We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best piña coladas!”

Coconutz Sports Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$25
Cuisines: Southwestern, Caribbean, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Buffet, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Coconutz is the local "Expat" hangout & tourist Bar & Grill. Home of Angry Goats craft Brew House. We have 14 TV's & projection screens for all Sports. Known for great pizza, burgers, WINGS, seafood and Costa Rican Fusion. Live Music most nights of the week, with a mix of american folk, Rock'in Blues, & classic rock. Karaoke every Tuesday that gets the whole town rocking! Outdoor deck where you can sit or swing at the rails & watch people go by. Come party with Fishermen, Sailors, IRS dodgers, Divers, ex-spouses, Yachtsmen, Scoundrels, Eco tourists, Smugglers, Beer Snobs, All Inclusive & 4 Season escapees! Those looking for the Pura Vida life are welcome. Monkeys show up some afternoons in the trees . Be on the lookout for iguanas. Sometimes they get feisty and fall out of trees. The place to party for NFL & college football, NHL, NBA, MLB, UFC, and Soccer games. Hottest place in town for Halloween, New Years Eve, Tope horse parade and any Costa Rican or American/Canadian holiday!
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The food here is good, nothing spectacular. But the creamy, rich, delicious piña coladas are the best we’ve had in Playas del Coco! Informal atmosphere, pleasant service.

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BeckyejoWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,686)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,686 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Visited to get dinner and we were so happy with the food and service. upstairs there is projection that allows folks to watch a movie!

Date of visit: April 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank gitagrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2021

I've been to Coconutz several times on each of my trips to Playas del Coco, and I predict I'll be coming back again on my next return trip. It's a beautiful open air restaurant with multiple levels of spacious dining area. They're great for families, especially during the day, and they're one of the most lively and fun spots to visit at night. They serve upscale bar foods with fresh local ingredients and recipes included and have a full service bar. The waitstaff have always been prompt, friendly, and helpful and the owner has proven himself to be passionate and attentive to his patrons' needs. Best of all, they have regular special events from showings of all major sport events to live music and even karaoke nights!

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Moser455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 March 2021 via mobile

This is my favorite place to hang out in Coco. I love all the staff - They are all now friends of mine. Remy is one of the waiters and he is absolutely awesome! The true gem of Coconutz is the gal cashier named ILA. She speaks multiple languages, she keeps the place flowing, and I have never seen her without a smile on her face. You can’t miss her because she is always wearing these really cool, super tall designer socks with designs on them. Anyway the food is great, they have an amazing atmosphere with music or something and even during mid-day its great to sit in the swings and just have a beer and watch the people walk by.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank akmotor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 March 2021

Went to Playas del Coco for our wedding at the end of Feb with 18 people. We frequented Coconutz several times. The staff was really friendly and on top of everything every time we came in. The swings were fun to sit on and people watch. One night there was a band filming a music video and we heard the same song played like 10 times. Lol With the way the last yr has gone we were just happy to be listening to live music. We just laughed after hearing the same song the 3rd time and decided to start learning the lyrics. Have to focus on the positives. The people of CR are so positive and I just love their outlook. A lot of people could learn from them. Anyways Coconutz was a nice central spot and I'll be back.

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank Sunnydk40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PmwII760, Owner at Coconutz Sports Bar & Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2021

First off thank you so much for the glowing review! We are so glad you and your group had a wonderful time especially during the music video shoot. That was something new for all of us LOL! We weren’t sure what to expect but were thrilled it was a fun night and all worked out of course. Pure Vida! and we look forward to seeing you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coconutz Sports Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Ocotal, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Coconutz Sports Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.