We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
RVgal
Orange County, Ca

Our best 5 days!!

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed Dec 6, 2023
We spent 5 nights in this beautiful location. It could not have been better. Our favorite was the fabulous breakfast on our patio each morning. When the staff learned we were early risers and big morning coffee drinkers we had special early times. And we loved our morning visit by Miss Penelope the resident cat.

Several good restaurants are in walking distance. Cheran and her staff were fabulous! She arranged our small boat lagoon tour. Everything request was "No problem "
Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, Owner at Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, responded to this review
Responded Dec 30, 2023
Thank you so much for your kind review again @RVgal :) Meitaki atupaka, Cheran & Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Trip.com
  • eDreams
0.7 km from Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Trip.com
2.8 km from Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
2.5 km from Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
0.4 km from Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
  • Expedia.com
    ₱20,182
  • Lol.travel
    ₱17,628
  • Hotels.com
3.2 km from Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Absolutely Beautiful
  • Hotels.com
  • Official Site
    ₱9,985
  • Priceline
0.5 km from Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
Lower Tree Hut - sleeps 3. Nice layout as kitchen is 'separated to the rear'.
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
3.1 km from Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Bungalow no.7
  • eDreams
  • Priceline
  • Vio.com
2.6 km from Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas
Free parking
Beachfront
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
3.7 km from Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas
Free parking
Pool
View more hotels in Aitutaki
Reviews (176)
Filter reviews
176 results
Traveler rating
129
26
14
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
129
26
14
6
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews koru cafe within walking distance beachfront bungalow international tour years experience priced accommodation every morning self catering winter escape serviced daily lagoon cruise louvered windows private location separate bathroom private island resort tropical breakfast restaurants cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 176 reviews
Reviewed November 27, 2023

They say great things come with time and effort... and I am "glad" our 2020 trip was pushed to 2023 as that allowed Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas to emerge from the previous ownership and transform the old property into this new little slice of heaven!

Location: located on the "restaurant side" of Aitutaki as Cheran, the general manager and also the person who picked us up from the airport (complimentary pick up and drop off are included) - which means you have 4 different restaurants available in walking distance, which proved to be absolutely amazing as the other side of Aitutaki has only 2 hotels with restaurants available to outside guests + there are here and there on the island small little food places, all which of course require a car - now you dont need a car here at all, it's a perfect little oasis but having a car for 1 day adds to the fun as you can explore the "mainland" - and for 1 day it's more than enough - I absolutely loved the walks to Koru, Blue Lagoon (via main road is easier or you can take the shortcut and walk on the beach shore, through O'otu Beach - you will get your feet wet though). There are no grocery stores in walking distance but we didnt need any really as the water in the room is safe to drink, restaurants in the area provided great food but you can always use the free bicycles to take a ride if you dont feel like renting a car or scooters. The lobby offers some items for sale as well - see one of the attached pictures from their brochures (beer, cola etc.) but they are closed on the weekends so stuck up in advance, if a must!

Room: we had the Beach View Villa - it's the 2nd one from the absolute waterfront, all of them have water view, I would say all of them are the "same great deal" so it doesnt matter which one you really get, the only probably difference would be the fact that the 1st villa has also a TV in the room, something no other villa does. You get 2GB of WiFi included in your stay - that goes reallllllllllly fast :) especially when you share pictures/videos from this stunning place with your family and friends hahaha but the restaurants in the area sell additional packages (do explore them as for 15NZD we got 20GB package for 5 days... we stayed exactly 5 days so it worked for us, another 2GB was for 10NZD for unlimited time so do check the multiple options they offer and choose the one that fits your needs/time best!). The room had a water filter (powered) and thus you dont need water from the store, just a clean bottle/vessel to drink from - the A/C we havent turned on at all during our 5 days as it was very windy and with all open windows (luckily each has brand new nets/window screens so no issues with insects or lizards) we never got hot :) there is a full kitchen, fridge etc. (it's part of the Saturday/Sunday breakfast of which you can read below). There are no USB ports anywhere and all wall outlets are for NZ/AU so you need to bring a converter as otherwise you won't be able to run anything/charge anything from USA or other parts in the world. Upon arrival you get greeted at the airport with little sea shell necklaces but my wife got creative and since we had plenty of welcome flowers in the room upon arrival, which was lovely, she converted them into a flower crown :)))

Food & restaurants: our 5 days stay overlapped Saturday and Sunday - the two days where the complimentary breakfasts "is different" and something that we didnt care for - one is because we go on vacations to avoid cooking, and two because we go vacations to avoid eating same ol same ol eggs and bacon for breakfast - the office is closed on the weekends and you are left with eggs/bacon/hash browns/cereal/milk so you can fix your own breakfast - and maybe if it was just Sunday that would be more understandable but two days is a bit too much, especially since you have no option not to exclude it from the price of the room - the other 2 days the breakfast was excellent, fresh fruits, granola/parfait, juice - picture perfect and absolutely delic! An essence of what non-tropical people come to tropical islands for vacations! :) now this is also where Koru Cafe comes to the rescue - luckily they are open on the weekends and that's where we ended up having amazing breakfast (given you pay for both then so maybe something the hotel should reconsider/make optional as mentioned above). Koru Cafe is also an amazing place for lunch - all days of the week but Monday (do take their food to go before your flight home as both AIT and RAR airport have very poor selection). Our other favorite was the Blue Lagoon restaurant at the Aitutaki Village - scenic spot, down to earth, great drinks and amazingly nice people. We went to Aitutaki Private Lagoon for lunch as well (I have created a new TA profile for their new restaurant) and despite not being what it used to be the new location is also a perfect spot for a lunch or dinner. You can see my other reviews as we tried almost every available to public restaurant listed here on TA.

Hotel grounds: there are few huts for hotel guests and one where the owners live, one with the lobby/bicycles/scooters and then beachfront access - no other property next to you - which provided even more appreciated intimacy together with the lagoon access, that some other properties in the area do not combine - which was lovely! There is some nice vegetation along the pathways, a couple of cats :) always chilling in the shade, and lots of crabs - big ones in the ground, or small hermit ones along the beach - loved watching either ones in action :)

Beach: plenty of shade under the beautiful coconut trees, water is shallow and with low tides not swimmable except of course for the stretch that is man made/dug out and provides always better depth - honestly i didnt find Aitutaki, along it with its stunning lagoon, a place to swim - it's more for the eyes, walking, kayaking - and we loved it! Also, this is a nice area for the sunset as despite the other side of the lagoon you do face west so it's cool to chill - during our stay we didnt get bitten by any sand flies so that was a positive too, usually shallow peaceful waters attract a lot of bugs, some were present but not the worst of the worst - the sand flies aka no-see-ums :) If you wan't a more traditional beach with a restaurant on just walk along the shore to the area of Blue Lagoon restaurant for more action at the O'otu Beach.

Things to do: rent a car for a day and check out the other side of the main land, do of course a lagoon tour (we highly recommend the small and intimate experience with Kia Orana, reviewed separately for the full range of what the lagoon has to offer), do check out the Aitutaki Private Lagoon resort - it's a cool location and the hotel is OK with restaurant guests to walk around as long as you dont use their property for any beach related activities, do some evening Pina Coladas (made from real coconut) at Blue Lagoon with the sunset - or just chill at Tai Roto watching the sunset - we enjoyed all 5 days and thought 4 nights was a perfect length of stay

Overall: a great place to stay and I can see how with time it can become super hard to get here a spot, it's a limited availability already with a stunning and "secluded" yet close to everything location right on the lagoon - the only thing it's missing is a restaurant for lunch and dinner and I can see how people would never leave :)

Date of stay: October 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank reedmangreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 11, 2023

We couldn’t have asked for a more relaxed stay on Aitutaki. Attentive and friendly host, best breakfasts on the island, beautiful and well appointed villas. New scooters available for hire and walking distance to 4 cafes/ restaurants and also close to one of the best beaches on the island. We picked this property at random and hit the jackpot!

Room tip: Scooters are the best way to get around the island.
Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank GoPlaces67827414201
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, Owner at Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2023

Thank you so much @GoPlaces67827414201 for your wonderful review regarding your stay with us here at Tai Roto Bay.
Having the rental scooters onsite makes it super convenient for our guests and the restaurants to enjoy nearby.
We hope to host you in paradise again. Kia Manuia, Cheran & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2023

A very special place. We spent 5 days in Garden Villa n.6: very clean and spacious for 3 adults. Immaculate gardens and amazing beach, most important you can swim even with low tide. SUP, kayaks and bikes free to use. The hosts are super friendly and helpful and suggested us the best company for lagoon cruise (Kia Orana Cruises). Good and healthy breakfast delivered at your door each morning from 8am. But last 2 days cappuccino + croissant call from Koru Cafe was too strong for our italian hearts! We found nearby restaurants nothing special: I suggest to drive (scooter or taxi) to Pacific Resort Restaurant after having reserved a table for a very special dinner at the same cost.

Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank pizote67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, Owner at Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2023

Owwww so sweet! We love this! Your new favorite place on earth! What a stellar comment to make!
We are super happy to know you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and the breakfast specials served to your villa :)
Thank you for visiting this side of the world from Italy with your family! It was our absolute pleasure hosting you all and we hope to host you back again! Kia Manuia, Cheran & Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2023 via mobile

Ideally located on its own stretch of the Blue Lagoon, this charming and comfortable getaway will astound you with beautiful views by day and an astonishing firmament of stars at night. We went to most tours and restaurants by foot, but you can also use bicycles and available scooters to visit locations on the other side of the island. The host family is welcoming and warm, and will take care of your every need. This is just a place for a gracious vacation and total relaxation.

Room tip: Buy your wine and liquor when you arrive at the Rarotonga Airport, at the excellent duty-free shop.
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank NorthStar535278
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, Owner at Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2023

Kia Orana Northstar535278,
Thank you so much for your charming review during your stay here at Tai Roto Bay. We are so happy to hear you enjoyed the beautiful views of our lagoon :) Having the scooter rentals available makes it much easier to commute around the island for some good exploring :) We are blessed to be a family-owned business to share this part of the world with you! Thank you, for visiting our island paradise and we hope to host you again! Kia Manuia, Cheran & Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2023

This resort is a small boutique place with villas scattered amongst beautiful gardens on the quiet side of the island. The lagoon is the most gorgeous blue and most mornings, I was greeted with a friendly Kia Orana and a freshly husked coconut when I walked down to reception. The managers are lovely and can help with motor scooter hire at Tai Roto and will assist with booking tours and restaurants. You can relax on the daybeds by the lagoon or on the front deck of the villas or take the sup or kayaks out. We were given more than enough breakfast for our 4 day stay and its an easy walk to the Boat Shed for afternoon drinks and an easy pub style meal or to the lovely Blue Lagoon Cafe for delicious dinner whilst the sun sets.

Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank SuziC198
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, Owner at Tai Roto Bay Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded September 7, 2023

Kia Orana Suzi,

Outstanding review, soooo kind of you! You did well to make sure yourself and husband Trent made the most of the excursions and enjoyed the activities on the lagoon waters together. It was our pleasure to host you in our little slice of paradise!
We hope to see you again in the future!
Have a great day,
Kia Manuia,
Cheran and team
Tai Roto Bay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews