We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,786)
Filter reviews
2,786 results
Traveler rating
964
1,072
413
190
147
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
964
1,072
413
190
147
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach sideswim up bartour deskfamily pooladult poolcosta ricagrassy areaocean viewbreakfast buffetlagoon poolin townwaffle stationthe main hotelbeach vendorsbeachfront roomground floorbeach resort
Filter
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 2,786 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2017 via mobile

The Diria is an excellent property, we have stayed here numerous times over the years. The grounds are impeccable and the location is perfect. Depending on the season Tamarindo can be very busy, it's not the sleepy little surfer town it use to be.

The folks selling necklaces, whistles, etc. on the beach are terribly annoying. They look for people leaving the Diria or wearing the wristbands because it's a signal you have money. I hate to deprive anyone of a livelihood... but when I'm walking down the beach in board shorts do I look like I want to be carrying Nicaraguan Pottery?

Sorry for the rant, not the hotel's fault, they do all they can... in fact the locals often feel like the security is "intimidating" them.

Tamarindo is worth the vist, stay at the Diria, you'll be glad you did.

Stayed: August 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Jet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Jet A,

Thank you very much for your five star review. We love to see familiar faces so we much appreciate your loyalty with our property.

We are already looking forward to welcoming you back again for another pleasant stay at Tamarindo Diria!

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2017

Just spent several days at the Diria, Tamarindo, Costa Rico. We had a first floor, ocean view room for our first three days, headed out to Monte Verde for a few days, then back to the Diria, second floor ocean view room. Other than the A/C going out for an evening (where it was fixed by the morning), this was a comfortable, convenient, clean, and in the right spot! If you are an ocean lover (surf, swim, boogie board, sail, fish, explorer), this is a very good family-focused resort.

Room Tip: Spectacular ocean views, great for the sunsets. Warm & gentle waves out front.
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear Geoff L,

Thank you for having selected Tamarindo Diria for your recent stay and for having shared your review with us.

We are glad that you found our property comfortable, convenient and clean. It is always very rewarding to share positive feedback with our team.

Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2017

We stayed at this hotel during the last 3 days of our 10 day vacation. We had 2 rooms facing the beach on the third floor. I will warn you that there aren't any elevators. So, for someone who doesn't do well with steps, this could be an issue. The rooms were fairly normal in size but they were nicely decorated and maintained. The balcony overlooking the beach was wonderful. We enjoyed morning coffee and evening cocktails while watching the sunset out there. Breakfast in the morning was very good. It included fresh fruit, waffle and omelette stations, various hot dishes and pastries. Yumm. We also ate several lunches at their beach front restaurant. Good nachos, wings and basic food. We didn't try them for dinner. The staff was pleasant and friendly for the most part. (We had 1 bartender that acted like we were a bother, but that was the exception.) The water in the ocean was warm and comfortable, pretty big waves so my son took surfing lessons. The grounds were well maintained. It was easy to find a lawn chair on the grass, pull it under some shade and enjoy the ocean breezes and views. (One word of warning, the lounge chairs on the beach are NOT part of the resort and are rented for 15$/day. Once I knew that I just used the ones on the grass, no need to spend the extra money.)
The location is excellent with easy access to the restaurants and shops of the little town. I would return to this resort and recommend it. This hotel is not the Four Seasons, but I loved it and would definitely return.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Stoutredtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I've stayed at this hotel twice and absolutely love it. The location is perfect.

Check-in was fast and friendly. There are rooms on 2 properties at this hotel; on the beachside and more on the other side of the main road. It's a fast, easy walk from the beachside to the other side of the main road. My room was on the other side of the main road, facing one of the two pools that are on that property. The grounds are very well kept and full of tropical bushes, flowers and trees.

The rooms are fairly basic, but very cozy and comfortable. The mini-fridge is great. Nice toiletries. Comfortable beds.

There is an adults only pool which is nice - no screaming kids!

There is also a huge pool on the non-beachside property. It's a very relaxing pool with a swim-up bar.

On the beachside property, there is another pool and plenty of lounge chairs on the grassed area under the palm trees. It's an excellent place to lounge in the day and watch the gorgeous sunsets in the evenings. The hotels WIFI works property-wide - a huge bonus.

Breakfast was included in our rate and is a nice spread of fresh fruits, vegetables, pastries, juices, fresh made waffles, a variety of hot dishes and an omelet station. A real good breakfast!

The staff are friendly and helpful.

The location is ideal - everything in town is an easy walk from the hotel.

A GREAT CHOICE for a stay in Tamarindo!

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank flyboy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MariaTDBR, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Tamarindo Diria, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2017

Dear flyboy55,

We are thrilled to read your wonderful review! You seem to love our hotel as much as we do and it makes us very happy to read such a positive feedback.

Thank you for recomending our hotel to future travelers and we look forward to welcoming you back again as our guests in the not too distant future.

Warm regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 April 2017

My friend and I stayed here for three nights at the end of our trip, for some relaxation time. It is a very nice resort with direct access to the beach. The pools are great, with swim up bars. Our last full day, we had the adults only pool practically to ourselves. The beach is good, although you have to pay for a lounger to be right on the sand and there are a lot of people going up and down the beach selling things. It was fun to play in the waves, although you do need to watch out for the surfers and boogie boarders. The staff were friendly but maybe not as friendly as the less touristy areas of Costa Rica. We ate at three different restaurants on the resort and the food was very good. The breakfast buffet is also very good with a ton of variety.

Room Tip: Our room was near the family pool so it was nice and quiet at night.
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank debw1306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews