We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$95
eDreamsUS$95
Agoda.comUS$95
TripadvisorUS$95
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (506)
Filter reviews
506 results
Traveler rating
242
164
54
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
242
164
54
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taco bbq night costa rica beachfront hotel liberia airport howler monkeys beach towels minute drive mike playa ocean waves exchange
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 506 reviews
Reviewed 4 July 2021 via mobile

Mike and his staff at El Velero hotel made our stay so comfortable.
The rooms are extremely clean and there are beach towels to exchange for new ones daily.
The atmosphere is very festive, fruit drinks made fresh daily and a fish grill on Wednesday & Saturday nights with the fresh catch was delicious.
My son left his favorite teddy bear in the bed by accident and Mike even figured out a way to deliver him to the states.
All around a really easy stay and the room price can not be beat!

Date of stay: July 2021
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank JenniferKor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 May 2021 via mobile

Highly recommend… My husband and I stayed in this beachfront hotel for four nights and loved it. This is a hidden gem. Mike, the owner, was very friendly and helpful. I corresponded and booked with him directly. He was very responsive to my inquiries and granted my request for an oceanview room. Our room was cute and had a/c and refrigerator. When we arrived, we were welcome with honeymoon heart shaped towels. We were glad that the hotel has a restaurant and we ate there for breakfast and dinner. The restaurant had taco night and BBQ night. The staff was friendly and helpful. We loved watching beautiful sunsets everyday. During our stay, I finally had a relaxing massage thanks to Mike who has many contacts. He also recommended a Captain for our snorkeling trip.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
3  Thank CatherineBH
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 April 2021 via mobile

Had another amazing vacation at Hotel El Velero! Located right on one of the best beaches in Costa Rica. Sunsets, snorkeling, swimming, and boogie boarding are steps from the hotel room. The friendly and hardworking staff went above and beyond to ensure we had everything we needed or wanted. Mike the hotel owner is very entertaining and knowledgeable. He had all the best advice on what local activities were a must see and do. The food at the hotel is extremely fresh, delicious and authentic! Best tacos ever on Tuesday's! I could hear the monkeys while swimming in the pool. Tropical paradise! My husband and I love it there and cannot wait to go back.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Sharonrose21
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 April 2021

Beach front!!! The owner and staff are great people and the service is second to none! The food is excellent and the kitchen was very accommodating to my fiancée vegetarian diet. Everything was amazing and we can not wait to return! The only complaint that we had was that the week...went by too fast!!
This is an amazing hotel directly on Hermosa Beach, with great food, clean rooms and a hard working staff...If you want a Costa Rican experience...This is your place!

Date of stay: April 2021
1  Thank VG G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2021

We truly felt like we were in paradise at the El Velero! The location is on an amazing beach. The ocean was clear and warm. Our spacious, clean room was on the 2nd floor. We had everything we needed with a comfortable bed and a refrigerator and microwave. It was very quaint and quiet retreat. The only noises we heard at night were from the howler monkeys close by. The staff was awesome and treated as like family. It was convenient to have a restaurant on-site that served great food: breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as a full service bar. The pool looked inviting. We enjoyed the surroundings and walk on the beach daily. The Hotel El Velero is situated near other restaurants so we could take a short walk to visit other places. We stayed in February and the beach was not too busy.
With a short drive, there are other resturants and beaches to explore as well as Playa del Coco (less than 30 minute drive) which has an area of shops and restaurants.
We planned on staying 2 days and went to other beach towns to explore. After our travels, we decided to go back to the el Velero for an additional 4 nights beause we really enjoyed the hotel, staff and location! Also, under 30 minutes to the Liberia airport.
We highly recommend the Hotel El Velero as your starting (and ending) point in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scooter530
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews