We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
eDreamsUS$109
TripadvisorUS$109
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (499)
Filter reviews
499 results
Traveler rating
236
164
54
22
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
236
164
54
22
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews taco costa rica air conditioning beach chairs common areas great beach luis ocean trees exchange birds
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 499 reviews
Reviewed 8 March 2019

We have been staying and eating at the El Velero since 1998. We find the hotel really nice, clean rooms RIGHT ON THE BEACH. You can't beat it. The restaurant is our favorite the food is excellent especially on bbq nights (Wednesday and Saturdays). Breakfasts are the best in town. The staff are all very professional and friendly. They speak great English. Of note most of the staff have been there since we first stayed there including the cook.

Date of stay: March 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lori P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2019 via mobile

Recently spent our tenth year in a row at the El Velero and every year gets better. The staff will treat you like family (so treat them the same won’t you) and the location could not be more perfect- you can’t appreciate until you get there how close it is to the beach. Many other beaches in the area are busy or don’t have any shade. Playa Hermosa is the place to be! You will not have a bad meal at the restaurant and it’s close to essentially any day trip you would want to take.

Thanks Mike and the El Velero staff for welcoming us back to paradise year after year.

Date of stay: February 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
2  Thank Katelynamanda88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 February 2019

Friendly staff, nice location on the beach, decent restaurant, easy driving distance from Liberia... this place ticks a lot of boxes.

We enjoyed the 2nd floor room -- clean, comfortable bed, good storage, AC worked well, large safe. We especially liked the common balcony over the restaurant with beach view, and ocean sounds (and occasional howler monkeys).

It's an easy walk to several nice restaurants with better menu choices for vegetarians (Ginger for an upscale option, Aquasport bar on the beach for entertainment).

For four breakfasts for two, a lunch for two, and a few drinks, our restaurant bill was well under $120... well worth it.

The beach is large and the water nice for swimming, The sand is a mix of light and very dark grains, and can get very hot! El Velero provides towels and beach lounge chairs. Good deal.

Date of stay: February 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank doug_03053
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2019

A most enjoyable overnight stay at this remarkable hotel on the beach, they gave us an early check in with no problems at, the room was suburb (206 - super king size bed), towels and beach chairs for a relaxing afternoon at the pool and on the beach - bonus was that we arrived on BBQ night, dinner was outstanding as was the service, a truly wonderful and enjoyable experience. The breakfast the next morning was marvelous, a wonderful Valentine’s Day,

Date of stay: February 2019
Thank SGMTully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 10 February 2019

I mainly pick this hotel because of the beachfront location and that surtainly didn´t disappoint. The hotel in generel was very nice except for the wall of mosquitos I walked in to on entering the bathroom right after check in. The net in front of the window was useless but it helped when I closed the window. The pool is not big enough for swimming and overlooked by carpark reception and restaurant. The hotel is nice but have no seaviews from the rooms. my ground floor room had a view of a wall and it is lacking the homely and local feel you get when you stay in the small B&Bs and a bit pricey i thought especially since breakfast is not included. There are no town or much of anything in Playa Hermosa.

Date of stay: January 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SanneJ8450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews