We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (813)
Filter reviews
813 results
Traveler rating
567
192
41
8
5
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
567
192
41
8
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews defence colony banana bread rooftop terrace homemade jams home away from home lajpat nagar quiet neighborhood guest house home stay living room common areas restaurants and shops indian breakfast bed and breakfast a great place to stay packed breakfast rooms are comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 813 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Well run, quirky hotel with lovely rooftop terrace. Indian breakfast with homemade bread, homemade banana cake and homemade jam. Dinner cooked from scratch and absolutely delicious. Rooms clean and with great air conditioning. We had an early start so they made us a packed breakfast.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Liz M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arun418, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Quirky - I dont know, different yes. Whatever it was , you liked your stay and we are truly grateful for your delighful comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Colonels Retreat was the first place we stayed in India and couldn’t have been happier. The rooms were beautifully decorated, spacious bathrooms with a touch of home amenities. The staff and family were very friendly and accommodating. A stunning roof terrace where you can relax and watch the black kites hovering as well as have the most delicious dinner (a must). Great homemade banana bread too. You are also tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Delhi but close enough to all the key sites to explore. Would definitely recommend.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Leah100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arun418, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

A huge thank you with folded hands in true Indian fashion. "Dhanyawad" for your lovely comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 March 2018

Excellent small hotel for brief stay in Delhi! We felt very welcome, our rooms were comfortable and we enjoyed the free afternoon tea! Dinner and breakfast were also good and the rooftop restaurant lovely. The husband and wife hosts were charming and helpful, and the hotel very good value. Thoroughly to be recommended!

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martincj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arun418, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your brief and insightful review. Greatly appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Nice cosy place to park yourself when you are in Delhi, polite, courteous staff, well appointed rooms, very homely feeling, maybe more so because the place is more like a home-stay. They need a few additions in terms of the crockery etc (like Ice Box). Otherwise an exceptionally great place to stay.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Abhijit N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arun418, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Thank you for your nice words - we have noted your requirement for an Ice box and the next time you come we would certainly have it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

Found through Trip Advisor and really nice place.

Not a hotel, more of a guest house but I'd take it over a guesthouse any day.

Breakfast has just been serviced and brilliant. Happily come back and would thoroughly recommend

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank PeterBarras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
arun418, Owner at Colonel's Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2018

Many thanks for your kind words. Just makes everything we do so worthwhile !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews