We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$261
US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mountain Paradise(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$142
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$111/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Arenal Bungalows(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$45
Booking.com
View Deal
Volcano Lodge & Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$169
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Arenal Container Hostel(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
ApartHotel Tierra del Fuego(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arenal Backpackers Resort(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$38
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Allamanda Rooms(La Fortuna de San Carlos)(Great Value!)
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Nayara Springs(La Fortuna de San Carlos)
US$563
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,920)
Filter reviews
3,920 results
Traveler rating
2,605
847
291
107
70
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,605
847
291
107
70
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslos tucaneshot springsshangri la gardenshotel guestsorchid roomunlimited accessrainforest suitehoneymoon suitecosta ricaopen to the publicday passswim up barprivate areabuffet dinnercouples massagearenal volcanostar resort
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 3,920 reviews
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

One of the best mornings I’ve ever spent. You Have to see it and experience it first hand to understand. Even though it was raining it was still fantastic and the weather even added to the atmosphere. We also had lunch which was excellent value for money and delicious.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
Thank enattress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. It's great to read you had a wonderful 5 star visit while taking advantage of our great location. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

This is by far the best hotel I have ever stayed at. Five star service. Great atmosphere, service and restaurants. Hot springs were amazing. Scenery was beautiful. I will go back!!There is much to do in the area. It is quite rainy in this area though but it didn't hinder our enjoyment. It is best to get up early bc sun in the morning and rain in afternoon.

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Megan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Mean,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon, We are glad to read you had a 5 star visit and that you enjoyed our great atmosphere, service,, restaurant, hot springs and beautiful scenery. We appreacited your review and hope to host you again in the future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 July 2018 via mobile

This family visit is one that we'll remember for a long time. The hotel staff was very kind, facility is beautifull, our room had a modern style and accommodations were very confortable. Everything was sorrounded by nature, there is green everywhere you look.

The hot springs is something that can hardly be described due its beauty. There are multiple springs as you walk a path among nature. Every spring pool had a different style to it thus making it really interesting to walk and have a taste of each. I can trully say this was one place that took my breath away during my C Rica vacation. Perfect for any setting from honeymoon to adventure vacation.... highly suggest.

Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
2  Thank Angel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Angel,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read you enjoyed our location and that you enjoyed our accommodations, facilities and services. As you were able to experience our thermal resort offers more thant 20 thermal pools and ponds located among nature and directly heated by Arenal Volcano. We are glad to be the place that took away your breath during your visit to Costa Rica. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We went here as part of a big full day trip, it was the best part! The hot springs are 38c and so beautiful & relaxing! Koi fish hidden away, cocktails in the pool Wish we had stayed longer! lovley place.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank _missjaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for visiting Tabacon and share your experience with us. It's great to read you had a 5 star experience and that you enjoyed all our facilities and services. At the same time, it's great to know you enjoyed our hidden koi fish pond. We appreciate your detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We just got back from spending a week at the Tabacon Thermal Resort in Arenal. It was fabulous for our first family trip to Costa Rica. We decided to spend the entire week in the rainforest since we have done many beach vacations. If you wanted to break your trip up to travel to another location, 4 nights in the Arenal area would have been sufficient. Although, we did not regret our decision of staying in the Arenal/La Fortuna area all week. It was the rainy season when we were there. It was beautiful and we never regretted going during this time of year. Everything was green & gorgeous. It rained every day, but for short periods of time. The showers were mostly light rainfalls that involved no wind, cold, thunder or lightning. It was overcast all week, therefore we never used sunscreen all week. We never missed having direct sun. Bring light raincoats with you, We always had them with us or tied them around our waist on hikes. The hotel gives you umbrellas in your room and there are umbrellas to grab throughout the hotel.

We drove to the Tabacon from the San Jose airport. We did not have any issues. As long as you are prepared what to expect, it is an ok drive. We rented a GPS and did not have problems with directions. We stopped at a small grocery store along the side of the road for snacks and it was friendly. It was a 3-hour drive from the airport.

The Tabacon resort had very friendly and prompt service. We had 2 connecting orchid rooms for our family of 6. We were appreciative to get our connecting room request, even though we booked our trip late. We even got a volcano view room. The rooms were extremely clean and well kept. There was a housekeeper in the hallway 24/7 working the rooms on our floor. The housekeepers came into our rooms 2-3 times per day to replenish & refresh our room. Costa Rica has wildlife sounds of insects, frogs, birds, etc all day long. I loved being able to hear the sounds of nature all night long, even when all our doors & windows were shut. The only negative thing about our rooms were the showers. The shower has a glass see-through full-length window into the bedroom. There is a wooden shutter door on the outside of the window in the bedroom. The problem with this is that you can still see through the slats of the shutter door. (I guess that maybe the shutter door was originally installed upside down??) It's also possible that since this door covering is on the outside, it could be potentially opened by someone else in the bedroom. This set up might be cool if you are a honeymooner, but not great for a family with kids. We have 4 kids ranging from 16-9 years old and they did not enjoy taking showers for fear of being seen. After a week though, we did get used to it, but it was just one little quirk of the room. The shower also had a rain shower head, which we are not huge fans of.

Breakfast at the Tabacon was fabulous every morning. The Costa Rican dishes were different everyday, so it added some variety. The rest of the food was the same everyday. Breakfast was served in the building by the pool on the resort side of the property. Not the building by the hot springs. So if you read older reviews about having to go to the hot springs area for breakfast, that is no longer true. On the first night we arrived, we ate the buffet at the Tabacon. The food was excellent, but the price was extremely expensive. It was $200 for a family of 6. Therefore, we went into town for dinners & lunches after that where we would pay $50-$70 for great food & drinks for our family. There is plentiful restaurants to choose from when you head into town. Everywhere we ate was friendly and had good food. Hint- When you eat out, they will not bring you the bill until you ask for it. Also, always ask if the tip is included. Someplaces it was included and some places it was not. If your bill says "service charge," that can mean tax not necessarily gratuity. So always double check. Most everywhere we went, the people spoke English. We only encountered one waitress that had a little bit of trouble communicating with us.

Getting to and from the hot springs at the Tabacon was not an issue at all for us. We always took the shuttle from the lobby. We never had to wait more than a couple minutes for the shuttle to go and from the hot springs. Everyone wears the robes to the hot springs that are given to you in your room. Bring water shoes for the hot springs & any other tours you do that involve waterfalls or swimming. Don't let the fact that you have to take a shuttle to the hot springs detour your decision to stay here.

We booked all our tours except for one at the hotel. We had no issues and it was simple and easy to get info & reservations. There was plenty of availability on the tours during July. Almost all our tours we did was just our family. We enjoyed being able to have the guides & transportation to ourselves. We did the sky trek ziplining & hanging bridges tour, white water rafting, night hike, a slow float trip down the rio frio river, sloth trail, Mistico, and La Fortuna waterfall. Everything we did was a fabulous experience. The tours we did included yummy authentic Costa Rican lunches. Hire a guide on hikes. You will see a lot more with a guide pointing out wildlife to you. We would have seen nothing if it wasn't for our guides. We saw sloths, monkeys, toucans, lizards, iguanas, birds, leaf cutter ants, bullet ants. snakes, frogs, dart frogs, insects, bats, etc. We always wore bug spray but were not bothered at all by bugs biting us.

We had a wonderful first trip to Costa Rica and are definitely going back. Next time we will stay in a different area because there is so much to see in this beautiful country!

  • Stayed: July 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank WIHappyfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Community M, Gerente at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2018

Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. It's grea to read that base on your experience at Tabacon you consider to come back in a near future. It's always a pleasure to serve you and asisst you while creating wonderful and unforgettable memories. We appreciate your very detail review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews