We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Restaurant”
Review of The Lookout

The Lookout
Reserve a table
2
Mon, 12/04
20:00
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$50
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: THE LOOKOUT IS BACK...CLEAN&SAFE TO VISIT...CERTIFICATED..The Lookout is a seafood restaurant and oyster bar located in Playas Del Coco, Guanacaste. We are the first and only restaurant in town to stock live oysters, to be eaten raw on the half shell or prepared in a number of other ways. We are also the first and only place in town to serve Costa Rican craft beers on tap. The view from our establishment is truly priceless and the menu showcases the freshest seafood that the Pacific has to offer. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 21 February 2021

I have been a regular at this restaurant for 6 years dating back to the original owner. The food is terrific, the view is spectacular and the service is first rate. This place is a must visit during your stay in Coco.

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kmac7890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa P, General Manager at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2021

Thank you so much Kevin!! Hope to see you soon uphere!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (579)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 579 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2021 via mobile

Great drinks, good food, nice view. Worth the drive if you have a 4x4/SUV. Definitely go once for sunset.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank robriggs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa P, General Manager at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2021

Thank you so much Rob!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 February 2021

We stayed at Secrets and it was a $50 roundtrip cab ride to get there but was well worth it. Staff was very friendly, food and drink was good and reasonably priced. The view from our table was spectacular. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank dbender2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa P, General Manager at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2021

Thank you so much and so happy to read that you enjoyed the experience!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 January 2021

We were super excited to check this place out but were let down at a couple of things. The food was average with nothing really special on the menu. Drinks took about 30min to receive upon ordering. The view is great but can't really see the last part of the sunset from where it overlooks which is the best part!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 647JustinH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa P, General Manager at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2021

Hi Justin and thank you to take the time and write us a review!! We are sorry to read that you didn't enjoy the experience and you didn't find our plates special as most of our guests do...Cocktails take a little more time than to serve a soda or a beer, this is because everything we do is with a lot of care and passion...In relation to the sunset, well Sun goes down behind the hills that surround our restaurant and we can't do anything about it, but the color of the sky are all over and we enjoy this wonderful natural show everyday...so sorry that you didn't...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 January 2021 via mobile

Spent new years eve (before the lockdown) in a party of three. enjoyed the awesome view, friendly service, jummy dishes and Cocktails. Had Nachos con Tuna, Octopus Burger and Octopus Bowl.
Starters were deliciously baked oysters.
Life is great at the Lookout!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank sommersonnesoda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elisa P, General Manager at The Lookout, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2021

Thank you guys to choose our restaurant to celebrate!! We are happy that you enjoyed!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lookout also viewed

Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to The Lookout? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.