We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book now! This hotel is likely to sell out soon.
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Tabacon Grand Spa
US$345
View deal
Hotels.com
Travelocity
Agoda.com
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,063)
Filter reviews
5,063 results
Traveler rating
3,577
965
328
115
78
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
3,577
965
328
115
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los tucanes hot springs shangri la gardens hotel guests la area orchid room costa rica honeymoon suite day pass dinner buffet private area swim up bar couples massage arenal volcano heaven on earth star resort beautiful resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
59 - 64 of 5,063 reviews
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

The springs are a must see when visiting Costa Rica. We stayed at Tabacon for 2 nights. The hotel is nice and staff is friendly. Our room was huge with a tub and an outdoor patio. The bed was very comfortable and I enjoyed the extra pillows. The springs are a short walk from the actual hotel part and they constantly have a shuttle running should you choose to get a ride. We received a sweet sign on our door that wished us a happy anniversary and chocolate covered strawberries upon arrival. The hotel is somewhat close to the road however we didn’t hear any cars or trucks driving by. My only comment would be smelling the cigarette smoke from our neighbors who smoked on the patio, however we are aware this is not something in Tabacons control. The breakfast was great, lots of options to choose from. The restaurants were a little crowded for us so we had anniversary dinner at La Fortuna, our first dinner was Buffett style which was okay and we did make reservations to have dinner at their other restaurant but ended up canceling. Check in was a bit busy and loud as well. Overall it was a nice experience.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Q5421UZtD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2021

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read we had the opportunity of hosting you during your anniversary celebration and that you enjoyed our wonderful location during your stay. We regret the situation that you share with us regarding the smell of tobacco, it is a pity that we did not find out about this situation at the time it occurred, otherwise our team would have taken the necessary measures to prevent this situation. Smoking inside hotels or public spaces is prohibited by law in Costa Rica, it is also indicated within our lodging policies that any guest who violates this law inside our property will be duly penalized. We appreciate your valuable comment and we look forward to having the opportunity to serve you again and improve your experience with us.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 March 2021 via mobile

The upsides are staff kindness and access to hot springs. You can purchase day passes to the springs even if you do not stay here. Hotel did not seem to be special in any ways. Staff were always kind. Rooms are average for a budget hotel, while beds are below average for a budget hotel. Views are minimal to none. The pricing is not budget priced, however. You can find better quality food most anywhere. Very dark and quiet hotel. If you are looking to spend time only in a dark room, this will work just fine. If you are looking for cultural immersion, activities, value, a sense of liveliness, and ease of location, many other options nearby.

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank K7158JOrogerw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Dear valued guest,

We are glad to read we had the opportunity of serving you and that our always attentive team made your experience a pleasant one. However, we regret to find out through your rating that we did not exceed your expectations during your visit.
We consider that one of the main attractions of our hotel is its location in the middle of the forest, being located within the Arenal National Park area, which allows us to privilege not only by the scenic beauty of nature and animal species, but also to have a natural thermal river directly heated by the volcano which offers an exclusive natural thermal experience that differentiates our hotel from other resorts in the area. In addition to this, we offer different types of accommodation which provide a different lodging experience according to the preferences of our visitors. Every detail of our rooms has been meticulously taken care of to create a memorable experience to our visitors. The quality of our services and facilities has also allowed us to be part of prestigious consortiums and awards on an international scale.
Although not all rooms offer volcano views (this also depends on the weather of the area which is constantly variable due to the influence of the rainforest) our rooms can offer views of our gardens or the rainforest, a beautiful landscape to admire when waking up in the morning and at the same time the possibility of admiring the fauna that visits our property.
For those visitors who wish to enjoy cultural and adventure activities, our concierge team can help them coordinate the best activities in the area taking into account their preferences. We are located in an area that allows you to enjoy a variety of adventure activities in harmony with nature. We appreciate your valuable feedback and look forward to the opportunity to serve you again in the near future and improve your experience with us.

Best regards,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2021

Highly recommended! Amazing thermals baths, shangri-la garden, dinner at Tucanes, hot stone massage at the spa.

But skip the buffet lunch at Ave and order a la carte instead.

Overall amazing experience!

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank aabyzo614160
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2021

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 March 2021 via mobile

This was my second visit to Tabacon and it was just as relaxing as the first!

The rooms are super spacious and clean.

There are so many hot springs to choose from varying in temperatures and depths! We found a few that we really loved and spent most of the day in. We got super lucky with weather (it wasn’t too hot out) and we even got some rain! Being in the hot springs in the rain was magical!

The breakfast buffet was delicious and service all around was great!

We usually don’t stay in large hotels but this one is definitely worth it :)

Date of stay: February 2021
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank kierstyn_stansfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that all our services and facilities were of the best quality. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 February 2021

You are literally in heaven. The thermal waters are unique in this world. The facilities are outstanding and I wish I have enough words to express how great the staff is. They have the best spa in the Americas and it really is.

Date of stay: February 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank fabiananda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2021

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you had a great time and that you enjoyed our wonderful location and the service provided by our team. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews