We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
₱4,319
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Romanocostarica
Madrid, Spain
8126
NOT ASK THE LITTLE BUNGALLOW
Review of Chalet Hibiscus
Reviewed Aug 31, 2015
my wife and two small children, stayed and got the small bungallow , asked for an extra bed for my children , the beds are fine and the pillows , but the windows are broken and very old , rusted bolts and almost useless , one of the fans is full of rust and makes a lot of noise all night. the pool is nice but so small that six people are already full. The price you pay is very high for what you get . the staff is very helpful, especially the old man is friendly and helpful and always looks as help with a big smile . Too bad not repair the bungallow and not return to build new bungallows . the site is ten minutes walk from Playa Negra.
Date of stay: August 2015
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
₱9,285
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Expedia.com
    ₱9,285
0.8 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Eingangsschild
Tripadvisor
₱2,257
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • Priceline
1.1 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free parking
Beachfront
Espace petit-déjeuner
Contact accommodation for availability.
3.6 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    ₱8,012
  • eDreams
  • Lol.travel
1.2 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free Wifi
Free parking
piscina
3.6 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Piscine
Contact accommodation for availability.
4.3 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Contact accommodation for availability.
24.8 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free parking
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
0.3 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
1.2 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
  • Agoda.com
1.3 km from Chalet Hibiscus
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Cahuita
Reviews (20)
Filter reviews
20 results
Traveler rating
8
6
2
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
8
6
2
2
2
See what travelers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 20 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2015

I feel I got too much for my money. The owner and the manager are extremely kind. The bungalow for 10 people is huge and so nice, it even includes a mini playground. The place is very comfortable and they offer all you need: kitchen, freezer, coffeemaker, little oven, etc etc etc. I mean the bungalow is like a big house with an outside area perfect where you can feel the breeze. We all loved it. Highly recommended- Excellent price also!

Date of stay: May 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RoxanaA194
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed here only for 1 night. The bungalows are very old and dark. They probably have seen their best days in the 80s. The place is also far away from the town and the beach. Definitely overpriced for what you get!

Date of stay: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sonia r
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed November 6, 2010

A nice hotel with individual chalet and a friendly owner. The rooms were spacious with a good shower, however they were a little bit warm. Probably better if you are willing to keep the shutters open, but after hearing of a mugging in downtown Cahuita we were a little unwilling although the hotel itself felt safe with a permanent guard. The owner was accommodating and friendly. The pool is comfortable and with the heat an absolute godsend, even though not perfect for length swimming! Nice sunrise from the bottom of the garden made it a special location.

Date of stay: October 2010
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank holidayrichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

I went to Hibiscus on a party of 4, they gave us a very rustic but nice room, with clean bathroom, the pool is very small, just the 4 of us felt like a bunch of people. It has a good view of the ocean, is beach front and they have a seating aerea in front of the sea, but there is a reef, so you cannot enjoy the beach there, you have to go out, and walk a few meters to go to Playa Negra. If you are going to the National Park is better for you to rent a bike, 'cause the hotel is very far from it, and the beach of Cahuita National Park is the best.

Overall I enjoy my stayed there but it is very far from the center and ther are no restaurants near by.

Date of stay: July 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank broccoli_lover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed January 25, 2008

I would not recommend Chalet Hibiscus.

Let's begin with the positive:
- the garden is beautiful and there is a (small) swimming pool;
-unlike the (Swiss) owner, the (Costa Rican) manager is really nice;
-there is no beach access because of the rocks (corail) but the sea is close by (sound of the waves by night).

We had originally booked Chalet2. When we saw the place, we refused to stay there. It is away from the other rooms but on very small ground, no lawn, just concrete and earth. There was garbage on the ground with a dog eating it. The terrace on the second floor is OK but you can't really stay on the 1st floor outside (we were with our 2year old son and he needs a place to run).

We then moved to one of the Cabinas. As with Chalet2, the rooms are very old and were not clean at all. They were dead insects everywere. It was imppossible to get a mosquito net with less then 10 holes in it. The mosquitonet covering all the openings in the wall were as well very old and full of holes. Out of the 5 lamps, only one worked. We went to get some bulbs but the problems were more serious (the whole electrical installation is too old). But the worst one: the 3 of us came back to New York with flea bites (and Chalet Hibiscus was our last stop so no doubt it is were we got it).

The other travelers we have met there were sharing our appreciation of the place (some have left after 1 night).

Date of stay: January 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank BelgiansNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews