We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (722)
Filter reviews
722 results
Traveler rating
652
54
13
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
652
54
13
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private waterfall horseback ride to the waterfall hobbit house heliconia house lava lizard farm chores steve and deb zip lining fresh milk costa rica collecting eggs arenal volcano milking cows gathering eggs riding horses farm to table every morning
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 722 reviews
Reviewed 18 August 2018

A little tough to get there with the unpaved roads, but worth the effort. When we arrived we were greeted by Alejandro who couldn't have made us feel more welcome. He was certainly a highlight throughout our stay... always cheery, fun, and accommodating. The Tree House was better than we had hoped for. Beautiful, clean, comfortable, and well designed. The kids loved hanging out in the tree loft and my wife and I loved having coffee on the back deck overlooking the forest. Really, everything about it was perfect. The kids loved the farm chores. In my 10 year old's words "I'll never take milk for granted again". The horse experience was wonderful. We really enjoyed the connection approach with the horses. Lena and Enrique (and Enrique's son) were awesome. The food was way better than I had expected or hoped for. Some of the most thoughtful and delicious meals i have had in a long time. The dining area, bar, and pool are very comfortable and quaint. Overall, this place is awesome and provided a very unique and personal experience that enhanced our visit to CR. Good job L&L Team! We will be back.

Room Tip: The Tree House is awesome!
  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jason380
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie L, Owner at Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Jason, thanks for taking the time to write this amazing review! We are so happy our staff made your stay memorable and comfortable. We hope to see you again sometime!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 August 2018

It is a good hotel, beautiful with an epic view and comfortable and clean rooms, the whole hotel has an optimal cleaning and a great customer service. The experience in this place was magnificent and I am grateful for the good attention.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahnewman48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie L, Owner at Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2018

We love the word 'Epic' thanks, Sarah, for your kind words, really. I will pass on your comments about our clean rooms to our housekeeping staff. I know they work hard, and it can be tough in the jungle!
Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

This is a fantastic place to remember what life was meant to be lived. Farm fresh foods, horse back riding, hot springs, zip lining-is all here. The people here are friendly and well informed. Costa Rica is the most pleasant country I have ever visited. It’s safe, clean, friendly, fun and affordable. I highly recommend Leaves and lizards as it is the most eco friendly resort that I found.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Thank Julia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie L, Owner at Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Thanks, Julia, for your comments! It was a pleasure to host your group here and provide you with an authentic experience.
We look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We made this our base for six nights to explore all that the local area offers in terms of tours and activities. Debbie and Steve are welcoming hosts and this retreat has the feel of a smaller and more personal accommodation. As a family with teenagers we enjoyed the horse riding day adventure to the waterfall and back. Debbie explain everything about building relationships based on trust with the horses. Gabriel was excellent in giving us to the waterfall although it was a bit disappointing that we couldn’t bathe in it as waters were too high (rainy season).
One note of caution is that 4WD vehicles are recommended in the local area as roads are mostly unpaved and the hills are steep. Also we found the restaurant options limited to 1 meat/fish and 1 vegetarian and the prices are relatively high as you are captive market with a longer (20 mins) drive to La Fortuna, but we did do this on one occasion to enjoy a pizza.
Debbie and Steve and their team organise trips and we recommend guide for day in Cano Negro its an 1 to 2 hours drive but well worth it as you see so much wildlife from the river boat; monkeys, soothes, birds galore, bats, lizards, even crocodile (or similar!)

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank JimmyCricket1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie L, Owner at Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Hi there, thanks for your comments about your stay with us. We are happy you enjoyed your time with us and found our personalized service and excursions to be something your family enjoyed. We always put safety first and hope on your next visit the water levels will be lower so you can enjoy the waterfall! This July we had an usual amount of rain, 70% more then normal for the month! Now that our road is paved! Yeah - 12 years in the making! We are glad our guests will find it easier to get up here. Our restaurant does have a limited menu, in order to serve our guests quality food in a private setting. In addition to the daily changing menu, we always offer our own home made pizza, garden fresh salads with fish or chicken, hamburgers (etc) for the child menu, which is open to all to select from. Our 2 main plates are 4 course meals; one being vegetarian (with a vegan version upon request) and the second is the meat option. The courses include homemade soup, homemade bread, selected to accompany the main course, that includes a protein, vegetables and a starch, then followed by a homemade dessert. There is a local restaurant in our little town of Monterrey 3 km down the hill, for guests that would like to experience an authentic Tico experience in a non-touristy town. Sorry, if we did not make the menu options and local food options more clear to you during your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 July 2018

Fantastic family experience! The views, the rainforest and the friendly staff makes it a very special place to stay. The staff made every effort to help accommodate us and recommend some fantastic tours. The horse back riding to the falls was by far my favourite.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Lori K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie L, Owner at Leaves and Lizards Arenal Volcano Cabin Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2018

Lori, thank you for taking the time to write this note! We so appreciate our guests and our staff does their best to create memorable experiences for everyone! Muchas Gracias!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews