We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
5 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Agoda.comUS$95
PricelineUS$95
eDreamsUS$95
TripadvisorUS$95
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (503)
Filter reviews
503 results
Traveler rating
239
164
54
23
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
239
164
54
23
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taco costa rica beach front liberia airport howler monkeys air conditioning every morning common areas great beach minute drive mike luis playa ocean exchange
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 503 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2021

We truly felt like we were in paradise at the El Velero! The location is on an amazing beach. The ocean was clear and warm. Our spacious, clean room was on the 2nd floor. We had everything we needed with a comfortable bed and a refrigerator and microwave. It was very quaint and quiet retreat. The only noises we heard at night were from the howler monkeys close by. The staff was awesome and treated as like family. It was convenient to have a restaurant on-site that served great food: breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as a full service bar. The pool looked inviting. We enjoyed the surroundings and walk on the beach daily. The Hotel El Velero is situated near other restaurants so we could take a short walk to visit other places. We stayed in February and the beach was not too busy.
With a short drive, there are other resturants and beaches to explore as well as Playa del Coco (less than 30 minute drive) which has an area of shops and restaurants.
We planned on staying 2 days and went to other beach towns to explore. After our travels, we decided to go back to the el Velero for an additional 4 nights beause we really enjoyed the hotel, staff and location! Also, under 30 minutes to the Liberia airport.
We highly recommend the Hotel El Velero as your starting (and ending) point in Playa Hermosa, Costa Rica.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Scooter530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 January 2021

Our stay at Hotel El Velero for 3 nights was amazing! We upgraded our room to #211 and we are so very glad that we did. We heard the marvelous and mighty ocean all night and awoke to the beautiful view of it's majesty every morning. The rooms are very well kept and clean with plenty of hot water, which seems to be an issue at other properties. The property is right on the beach so no walking blocks to spend a day at the ocean and the restaurant is only feet away so food and refreshments are always conveniently available. Speaking of food; EXCELLENT! We were fortunate to have be at El Velero for both specialty nights; Taco Tuesday and BBQ Wednesday and they were both INCREDIBLE! Great food, Great atmosphere, Great service and Great view! This property can't be beat for the price!

Room tip: Room 211 or the other next to it, 212?
Date of stay: January 2021
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjfag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 January 2021 via mobile

Highly suggest and recommend this hotel everything it’s on premises very clean very pleasant The rooms are nice and spacious . Great service and the owner Mike is a wonderful. I was there in November and December

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
1  Thank insurequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 April 2020

The staff here are all amazing and very helpful. It is an older hotel and in need of some updating, especially the bathrooms, however the proximity to the beach just cannot be beat. If you reserve an upstairs room make sure to be away from the back metal stairway, the stairs vibrate and will wake you up when used.

You can use the hotel's lounge chairs and even pull them out onto the beach and one of the staff will serve you drinks there as well!

Make sure to bring your hydro flask from home as the bar will fill it daily with filtered water and ice!

Date of stay: March 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 March 2020

We stayed here for five nights and would recommend it to others. It's right on the beach, and for us there's nothing better than being able to go back and forth between beach chairs and the room for hours. The room was what we needed considering we were only in there at night. Great AC, cleaning service, and hot water. The hotel has beach chairs available for guests and lots of shady trees out front. The staff were super nice and helpful. This particular beach is pretty quiet - not too many hotels or restaurants right on the water (which we liked). The hotel has a restaurant and there are several more nearby.

Date of stay: February 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank mmoose4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews