We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
$120
View deal
Free cancellation until 01/29/23
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.com
Booking.com
$120
View deal
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com$120
Priceline$120
Travelocity$120
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (90)
Filter reviews
90 results
Traveler rating
41
15
10
15
9
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
41
15
10
15
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews puerto viejo stay there again minerva cocles jungle critters bungalow
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 90 reviews
Reviewed February 25, 2020

Lovely bungalow facing the jungle, heated outdoor pool, your Costa Rica experience cannot miss this spot of Paradise. Last but not least the great welcoming of the owner Andrea and his son, always ready to help you during your staying. We were supposed to stay few days and ended up staying two weeks.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank StefaniaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed December 6, 2019 via mobile

Hotel Bugabutik is amazing. Owner Andrea is so kind and helpful. The resort is very beautiful and clean. Room was big and nice. The view out of the room was amazing. All you could see was wilderness. We even saw some animals out of our balcony. Hearing all these noises of the jungle is so peaceful. The area around the pool makes you feel like you're in the middle of the jungle. There is a bar with a tasty breakfast and through the day you can drink coffee, tea or cacao. There is also a pooltable. We really enjoyed staying there. Bugabutik won't let you down if you're looking for calm and peaceful place with a soul. 200m away is a beautiful sandy beach Cocles where you can surf, swim or just enjoy a stunning view. Puerto Viejo is 2 minutes drive away. We really love Bugabutik hotel.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank sta_a_2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 1, 2019 via mobile

Our experience in Bugabutik was excellent, the rooms are very comfortable, the breakfast was awesome, the pool so nice to finish our day after the sun and beach. The hotel was surrounded by nature and wild animals like small frogs and many birds. The 5 star ratings is because the hospitality of Andrea and the staff, they were really nice.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank josebZ7451EE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 10, 2019 via mobile

We highly enjoyed our stay as we really liked the new and wooden room (A/C included) as well as the nice pool area and freshly made breakfast. The staff was super nice and the hotel is in a calm location right next to the Jungle and 400m away from a quiet beach. We definetely recommend this hotel!

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank Carlotta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed July 27, 2018 via mobile

I stayed in about 6 hotels during my trip to Costa Rica. The others were all beautiful with excellent customer service and this was the odd one out by far.
The room was dark with no natural light and felt hot and damp. The portable air conditioning unit made no difference to the temperature. The room was very run down with cracks in the floor boards (which we found a group of frogs living in!) and the walls need painting.
Getting into bed we found that the sheets were dirty (hairs in bed and stains on the sheets).
We had no hot water in our shower and the towels were very thin and old.
Breakfast was basic - no juice, Luke warm coffee, water, cereal, toast and fruit.
I would describe this place as a very basic hostel and there are so many other better hotels in Costa Rica to stay in.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank travelseekerLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews