We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must-do in Jaipur”
Review of Suroth House

Suroth House
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Tejveer Singh chef/owner takes the cuisine and culture of his homeland to the next level with a conventional style home & kitchen and delicious cuisine. The Chef's mastery of traditional spices and flavors makes each dish an opportunity to experience classics and delicacies in new and exciting ways. Every plate becomes a culinary journey. Along with same See the Old Jaipur city from Tejveer's Eye and discover old hidden narrow paths of Jaipur famous for there Haveli's, old architecture and street Food points.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities, Stroller parking
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

We just had our cooking class and it was really amazing. First, we went to the authentic vegetable market. Royal was so good in explaining and told us a lot about Indian food culture and vegetables. Afterwards we went home to cook a delicious meal. Nidy and Royal are the perfect hosts. We felt at home! Make sure you don’t eat too much in advance because the food is really delish. We would definitely recommend this as an activity in Jaipur! Thank you Royal, Nidy and Angel for the perfect evening

Thank Stéphanie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejveer S, Owner at Suroth House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Dear Guest, Greetings from Suroth House....! We thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to see you again... Thanks and regards Tejveer Singh SUROTH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"lovely family"
in 8 reviews
"dahl"
in 6 reviews
"cooking lesson"
in 6 reviews
"vegetable market"
in 6 reviews
"cooking class"
in 11 reviews
"indian spices"
in 4 reviews
"learned how"
in 3 reviews
"samosas"
in 5 reviews
"learning how"
in 3 reviews
"tourist madness"
in 2 reviews
"handi chicken"
in 2 reviews
"okra"
in 2 reviews
"amazing cooking"
in 2 reviews
"family history"
in 2 reviews
"warm hospitality"
in 2 reviews
"amazing experience"
in 5 reviews
"great opportunity"
in 2 reviews
Filter

9 - 13 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2018

We had the most wonderful evening at Suroth House, with Tejveer, Nidhi, Angel and their incredible staff. Upon arrival, we were told we were family- and we felt that way the entire time! Tejveer took us on an insightful tour of the vegetable market where we were able to try some interesting vegetables and learn about the local area. Back at home, we enjoyed learning and assisting to make a variety of different dishes. By the far best part was having dinner with the family- the food was delicious, and the stories hilarious. Couldn't recommend more if you're in Jaipur.

Thank amypere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejveer S, Owner at Suroth House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2018

Dear Guest, Greetings from Suroth House....! We thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to see you again... Thanks and regards Tejveer Singh SUROTH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We're foodies and like to socialize so it was nice to mix with other guests. We went to the marked and Tejveer showed us what was important whilst shopping. He even took mineral water to clean the fruits he lets us taste at the marked. Lovely Nindi (wife) and Barak (servant) showed us how to cook and we made pakora's and okra and roti and tiny aubergines. When we sat down to eat we had nice conversation. We loved little Angel. Tejveer sent us a couple of recepies on a PDF file. And he arranged a taxi back to the hotel (and fixed a good price for the ride).

Thank Liset v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejveer S, Owner at Suroth House, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Dear Guest, Greetings from Suroth House....! We thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to see you again... Thanks and regards Tejveer Singh SUROTH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 July 2018

I found and booked this cooking class on Cookly.me and what can I say, I read the reviews before booking and all said it was an amazing experience, well I totally agree. The evening started with introductions, a cool rose sherbet drink and various nibbles. Then off in the car to the market we went. We were taken to a veg stall that had been used by the family for many years. All ingredients were purchased and off we went back to the home to commence cooking. We were taught how to make pakoras, Dahl, chicken handi, okra dish, breads etc. Each step was clearly explained and the reasons given as to why certain ingredients were used. Then the best bit, we sat with the family to eat what we had prepared. I can honestly say that every single dish was mighty tasty. But the highlight for me was spending time with this beautiful, welcoming family, who we immediately felt we had known for years. Tales were exchanged and lots of laughter was had. Angel the daughter is an absolute little star and very entertaining in her own right. If you have the good fortune to attend one of these classes be sure to ask the host about his train ticket experiences, I will say no more but it’s one of the funniest stories I’ve heard in years. All too soon the night was over, a taxi was ordered in the strict instructions that we rang to advise as soon as we got back to hotel, so that he knew we had arrived home safely. A must do experience when in Jaipur, thank you for a most memorable evening

Thank ShirlN8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejveer S, Owner at Suroth House, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2018

Dear Guest, Greetings from Suroth House....! We thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to see you again... Thanks and regards Tejveer Singh SUROTH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 2 July 2018 via mobile

I booked a cooking class with Tejveer and his family and it was a great and unique experience. The surely make you feel comfortable and as part of their family which includs a lovely little girl. The vegetable market visit was very insightful and the cooking part even better. Everything was well explained and I cluld participate in the whole process. All in a safe, well planned, healthy and tourist friendly environment. His guest houses appea to be great too.

Thank Marcelo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tejveer S, Owner at Suroth House, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2018

Dear Guest, Greetings from Suroth House....! We thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to see you again... Thanks and regards Tejveer Singh SUROTH HOUSE

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Suroth House also viewed

Jaipur, Jaipur District
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 
Jaipur, Jaipur District
 

Been to Suroth House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing