had a wonderful morning chasing birds and playing catch and release. Mike, bless him, arrived with fresh and marinated tuna in the afternoon which we barbecued. It was delicious.

Some of us went diving - not me - so can’t talk to that but despite some visibility issues sounded great!

We met Puffy who has a great beach cafe next door who drove us to Market at 6am one morning and Emily at the market who makes the lovely parues. We bought the local spinach and potato salad for dinner and met the lady who grows lettuces hydroponically.

It is a magical place, - the safest, cleanest, friendliest island I have ever been - love to return.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dorene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews