We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$198
Hotels.com$198
Priceline$160
Travelocity$198
eDreams$160
ZenHotels.com$200
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (568)
Filter reviews
568 results
Traveler rating
308
177
47
22
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
308
177
47
22
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys costa rica ceiling fan pacific coast each morning hotel restaurant rent bikes laid back bungalow wildlife jungle nature trees webs caribbean manzanillo viejo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 568 reviews
Reviewed November 8, 2022

This is one of the hotel we highly recommend when visiting Costa Rica's Caribbean south side. The rooms are spacious and very cozy at the same time. Do not expect air conditioning, but there are ceiling fans. The breakfast is nice. You can find a lot of wildlife within the hotel! And the beach is very near (just crossing the road). Perfect for couples and adults, but also families.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank COSTA RICA G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed October 8, 2022

This was a little weekend honeymoon trip for me and my boyfriend. Totally gay-friendly and wonderful hotel! We got a very warm welcome from the staff and even the hotel's big dog! (very friendly, by the way). They have free parking. We stayed in a Tipi room, which is in a secluded area of the property, more for adults. The breakfast was simple, yet quite nice. We also had dinner one night and the steak was fabulous. The hotel is not beachfront, but very very close (walking distance). It did rain, but we knew beforehand that would happen. The rooms do not have AC, only big fans. It is the Caribbean jungle! I wished we could have stayed longer. We will return!

Room tip: Tipi rooms are the best for couples
Date of stay: July 2022
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Roberto G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed August 18, 2022 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in July. Had two tipis since we are a family of four.
Loved the tipis. Comfortable beds, everything nice and clean. A memorable experience listening to the sounds of the rain forest at Night and being waken in the mornings by the howler monkeys. Lovely afternoon by the veranda and pool swing lots of birds including toucans and macaws.
Very pleasant and very very helpful staff.
Breakfast was okay though not impressive.
Location in the middle of a huge tropical garden and very close to the beach.
Would gladly go again!

Date of stay: July 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MetteMoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed May 6, 2022 via mobile

Excellent place , We saw a lot of amazing animals , the nature is incredible and we stayed in a tipi, nice room , quiet place , perfect to recharge .
The only thing was the humidity , the sheets felt humid , for the rest everything was very good . The staff is kind and helpful .
I regret no stay one more night there , it was our preferred place “puerto viejo de Talamanca” in Costa Rica.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Algahu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed April 8, 2022 via mobile

Shawandha Review

I will start by saying that I travel a lot, both for work and leisure, but I very rarely take the time to write reviews. That said, I feel the need to review the Shawandha Lodge both to give them accolades for our wonderful stay there and to provide another viewpoint for those who may be considering a stay but are questioning it after reading a couple of recent reviews that were absolutely scathing—which frankly, my family and I just can’t comprehend.

We arrived at Shawandha very late at night after a long day of flying and a very long shuttle from San Jose. Upon our arrival, we were given a warm welcome and a cold drink from the bar. Genesis made us feel totally welcome, walked us to our cabin and showed us around. It was absolutely beautiful…. But it’s important to remember that it is in the RAINFOREST. There is no AC or TV, which was clearly stated everywhere we did research for the trip. There are huge (and beautiful) golden orb spiders in their webs in rafters along pathways. The howler monkeys WILL wake you up at 4am. The sounds of the jungle are everywhere, and the animal sitings are frequent.

The beach is a short walk away, and it is incredibly beautiful, as the jungle ends directly at the sea. It is not a white sand beach with fancy drink service and umbrellas, it is rugged, full of coral rock and tidal pools, and the water has some strong rip currents—but again, it is awesome.

The bar and restaurant service was great, and Lenin and Fabian were wonderful and kind hosts who always went out of their way to help with a drink, an afternoon snack or a candlelight dinner. The breakfast every morning was very good, and the fresh fruit was amazing.

Overall, the Shawandha provided an amazing experience for our family. The ladies at the front desk helped us to schedule some great excursions and to rent bikes to explore the area. The hotel was a great starting point to access Cahuita, Puerto Viejo and Manzanillo. The pool and beach access were perfect for our family. Ultimately, we got the full South Caribbean Costa Rica experience, with its laid-back, diverse, eco-friendly vibe set to a calypso soundtrack—and we owe so much of that to the Shawandha eco-lodge. If you want 5 star luxury, air conditioning and a white glove treatment, go to a big name hotel on the Pacific coast or in Turks and Caicos. If you want a family friendly, nature-loving rainforest experience on the Caribbean coast, we highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank TimS74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews