We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lowest price we found
US$112
US$79
View Deal
ZenHotels.comUS$109
FindHotelUS$112
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
View all 11 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (532)
Filter reviews
532 results
Traveler rating
404
97
18
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
404
97
18
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews small hotel liberia airport pool beach waterfall trees
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 532 reviews
Reviewed 8 February 2020 via mobile

We stayed here for one night at the beginning of our Costa Rica trip. It was a lovely and relaxing way to start off after long travel days. We rented a car from Liberia airport and enjoyed the short drive to arrive at this hotel. It is easy to find if using Waze; the hotel has it’s own parking lot. This is a small hotel which fits the quiet neighborhood perfectly complete with a refreshing pool with a waterfall and a shallow area for kids. It is a very short walk to Playa Hermosa which is absolutely beautiful! Great for swimming with clear water and soft sand - great for building castles or going for Long Beach walks/runs. There are also a bunch of restaurants along the beach - we ate at one for dinner at sunset which was gorgeous. We also really enjoyed our balcony in the evening which overlooked the pool.

The hotel includes a limited breakfast buffet (eggs, toast with jam, meat, plantain, rice & beans, fresh fruit) and coffee/juice, available at the restaurant outside by the pool. The hotel is clean and quiet, however, the rooms are quite outdated. Also, we noticed that our patio doors to the balcony did not actually lock. There is a mini-fridge and a safe in the room which was appreciated. There are also nearby stores to buy groceries, drinks, etc.

One tip: bring beach towels as there are none provided for the pool area or beach.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank adventureseeker_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 January 2020

Very nice pool area. Safe parking. Easy walk to beach. Howler monkeys could be seen in trees near by the beach. Staff helpful and friendly. Discount for paying cash (would take US dollars). Great spot. Highly recommend.

Date of stay: January 2020
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 May 2019 via mobile

We love staying here... great location, walking distance from beach, security guard all night, breakfast was delicious, rooms are clean, a/c, but most importantly the customer service at this place is what brought us back twice to this comfy hotel. Alberto and staff are always willing to help to make our stay more pleasant.

Thanks ManGaby crew! We will stay here next time we are in Playa Hermosa!

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank DayZ0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 May 2019

Excellent location - walking distance to many restaurants, 3 minute walk from the beach, off-street secure parking, super market and the Catholic Church. We were a party of six: 2 senior citizens, 2 adults and 2 children (12 and 10 years). Daily free Costa Rican breakfast with delicious coffee and local fresh fruit plus a welcome smile by Danny, was a nice way to start our day. Lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant were also tasty and reasonably priced. The owners - charming mother and son, Alberto - were always obliging and eager to help with our several requests. This included recommendations for local transportation, activities, restaurants, etc. Our 7-night stay went by too quickly. We can highly recommend the Hotel Mangaby.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank George and Viol... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 February 2019

This is a beautifully maintained small hotel just two blocks from the beach. The pool area is amazing with lots of chairs and iguanas in the trees. The restaurant has a good selection of beer. Alberto, the owner, speaks English very well.

Pro-Tips: 1. The suites are on the main floor and do have a bit of hallway noise from the upper floor but because this is a small hotel, that isn't much noise. 2. There is a dingy, over-priced market across the street but if you go up to the main road and turn right it is about two blocks to a larger, modern market.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ITravelMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews