We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Very nice place to walk and enjoy mountains!

Place close from San José, where you can walk, pick nick, enjoy the clean air, mountains and... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
FaridA551
,
La California, Costa Rica
via mobile
Picnic

My wife and I go to Monte de la Cruz quite often as it is fresh up there and has a beautiful view... read more

Reviewed 23 May 2017
Kenneth7228
,
Heredia, Costa Rica
Read all 104 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Heredia
from US$244.00
More Info
Reviews (104)
Filter reviews
104 results
Traveler rating
48
41
13
1
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
48
41
13
1
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 104 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2016

Monte de la Cruz is well up the hill (monte) from San Rafael de Heredia. It is a popular spot for groups and families to go to be outdoors and have a picnic. There are many good restaurants on the road climbing up from San Rafa. It offers nice views of Heredia and beyond with a cool crisp climate.

I like going up there for lunch and an outdoor chat.

Date of experience: January 2016
Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2016 via mobile

One of my fave areas in CR.. It is perfect for walking and relaxing with friends. Great place to take beautiful pictures.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank Mauna28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2015

Great for one day trips, near the city but far enough to make you disconnect from everything too. You can take a walk through the woods, relax laying down in the grass, play soccer, have a BBQ, or just relax. It's great for going solo, with your friends or family. Picnics are a great option too.

Date of experience: April 2015
Thank LiizMastrapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 January 2015

When visiting, just hope there are no clouds so you can get the best view of Heredia. Take a sweater because is it cold. It's great for picnics and family fun!

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank Rajiv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 October 2014 via mobile

Friends and I decided to have a little adventure, so we went up to Heredia's mountains to enjoy a picnic. When we arrived they told us we needed to pay to go in, which is fine, and then they told us that if we wanted to sit down and eat in a "Rancho", we needed to pay more. Well that was a little expensive, specially for broke college students, but it was a great experience. The place looks a little abandoned, they use to have a beautiful pond/tiny lake, and now there's almost nothing. It is quiet, peaceful, and fricking cold, its beautiful.
And if you like extra company, there is a couple of dogs that if you pet a little, will follow you everywhere and teach you some new road and places.
It was a great adventure in the end, we loved it.

2  Thank KatGamboa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews