We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Airport City Hotel(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$51
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Lalit Great Eastern Kolkata(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$185
US$105
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
ITC Sonar(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$146
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$135/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Oberoi Grand(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$159
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
The Gateway Hotel EM Bypass(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Motel(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
US$118
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aauris(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$83
US$41
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aakash Ganga Holidays(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$29
US$28
Booking.com
View Deal
Alankar Guest House(Kolkata (Calcutta))
US$17
US$12
Agoda.com
View Deal
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
14
19
10
3
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
19
10
3
1
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 47 reviews
Reviewed 19 March 2015

I have stayed at the hotel quite a few times. Very convenient location. Service also good. Food decent. So overall value for money experience. Would suggest it for any of the budget hotels around Kolkata.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank jit4u2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pranav L, Owner at Hotel Swagath, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Glad that you had a good experience at our Hotel. Hope to see you again on your next visit to Calcutta.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 February 2015

The property is old, but species room and quality of food is awesome. I enjoyed breakfast and lunch, both are fantastic, I presume the location is very close to Sialdah rly station, but far from airport.

  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sunilnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pranav L, Owner at Hotel Swagath, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Glad that you liked the food and stay at our hotel. Hope to serve you again soon. We are shortly opening another restaurant at the property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 December 2014

I just loved my 4 days stay in hotel swaghat. during durga puja Its a very good hotel with friendly staff. Location is good situated in south kollkata hazra road. (ballygunj) Old building but rooms are big. Lived here for 4 days had a lot of close memories during those stay. A good hotel to live with your friends and family. thumps up specially the morning South Indian breakfast is just awsum & tasty.

  • Stayed: October 2014, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aditgarg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pranav L, Owner at Hotel Swagath, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Thanks for your feedback. Hope to serve you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 October 2014

The travel guide said that this was a good mid-range hotel, so I bet on it instead of going to the extremes (very expensive or budget motels). On the inside the decoration was bizarre and rather funky; it just seemed out of place for a hotel. The receptionist that afternoon was a young man who sent me to sleep when I asked him something about the city. The room had no windows, so the air felt increasingly stuffy (and we were on February -2013 by the way). It was an almost empty cell with a weary double bed and little else. The shower was behind a thin door and had poor insulation. Every night they held a party downstairs with some karaoke playing Indian pop songs. The restaurant was not that bad but it didn't bring any relief to the situation, besides of being frankly expensive. In spite of all the praises and hopes, this is another budget motel of the Paharganj style but twice as expensive.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pedroJiX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 September 2014

Last month stayed in this hotel with our office group to attend a office conference at the same place. I am really happy with all the staffs, their service and the most i like its totally homely atmosphere. Rooms are so good, specious,, nit & clean, newly decorated. Banquet arrangement also so good, they provided all the amenities we required for our meeting. Food also so good..we very much enjoyed there south indian foods. and during meeting we had north indian food, both taste are excellent.

I personally refer this hotel to everyone, during their staying in Kolkata.

  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sanku1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pranav L, Owner at Hotel Swagath, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2015

Thanks for your feedback. Hope to serve you soon again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews