We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,676)
Filter reviews
1,676 results
Traveler rating
693
668
217
56
42
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
693
668
217
56
42
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswater slidesant farmobservation pointbutterfly gardenswim up barhot springssuperior roomarenal volcanowet barhot poolscosta ricazip lininghorseback ridingshuttle servicecanopy tourspring poolsleaf cutter ants
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,676 reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

Love it people here is amazing excellent job for the cleaning people, housekeeping, everyone works so hard here and they make us feel at home thank you this is an amazing place to stay fun food is amazing love it.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Julio A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 July 2018 via mobile

Wow, this resort was awesome! My 2 boys, 11 and 14 had an absolute blast here. They have 11 pools, 8 of which are hot springs. 3 watersides and the big one is so much fun. The landscaping is gorgeous and impeccably kept up. They have a nature walk with a butterfly garden, turtle pond, alligator, poison dart frogs, and a leaf cutter ant exhibit—very interesting to see. The breakfast buffet was included and it was so good, we always walked away full and ready for our adventures for the day. Staff was incredibly friendly and helpful at both the front desk and the restaurants. Ate lunch several times at the Lemnos wet bar and the pizza and burgers are amazing. Also very reasonably priced.
I have seen complaints about the long walk to the pool. I can say that we were almost as far away from the pool as you could be and we had no problems. We would often walk to the pools as it was downhill and then take a shuttle back. Never had to wait more than 5 minutes for a shuttle. WiFi was spotty but we really didn’t care as we didn’t come to Costa Rica to be on our phones. Loved everything about this place, I would go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2018

After a very long ride from white water rafting the Rio Tenorio river, we were pleasantly surprised to arrive at this beautiful resort. The grounds were stunning with gorgeous views, foliage and of course the hot spring pools. We arrived in the evening and enjoyed the hot pools, swim up bar and the kids (ages 10 & 15) had fun on the water slides. The rooms were clean, comfortable and quite spacious. We had 2 queen beds with trundles which pulled out for the kids. Wall unit air conditioning worked fine. Front and back porch for relaxing. The next day the hot pools were really too hot to use on a sunny day, but enjoyed the colder pools with slides, short walk through the wildlife area with butterflies, ant farm, turtles and crocodiles, and delicious brick oven pizza lunch by the pool. We only stayed one night and took the boat across Lake Arenal to board our shuttle up to Monteverde for zip lining and hanging bridges the next day, but if I had to do it over again, we would have stayed 2 nights and explored La Fortuna a little more and its other public hot springs, shops and restaurants as well as relaxed a little more at our resort. Overall very pleasant experience!

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank Nicole W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 July 2018 via mobile

We chose Los Lagos Spa and Resort as our splurge on our Costa Rican vacation, having stayed at small family owned hotels for the rest of the trip. We had an excellent view of the volcano from our room and balcony. The surroundings of the resort was beautiful with tropical plants and flowers. The breakfast buffet was delicious. The property contains several pools and hot springs. We found the hot springs to be too hot and the pools too cold for true enjoyment. It was also very crowded, as people not staying at the resort can pay to use the pool and hot springs. The property is very large so a shuttle runs every 15 minutes. There is also a small “zoo” on the property which has one crocodile, some ants, and butterflies. The best part was the lush vegetation and flowers which made for a very enjoyable walk. The room itself was okay, but not exceptional. We asked for more towels which never arrived and did not have hand towels. Wash clothes are not used in Costa Rica it appears. The walls were thin and you could hear your neighbors, however everyone went to bed fairly early so that did not interfere with sleep. Overall, it was an okay experience, but did not live up to the price.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank Sdjtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2018

The resort itself was beautiful. But don't let the google maps and pictures fool you - you are in the foothills of a volcano (mountain) and there is quite a bit of an elevation difference from the lobby to your rooms. There is a shuttle that runs every 10-15 minutes or so to take you around the resort. The kids loved the waterslides in the pool area. The only thing limiting it i thought was the food. There is one restaurant for breakfast, lunch, and dinner, as well as food options at the pool bar.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews