We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (959)
Filter reviews
959 results
Traveler rating
429
373
104
31
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
429
373
104
31
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hi express free shuttle san jose costa rica free breakfast rosti pollo denny's restaurant next morning hour shuttle an early flight rental car last night bagged breakfast shuttle service rooms are clean yogurt stayed here for one night
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 959 reviews
Reviewed 17 August 2018

Our group stayed a total of 8 days at this hotel. None of our team found any fault with this hotel from their friendly service to fantastic breakfasts' to setting up excursions! Everyone was fantastic! In fact, I had left our safe open with over $5000 in cash. When the cleaning staff saw this, they immediately left the room (cleaning rags still there), reported it to the front desk (they immediately made our keys invalid) and then notified me. All of the money was still there and I thanked them for how they handled the situation. It is less than a mile from the airport and I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone the next time they are in San Jose, Costa Rica!

Room Tip: Leave a tip for those taking care of your room. They do a fantastic job and don't get paid a whole lot.
Stayed: August 2018, traveled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank davidcN6086KV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear davidcN6086KV, thanks for posting your delightful comments.

We are more than thrilled to learn that your stay with us was such a success (and not only for you but also for the other members of your team too) since you found our hotel to be nothing less than great, from our very comfortable accommodations, our delicious complimentary daily breakfast to our awesome staff who are always going the extra mile from our guests. This is truly rewarding because nothing is more important to us than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction. We are very proud to have a wonderful staff who are completely committed to our guests' comfort and well being as you were able to see for yourself and who are totally honest too since they truly stand for everything our hotel represents.

It was a pleasure having you and your team here with us. Thank you for choosing us, we hope to see you all back again.
Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2018 via mobile

We travel to Costa Rica often and have spent the night at this hotel. It is so convenient. They pick you up from the airport (5 minutes away) and the rental car company picks you up in the morning. Fabulous breakfast. The rooms are spacious and clean and there are restaurants and casinos within walking distance.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Mary G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 21 August 2018

Dear Mary G, thank you so much for your marvelous review.

It makes us very happy knowing that you always stay with whenever you visit the country because besides showing us how much you like our hotel, it makes you part of our extended global family. We are so glad that your stays at the hotel are always nothing less than perfect since you find our accommodations so comfortable, our services very good (especially our complimentary breakfast and our free 24 hour shuttle transportation to and from the airport among others)and our staff so friendly and attentive. Our location is another big perk that our hotel offers because besides being less than a mile from the airport, we are just across our parking lot from several car rentals, from a couple of restaurants and from a casino.

It is always a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice. The entire team will be looking forward to your next visit.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2018

A few minutes from the airport by free shuttle - every 15 mins even during the night - meant that we could get a decent sleep in before a very early flight. Breakfast bags were available for us to take away as we had to leave before the buffet opened at 6 am. Clean and functional. Good place to stay. The only downside is that its a $35 taxi ride from downtown so it really is for the airport rather than a San Jose tourist hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, traveled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank B5283AWtonys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear B5283AWtonys, thank you for sharing your great review.

We are glad that your stay with us was so comfortable and that you found our hotel to be so convenient, not only due to our location (we are less than a mile from the airport and just across our parking lot from some restaurants and several car rentals) but also because we provide very good and practical services (such as our free 24 hour shuttle transportation to and from the airport, our free shuttle to the mall and restaurant areas and our complimentary breakfast among others). There is nothing we want more than to see our guests total comfortable and satisfied so we really strive to see to it that they have a very successful hotel experience. If our guests want to go downtown San Jose and if they think that the taxi rate is to expensive, they can call an Uber which will definitely be much less.

It was a pleasure being at your service. We hope to see you back soon. Thank you for staying with us.

Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 August 2018

In preparation for an early morning departure from JS Airport, we decided to stay here based on the reviews and Holiday Inn reputation and we stayed here in the past but not for some time. Staff was friendly, but about 10 PM someone was walking up and down the hall knocking on doors looking for his girlfriend. Really? At first I thought it was a childish prank, but he knocked repeatedly and there was urgency in his voice. When I opened the door he apologized but then in Spanish made an uncomplimentary remark about me to someone in the adjacent room. I replied to him in English to his surprise, shut the door and immediately called the front desk. I will say the gentleman who picked up was polite, but he said he knew who this was and would send security after him. Double really? The man must have heard me calling the front desk and called me a snitch! Triple really? To the hotel's credit the front desk called back to assure me the matter had been taken care of by security, but should that have been allowed to happen? The man in the hall did not appear under the influence, so if you've lost your girlfriend in a hotel, what does that tell you and who doesn't have a cell phone these days? It's 5 hours until we have to get up for our flight, so no telling if there will be any more security breaches, but don't think we'll be staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank TravelinGal147289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2018

Dear TravelinGal147289, thank you for posting your comments regarding your stay at your hotel.

We are very sorry to learn about the inconvenience you experienced with the other guest knocking on your door. Please accept our most sincere apologies for the disturbance. We assure you that nothing is more important to us than our guests' total comfort, satisfaction and well being so people that are not our guests cannot pass further than the front desk and lobby area and if someone does, they have to leave their id or passport at the front desk. As you mentioned before, the front desk staff immediately dealt with with the issue of the gentleman knocking the doors as soon as you called and there were no further disturbances after it. We are very sorry that he called you a snitch and we assure you that if any of our staff had been right there when it happened, we would had made him apologize to you. There hotel has around the clock security, the 24 hours every day of the week, which includes our security personnel inside and outside our premises plus security cameras surveillance all around. Once again, we apologize about the inconvenience you experienced.

It was a pleasure being at your service. Thank you for staying with us.
Warmest regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Love staying here. As an Expat living here in Cosa Rica, I have to leave CR every 90 days. Peace of mind is one thing I look for on making these trips. Here all of what I look for are taken care of. Cleanrooms well appointed, staff that is more than helpful. A much better than average breakfast. Shuttle to the airport. Stay here … you bet!

Room Tip: I get the ground floor back side away from the pool rooms.
Stayed: August 2018, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank coatiman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marjorie E, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express San Jose Airport, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2018

Dear coatiman, thank you for your amazing comments.

We are elated and very proud to learn that you are part of our extended global family since you have been staying with us many times and that this time as before, your stay was nothing less than great. This is truly rewarding because nothing is more important to us than our guests' total comfort and satisfaction so we strive to provide them with everything they might need by providing them with excellent accommodations, great services (like our delicious complimentary breakfast among many others) and with a wonderful staff whom are always going the extra mile for them.

It is always a pleasure having you as a guest. Thank you for making us your hotel of choice. The entire crew will be looking forward to your next visit.

Best regards.
Marjorie Espinoza.
Guest Relations Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews