We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Gem...”

Sugoi Mexican & Asian cuisine
Price range: US$10 - US$32
Description: The word Sugoi means amazing which is what you get when you combine these two vibrant cultures and their culinary history. The sharing of spices and fruits from the orient and peppers from the New World to Asia dates back to the 15th century. The culinary delights from these two cultures are brought together in a relaxed and stylish setting. Hibachi tables, tacos and noodles create a wide variety of styles and flavors. Guacamole is made fresh at your table and the house-made sauces are flavorful and unique. These authentic and fresh made Mexican and Asian dishes are sure to please any palate.
Restaurant details
Description: The word Sugoi means amazing which is what you get when you combine these two vibrant cultures and their culinary history. The sharing of spices and fruits from the orient and peppers from the New World to Asia dates back to the 15th century. The culinary delights from these two cultures are brought together in a relaxed and stylish setting. Hibachi tables, tacos and noodles create a wide variety of styles and flavors. Guacamole is made fresh at your table and the house-made sauces are flavorful and unique. These authentic and fresh made Mexican and Asian dishes are sure to please any palate.
Reviewed 2 March 2021

Don’t miss this one! When we pulled up to the restaurant, we were concerned we were the only ones there... not usually a good sign... but as things are still opening back up under COVID, we thought we’d take a chance - are we glad we did! The food was a surprising new take on Mexican cuisine with just a touch of Asian fusion with a fantastic flavor palette. The prices were very reasonable and the atmosphere and service were fantastic and the ambience was delightfully peaceful and romantic. We truly loved this place and are so happy we stayed! It was worth the 45 minute drive from Las Catalinas!!

Date of visit: February 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank courtneywN2011SV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugoi Mexican & Asian Cuisine, Marketing at Sugoi Mexican & Asian cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Thanks for your review courtneyw! Its great to hear our guest enjoy their visit and our food. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (19)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 19 reviews

Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

This time I was a little adventures, and have 1 order of Cochinita tacos and one Shrimp tacos, both different flavors, one a little spice and the other with tamarind sauce, wow delicious and all with a cold #Imperial

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank topo2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugoi Mexican & Asian Cuisine, Marketing at Sugoi Mexican & Asian cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Hi topo2020, thanks for the review. Glad to hear you experienced different flavors! Please do come back and try some of our other awesome flavors!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 February 2021 via mobile

Daniel and team did not disappoint. Brisket enchiladas, pork dumplings, shrimp pad Thai, ceviche, and the chocolate dessert. Not to mention their specialty drinks were amazing. Skip their routine bar drinks.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank robriggs3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugoi Mexican & Asian Cuisine, Marketing at Sugoi Mexican & Asian cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Hi Rob, happy to hear you loved the drinks!! Thank you for writing a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2020

After a difficult year I decided to take a vacation to Costa Rica and stumbled upon this restaurant; I can say now that this is one of my favorite spots in Playas del Coco! The food is amazing, I really loved the Mexican-Asian fusion, service was spot on and had a lovely ambiance! I highly recommend this place! If you’re ever around Playas del Coco, this is the place to be!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank R8135MUisraelv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugoi Mexican & Asian Cuisine, Marketing at Sugoi Mexican & Asian cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2021

Hi Israel, thank you for your review! Hope you coma back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 December 2020

I really enjoy the food here. Not only is the food fresh and delicious but the place is very clean. And the customer service here is A+, they always greet you with great attitude, an art that is slowly dying in the industry. I highly recommend it.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Vaneaguilar18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sugoi Mexican & Asian Cuisine, Marketing at Sugoi Mexican & Asian cuisine, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2021

Hi Vanessa, is great to hear that you enjoyed the service and the food! Thanks for the review ;)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sugoi Mexican & Asian cuisine also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Sugoi Mexican & Asian cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.