We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$87
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/05/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Expedia.com
$78
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/22
Trip.com
$76
View deal
Hotels.com$78
Priceline$87
Travelocity$78
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (526)
Filter reviews
526 results
Traveler rating
397
98
18
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
397
98
18
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews two blocks breakfast was delicious beautiful pool liberia airport every morning alberto beach tamarindo
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 526 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019

Excellent location - walking distance to many restaurants, 3 minute walk from the beach, off-street secure parking, super market and the Catholic Church. We were a party of six: 2 senior citizens, 2 adults and 2 children (12 and 10 years). Daily free Costa Rican breakfast with delicious coffee and local fresh fruit plus a welcome smile by Danny, was a nice way to start our day. Lunch and dinner at the hotel restaurant were also tasty and reasonably priced. The owners - charming mother and son, Alberto - were always obliging and eager to help with our several requests. This included recommendations for local transportation, activities, restaurants, etc. Our 7-night stay went by too quickly. We can highly recommend the Hotel Mangaby.

Date of stay: April 2019
Thank George and Viol... L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2019

This is a beautifully maintained small hotel just two blocks from the beach. The pool area is amazing with lots of chairs and iguanas in the trees. The restaurant has a good selection of beer. Alberto, the owner, speaks English very well.

Pro-Tips: 1. The suites are on the main floor and do have a bit of hallway noise from the upper floor but because this is a small hotel, that isn't much noise. 2. There is a dingy, over-priced market across the street but if you go up to the main road and turn right it is about two blocks to a larger, modern market.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ITravelMontana
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2019

We really enjoyed our five day stay, would stay there again. Alberto and the whole staff were great, great food in their restaurant, great pool and Alberto even repaired a bent wheel on my wheel chair just because he wanted to help, he went above and beyond what I would expect any hotel manager to do. I've never stayed anywhere where I felt as save as here ether. Kudos to Hotel ManGaby

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Leo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2019

Only spent one night and was very happy. Had an early flight into Costa Rica so arrived at Hotel well before checkin, reception happily stored my bags and they were able to get me into room within half an hour. Room was spacious and clean and the best part was the lights over each bed! Call me old fashioned but I like to read a REAL book before going to sleep and you don’t often find good lighting in CR. Only has breakfast at restaurant, it was very good and reasonably priced. Would stay again.

Room tip: Room 103 looks directly out to end of restaurant so your outside space a bit public.
Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoannR1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2019

Nice hotel that is run by a family. Service was good, breakfast was tasty and pool was refreshing. Close to beach, restaurants and a small supermarket.

Wifi was slow, shower was warm (not hot) and bathroom could use a facelift (a little worn and not so clean looking)

Not much to do in Playa Hermosa but to hang out at the beach
For the area this hotel is good value

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank abashley67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews