We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
TangataMoana
Rarotonga, Cook Islands

A true paradise with amazing hosts

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Sep 10, 2018
Aretai is a collection of villas right on the beach on Aitutaki's west coast. It is a little north of the main township area, about 3km. The beach is nice and not very busy at all with no large resorts nearby.
The villa we stayed in is a 2 bedroom free standing unit, with a large family area and deck. There are 3 of these, 2 are absolute beach front and the other is set back slightly being the other two. There are another 2 more villas which look very nice as well, although I didn't see inside them.
The villa is equipped with 2 rooms with a double bed in each and 2 single beds in the living area. The kitchen has a fridge / freezer and full electric oven and 4 hob stove. There are adequate cooking pots, pans and utensils for 4 people. Tea and coffee is provided.
The bathroom is clean and roomy with ample towels and soaps provided.
Rooms are not fully serviced every day but rubbish is taken away daily. This suited us just fine.
The hosts are very welcoming and accommodating. Lawton and Maria took great care of our family and made sure our stay was fantastic.
There is an outdoor BBQ area as well, which we took advantage of.
If you are looking for a property with a fantastic location and a set up that allows you to cook in, and have a feeling of a home away from home, this is it. We travelled as a family and it was ideal.
We will certainly be back!
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
₱30,217
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
    ₱27,786
  • Agoda.com
    ₱27,393
  • Booking.com
    ₱33,229
1.0 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
₱59,466
₱46,411
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱46,434
  • Booking.com
    ₱46,743
  • StayForLong
    ₱59,466
3.1 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
our lodge
₱8,866
No prepayment needed
  • Agoda.com
    ₱8,800
  • eDreams
    ₱8,866
0.7 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Earn Trip Coins after your stay
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
  • Lol.travel
0.6 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Lol.travel
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
0.4 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
  • Lol.travel
  • Expedia.com
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.6 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
0.9 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Go to your Happy Price
  • Vio.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
2.7 km from Aretai Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (64)
Filter reviews
64 results
Traveler rating
42
18
3
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveler rating
42
18
3
0
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 64 reviews
Reviewed July 21, 2018

The Villas were perfect for our two families on holiday together. They were very spacious and the beds were really comfortable. The large decks on each villa were perfect for sharing meals and watching the sunsets. Couldn't have been more beach front. Absolutely stunning! Our hosts were, so friendly and accommodating. Even picking us fresh passion fruit from their vines in the Garden. We would love to stay again, one day....

Room tip: Choose the beach front Villa if you can get it!
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dufffamily2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 16, 2018

We booked eight nights here and the villa was clean and quiet. Although there were a few roosters around, they did not disturb our sleeping. The kitchen had a full- size refrigerator and the cooking supplies were adequate. There is a laundry room on site. The villa is located directly on the beach with nice lawn chairs to relax in the shade. The kayaks were extremely enjoyable. Although the area directly in front of the villas is not good for swimming because of the coral, but there is a great swimming hole within a short walk from the villa. We enjoyed our stay!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank HarborTownFlyFishing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed April 11, 2018

We had a such a relaxing time (once we settled into the roosters routine) they wake you before dawn but it is worth it as that is when it is cooler and fresh. Marie who lives behind the villas was such an enormous help picking us up and returning us to the airport and generally helping us settle in and experience just small slice of Aitutaki magic.

The villas are comfortable and self catering. Note there is no air conditioning but fans throughout and screens on all the windows.

I loved all fruit trees in the garden and once I figured out I had to get up at 5:30am to beat the birds I harvested fresh gauvas, passionfruit and limes which ended up in a version of Key Lime pie Aitutaki style :) and of course freshened our drinks!

Swimming is best in the hole to the left of the villas and the kayaks are great to explore the reef.

We all took Puna’s snorkel tour which was both entertaining and educational from the impounded Ecuadorian drug running vessel in the harbor, to our first glimpse (we nearly stepped on her) of the ground nesting red-tailed tropicbird (Phaethon rubricauda) on Honeymoon Island, to the gorgeous colors of blue sea where we met so many different varieties of gorgeous colored fish, coral and clams - we could have done it more than once!

The guys all went out with Mike at Black Pearl and despite coming home empty handed had a wonderful morning chasing birds and playing catch and release. Mike, bless him, arrived with fresh and marinated tuna in the afternoon which we barbecued. It was delicious.

Some of us went diving - not me - so can’t talk to that but despite some visibility issues sounded great!

We met Puffy who has a great beach cafe next door who drove us to Market at 6am one morning and Emily at the market who makes the lovely parues. We bought the local spinach and potato salad for dinner and met the lady who grows lettuces hydroponically.

It is a magical place, - the safest, cleanest, friendliest island I have ever been - love to return.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Dorene P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed October 3, 2017

We couldn’t have been happier with this accommodation. It suited us perfectly, met all our expectations and provided a very comfortable, self contained and private home right on the beach. The sunsets are indescribably beautiful and the swimming hole a real treat. A super "home" for a family.
The onsite manager was beyond helpful. We have never had someone meet us off a flight and then drive us from shop to shop to get our provisions! He even delivered the freshest bread ever the next morning!! His help in booking snorkeling and fishing trips and even dinner at Tamanu was invaluable and every piece of advice he gave us was spot on!!
He added to our holiday immensely.
We just loved the location and the peaceful private feel of the place.
We will go back and stay there again in the near future….it really was affordable paradise!!

Date of stay: September 2017
2  Thank SarahL12015
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed September 10, 2017

Just had a wonderful stay on Aitutaki for 3 nights - relaxing and peaceful. The villas are right on the beach with a swimming hole 2 minutes down the beach and beautiful sunsets. Villas are spacious and airy and great to relax in! Try Puffys next door for beautiful fish and chips, Tamanu Beach for the island night, Te King lagoon cruises for amazing snorkelling and Pacific Resort for extraordinary massages. Hope to be back soon

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank natalietrowbridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews