We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wyndham Tamarindo
Nearby Hotels
US$179
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Tamarindo Diria(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$162
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ten North Tamarindo Beach Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luamey(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$257
US$160
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Luna Llena(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$75
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$250
US$243
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Tamarindo Bay Boutique Hotel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Botella de Leche Hostel(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$45
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Villa Amarilla(Tamarindo)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (690)
Filter reviews
690 results
Traveler rating
291
248
90
47
14
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
291
248
90
47
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslangosta beach clubinfinity poolshuttle servicefree shuttleesplendor hotelin townshuttle that runshill overlooking the pacificminute shuttleswim up barbeautiful hotelglass doorcosta ricahotel shuttleocean viewyogurtbook excursions
Filter
Updating list...
227 - 232 of 690 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2017

My MAJOR gripe with the hotel and the reason why I didn't give it 5 stars is due to the danger that the glass balustrades used around the hotel pose to the beautiful wild birds in the area. We went to use the lifts to go down to breakfast one morning from the 7th floor only to find a beautiful Turquoise-browed Motmot lying dead next to the glass balustrade because it had flown into it. It was quite upsetting to see. We stayed at another hotel in CR, the Monteverde Inn, which had placed stick on black silhouettes of swallows onto their large plate glass windows to stop birds flying into the glass so it's something that can be easily dealt with. I spoke to a hotel employee at the Esplendor who looked like the manager but turned out to be one of the hotel operations team and he told me that they were aware of the problem and were working on it. So please if you care about birds and stay at this hotel and find that nothing has changed can you take it up with the hotel, because this really shouldn't take long to sort - many thanks.

Apart from the above we were very pleased with our stay at this hotel for 2 weeks up to the 13th March. View from room superb, breakfast good, rooms comfortable and quite well sound proofed, love the lobby with the view of the sea and which is open to the elements with a nice cooling breeze flowing through, pool area very good, beach club great.

Hotel meals and especially room service very poor value for money but lots of choice in Tamarindo. Hotel staff are very low key but that worked fine for us, although there is one guy who works on the pool bar who looks like he really hates his job. I don't think you will regret staying here.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sepp246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear guest,
Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Tamarindo for your stay. We are glad to know that you had a good experience at the hotel: all the staff work hard so our guests can enjoy the trip and the stay.
We good be glad to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards, Esplendor Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 March 2017

My daughter and I loved our time there during 10days in February. Lovely room, fabulous views of the ocean and sunset. Everywhere was always clean and tidy. The staff could not have been better, always friendly, helpful and polite, every single one of them, a credit to the Hotel. We spent most of the day relaxing by the pool or in it sampling our cocktails - which were to die for! Our towels were fine all the time (don't know about any threadbare ones)? Yes the shuttle finishes early, but its only $5 to come home by taxi even if there are 4 of you. My daughter used to walk down to town in morning and walk back again enjoying the surroundings. No good if you are older or have a disability though. Full sun comes over hotel about 11/12 o'clock in the morning for which I was grateful! having burnt myself on first 2 days an had to either stay under umbrella or in the water even though I had high factor on and don't usually burn, it was 35/36dgs every day. During our time in town going to various restaurants where they all served excellent food especially the Beach Club and looking at some of the other hotels, I am glad we chose to stay here away from the town and looking down to the ocean. Also the other holidaymakers were friendly, a bonus! We came for a 'chill out' holiday and that's what we got. Also plenty of trips to go on. Would recommend it and would come again.

Room Tip: Every room is good
  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Lynne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Lynne,

Thank you for staying at Esplendor Tamarindo. It's good to know that you could enjoy your stay at the hotel and enjoy the atmosphere of its sorroundings as well.
We are looking forward to see you soon again!

Kind regards,
Esplendor Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2017

Really nice hotel, would come back here again! Service is great, the place is very clean and location is one of the best, overlooking Tamarindo with a spectacular view. All of the rooms face the Pacific Ocean and have an amazing view.

Stayed: August 2016
1  Thank Velimir L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Velimir,

Thank you very much for choosing Esplendor Tamarindo for your stay. We are glad to know that you had a good experience at the hotel: all the staff work hard so our guests can enjoy the trip and the stay.
We good be glad to host you again in the near future.

Best Regards, Esplendor Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2017 via mobile

The room was nice and the appearance and view were beautiful. The shuttle service is a nice option but should run later then 8pm. The breakfast buffet was decent, but the dinner menu was really bad. Go elsewhere to eat dinner

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank AOBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Brian,

Thank you for choosing Esplendor Tamarindo for your stay. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay during your trip. We also take note of your comment about the food to improve our service.
We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regard, Esplendor Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2017

We stayed here the first 2 weeksof February. Reception staff were lovely and very helpful. Breakfast very hit and miss some mornings everything was fine others you had to ask for everything. Plus tables not cleared etc. We had an evening meal there once which was lovely as good as anything in town and the evening staff were very good. The room was good a very comfortable bed and plenty of hot water. Was cleaned to a high standard every day. The shuttle bus always on time,although we didn't mind the walk down to town and a taxi back up was only 5 dollars.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie57_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fën H, Gerente at Wyndham Tamarindo, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2017

Dear Julie,
Thank you for staying at Esplendor Tamarindo. We appreciate your review, and we hope your experience was good enough!
We are looking forward to see you again.

Kind regards,
Esplendor Tamarindo Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews