We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,843)
Filter reviews
1,843 results
Traveler rating
1,250
485
73
12
23
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,250
485
73
12
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews back porch arenal volcano la fortuna costa rica individual cabins hot tub huge bathroom front porch the cottages private bungalow unobstructed view amazing views omelette station exotic birds howler monkeys close to town beautiful grounds
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 1,843 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2018

The view on volcano and garden were superb. Room and bathroom were spacious and clean. Staff very friendly. pool and jaccuzi very relaxing.
The food was good, but for dinner small portions for what u have to pay.
Location is bit far from town, they do not rent bikes or other transportation.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear Patrick D.

Thank you for your visit and for placing your comment here.

It’s great to know you enjoyed our Hotel view and bungalow.
We are 3.5 km from town and we do not rent bikes or other transportation, but we offer a taxi service available for all guests.

We hope to see you soon.
Kind regards of your friends of Lomas del Volcán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Incredible location at the base of Arenal Volcano! Lush vegetation surrounding individual spacious bungalows with a front porch and covered terrace facing the volcano, which occasionally came out from behind the clouds! Quiet pool and hot tub with volcano views. 1+ mile hiking trail up into the jungle at the top of the property, 3/4 mile walk down the access road to the main road with grocery store and multiple restaurants. Breakfast included choice of eggs, gallo pinto or bacon/ham plus fruit, cereal, yogurt. Front desk staff pleasant and able to arrange tours. Strong WiFi in the bungalows. Tranquil mornings can be spent sitting on the terrace, watching birds and unique creatures wander past and listening to the howler monkeys! I would definitely stay here again!

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank SaraS3688
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear SaraS3688

Thank for your visit and also for placing your comment here.
Our bungalows are made for our guest to have a nice time and a quite place to rest and we are here to help you having a great vacation.

Visit us next time you come to La Fortuna! We will be waiting for you.

Kind regards of your friends of Lomas del Volcán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 August 2018 via mobile

Fantastic views of Arenal Volcano. Great facilities and very clean. Staff are friendly and polite and very helpful. The lodges are very comfortable. The food in the restaurant was good. Good variety for breakfast.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank MyrusCafy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2018

Dear MyrusCafy

Thank you so much for visiting us.
We are so happy you liked our Hotel, we hope you had a wonderful time.

Next time you come to La Fortuna, visit us!
Kind regards of your friends of Lomas del Volcán

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 August 2018 via mobile

Our family stayed for 2 nights. It is situated around 4 km from La Fortunate city centre, 2 km of which are on a solitary side road. The accommodation is made up of spacious wooden lodges, with good views of the volcano, all lodges being a few meters away from each other and all surrounded by lush greenery. Very peaceful and relaxing, each lodge has a small patio at the back, with good views of the surroundings. The rooms are equipped with TV, safe, fridge and coffee making facilities. Wifi was also reasonably good. All is extremely well kept, and very clean.
Breakfast wasn't particularly great, and could be improved.
A good hotel, and wouldn't mind staying there again if I would visit La Fortunate in the future. Definitely recommendable.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank mfadami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2018

Dear mfadami

Please visit us next time you come to La Fortuna! We will be waiting for you.

For us it’s great to know that our guests had a good time. Our bungalows are made to give our guests a nice space to rest and also privacy.

Thank you for your visit and for this great comment.

Kind regards of your friends of Lomas del Volcán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2018 via mobile

Very nice hotel with comfortable and space full bungalows in a beautiful environment and a wonderful view on the volcan ( although it was most of the time surrounded with clouds). We could hear/see animals ( monkeys and local animals) .Restaurant with international food with not much interest. The place of the restaurant is quite dark except from the tables close to the garden and some of the waiters were not as so friendly as the other costan rican hotels we visit before. Some others were very nice and the receptionists were very helpful . We enjoyed the swimming pool area. Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay and therefore would recommend the hotel for a step by the volcano.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank NicolasValerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karina S, Director de Relaciones Públicas at Hotel Lomas del Volcan, responded to this reviewResponded 23 August 2018

Dear NicolasValerie

Thank you for visiting us and thank you for placing your comments here. For us is nice to know the things we have to improve in order to be better.

We are happy because you had a good time here and you could enjoyed the animals and the pool with a nice view.

Kind regards of your friends of Lomas del Volcán.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews