We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lonely Beach Resort Tangalle
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Jaya Homestay(Tangalle)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco Tangalla(Tangalle)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (131)
Filter reviews
131 results
Traveler rating
80
35
10
2
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
80
35
10
2
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall ferryheavy bagswithin metressea view roomtuk tuktop floornatural swimming poolsri lankapalm treesfirst floornice roomfresh seafoodclean roomsstayed nightsturtleslagoonwaves
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 131 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Really nice place with good food. Great place to get away from crowds and enjoy your holiday. Very nice staff. You can get fresh seafood straight from the ocean. Don’t forget to order a Grilled Paraw fish!

Stayed: May 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Ayesha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2018 via mobile

We had booked for 5 nights with booking.com for this hotel. On arrival we were shown to our room by the staff who said nothing but just showed us the room and left. The surroundings are a little confusing as you have to get a raft over the lagoon so a little information at check in about what is around would be useful. The beach is beautiful and right on the doorstep however thats where the paradise stops. The restaurant and service is of very poor quality. We ordered pasta and a prawn dish and the spaghetti was drowning in water it was not nice. That night at 10pm we settled into the bed and i saw what i thought was an ant so i squashed it and just had a look for others. The bed sheets were riddled with jumping fleas. It was disgusting and as we squashed them more, larger insects started to appear. We went down to the restaurant to see if anyone was there but it was shut so we decided we could do nothing but sit on the chairs from outside. All night long we sat on the wooden seats in the room which was so uncomfortable and we got barely any sleep. In the morning the bed was full of black stops and it was vile. We went down to ask if we could move rooms the next night and the man said we need to wait for the manger who arrives at 12. By this point, after no apology or anything. We decided to leave and check into another hotel over the lagoon. This hotel is disgusting and dirty and its really not worth anything. The location is ifs best quality but its really let down by staff and cleanliness.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lonelybeach, Manager at Lonely Beach Resort Tangalle, responded to this reviewResponded March 8, 2018

We have been running this business almost 10 years now and this is the first time we heard such a negative comments about our property and service . If you go through reviews of other booking sites we have been getting good reviews plenty of times. I can assure there are no fleas and bed bugs , since start of the year we are almost fully booked everyday this is the first time we hear such a thing.

There are so many hotels being built around Marakolliya beach and everyone wants to get more bookings as possible.This review seems like one of them wants to put bad name for our place.That's the only thing I can think of why someone wants to blame us for something didn't happen.

Pls refer to all other reviews we got for last few years and see how well we have been running this small hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2018

Excellent service, nice room with beautiful view.
The staff were great, very friendly and would help with anything.
Wifi good.
Beach within 50 metres.
Restaurant at hotel very tasty!
Two things to note, its quite remote so not many restaurants around - not a bad thing as the hotel and the two on the beach close by were all very good. Ideally order your dinner early so they have time to prepare.
Also, the bridge on the way collapsed in early 2017. Its currently being rebuilt. There is a small ferry/boat that will transport you across the bridge and Lonely beach is only another 150m away - which is an easy walk or a very short tuk tuk if you have heavy bags.
Great place!

  • Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank aaronc582
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2018 via mobile

A near deserted beach with blue skies, palm trees and the sound of the sea drifting through our bedroom window. We thoroughly enjoyed our three-night stop here and could have stayed for another three months. While not luxurious, the rooms are more than adequate, with spacious balconies that face either towards the sea (preferable) or the lagoon.

The helpful team run a small cafe on site that serves food and drinks throughout the day, and there are several other options along the beach. There’s no pressure from anyone here (much like the rest of Sri Lanka). When we visited, a small floating pontoon was operating while the access bridge was being repaired. This isn’t manned overnight, so if you are planning to arrive or depart at an odd hour, it’s worth checking in advance that you will be able to cross.

Note the sea here can frequently be unsafe to swim in. Please seek advice before going for a dip.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Greg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Lonely Beach for 6 nights and would have stayed much longer in this beautiful and tranquil spot perched on the edge of a lagoon on the seafront. Our sea view room was simple but had everything you need for a relaxing stay. The lack of a/c was not a problem; with the windows open and the fan on it was lovely to fall asleep to the sound of the waves. Don’t come expecting luxury- the towels are small and scratchy, the breakfasts are pretty basic and the rooms don’t get serviced unless you ask them but I think this is quite common in Sri Lanka. With a myriad of beach front bars and restaurants just a stone’s throw away, there’s plenty of places to eat and drink, all of which are very quiet. We found that the little Sri Lankan places with hand written menus had the best food and were incredibly cheap. Go into Tangalle if you want to be somewhere a bit more lively. The staff at Lonely Beach were extremely helpful, helping organise tuk tuks and any trips we wanted to do. One of the guys happily ran us up the bridge to meet our taxi driver at 5am and magically being there to pick us up when we returned. Unlike further round at Mirissa, the stunning beach here is deserted. Be warned: only swim further along where the platform of rocks shelters you from the very dangerous waves that can sweep you away. Even in the ‘natural swimming pool’ area the currents can be quite strong. The bridge over the lagoon was washed away in the flood earlier in 2017 and work is underway to build a new one. For the mean time you get ferried across on a makeshift pontoon which just added to the feeling of going to a desert island.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank 42Nina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews