We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (314)
Filter reviews
314 results
Traveler rating
282
24
1
6
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
282
24
1
6
1
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 314 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2019 via mobile

The bungalow was very comfortable and well decorated. The garden is beautiful and full of animals, you really feel like you're in the middle of the jungle with all the animal noises that wake you up in the morning :) Aaron was a great host, very kind and helpful (when we forgot something he rushed to the post office to send it to our next hotel!), no wonder his adorable dog Hunter adores him! Brigitte's ranch nearby offers all services and the 2 restaurants and beach nearby are nice, except the sandflies in the end of the afternoon so better go early to enjoy the almost desert and beautiful black sand beach.

The wifi signal could be better but this is quite usual in Costa Rica. The city is a 20min walk along the beach, 25min to the national park, well you are on vacation, pura vida!

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ClemenceJulien91
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coralhillbungalows, Owner at Coral Hill Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2019

Hello Clemence!
Thank you for the kind words! It was great meeting you and Julien! We are happy to hear you received your package and that you arrived home safely.
Warm regards,
Aaron, Julie and of course, Hunter

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 July 2019

Before we even arrived here the owner of this property, Julie, saved us from ourselves and urged us not to travel from San Jose in the late afternoon/early evening. What good advice that was. Having driven over the mountains in daylight I have no doubt we would have struggled at night and in the rain. Next time we go, and we will, we'll fly out to Limon.

Stayed here the first 10 days of May. Beautiful bungalow, stunning gardens and wildlife all around us. Including at least 1 sloth in the trees every day. Wonderful to wake up to the sounds of monkeys and birds and to fall asleep listening to the frogs. If the wind is in the right direction you can even hear the sea.

Breakfast was always excellent and presented beautifully, really set us up for the day and always very different. A real treat. The coffee was great too.

As wonderful as this place is, the best part for us was the introduction they gave us to a local naturalist Fernando - who showed us the national park and his own jungle garden at night which were real highlights for us.

Great location, very quiet but the town centre is a short walk away. There are a couple of local bars and restaurants even closer, right on the beach.

Thanks for an amazing time to Julie, Brandon and especially Hunter!!

Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kernowcats
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coralhillbungalows, Owner at Coral Hill Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2019

Hello Kernowcats! ;- )

Thank you for such a glowing review! We are humbled and happy that you enjoyed your stay! Travelling around Costa Rica can be a little tricky sometimes, especially at night, and if it's your first visit here. Plus, when you travel during the daytime you don't miss the beautiful vistas! And yes, taking a domestic flight from San Jose to Limon is the quickest and easiest way to get here!
We would love to see you again sometime! Hunter sends his love!
Julie : -)


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 March 2019 via mobile

I’m not sure what we expected but this place exceeded everything we could have hoped for. Gorgeous private bungalows with nice amenities, beautiful gardens, howler monkeys, toucans, sloths right in your trees, fabulous food and company. Julie (the owner) is so nice and wants your stay to be special. She has good contacts in the area for things to do, where to eat, people to talk to, etc etc. Being in Cahuita it was wonderfully quiet and relaxed. Walking distance to restaurants and other businesses and we felt very at home and safe in the area. We really feel blessed to have found her and Coral Hill Bungalows and will be back. Thank you Julie and Alicia and Benjamin

Date of stay: March 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank pokesandcougs
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coralhillbungalows, Owner at Coral Hill Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Hello pokesandcougs! :-)

Thanks for the great review! It was such a pleasure having you stay with us! Hopefully you are thawing out back at home.
P.S. Montana is coming out with even more great beers! We'll have to go try them when you come back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 March 2019

After spending 2 nights in hectic San José, it felt like having arrived in heaven! Upon Arrival just ring the doorbell and you Will be welcomed by the lovely host Julie and her dog! There are 3 beautiful bungalows hidden in an amazing garden full of wildlife! We saw our first 2 species of poisened frogs, toucan, colourfull birds, slot and many more just outside our doorstep. The bungalows are very romantic and Well maintained. The breakfast was a treat for eyes and tongue!
Location is close to playa negro and a couple of bars/restaurants to spend the eventing. National park of cahuita is free (walk of 45 min). We only booked here for 2 nights but i wished we could have stayed longer.
A wonderfull start to our 3 weeks tour in Costa Rica and a big "Thanks" to Julie from Conny, Rene and Kim for all her help!

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Conny-Rene-kim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
coralhillbungalows, Owner at Coral Hill Bungalows, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2019

Hello Conny and family!

Thank you for such a kind review! We are glad you enjoyed your short stay. Hopefully the rest of your holiday in this beautiful country was just as memorable. Would love to have you back when you can stay longer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2019

This place is wonderful. My wife and I only stayed one night (sadly) but it was truly excellent. Julie, the host, is very warm, friendly and helpful and her dog, Hunter, is absolutely gorgeous. Breakfast was delicious and the bungalow itself was really cosy and clean and well-appointed. No distance to the beach and restaurants. I can't recommend this beautiful place highly enough. We would come back in a heartbeat. (If you're in the area visit the Sloth Sanctuary.)

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews