We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (209)
Filter reviews
209 results
Traveler rating
100
55
28
16
10
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
55
28
16
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot water orphaned children shaded beds tuk tuk tangalle beach stayed two nights overlooking the beach low season bungalow rocks nets waves
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 209 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2016

What makes this place so special is the location and the surroundings, with lovely sun beds, hammocks, shacks and chairs, where you can sit and relax. The beach is rocky but you can swim a llitle bit further. The food at the restaurant is good and the prices are better than the city, to eat at Ibis is the right choice.

I was desapointed with the room, the toilet sit was broken, the fitings old an rusty and the sheets had some stains. We stayed for 5 days and the room was not cleaned not even once, and we had to ask for toilet paper. Internet was off for 4 days. The personal could be a little bit more friendly and attentive. Apart from this we had a pleasant stay. Ibis has a big potential if some changes are made.

Date of stay: March 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vegaGent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 February 2016 via mobile

Very overpriced guesthouse, you can find better for half the price with breakfast included. First room we got had a mouse in it that the owner had to kill.. Then we asked the next day for a room with AC because it was more isolated, so no more mouses but the AC did not really work and on top of that the electricity was shut down everyday till around 17:00. The wifi worked 1 of 5 nights. Also got a overpriced taxi from Tangalle to Ella compared to lonley planet. Only plus were the food. One thing we didn't know that i also want to inform is that you cant bath at the beach there.

Date of stay: February 2016
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank mikaelbohman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angelika R, Manager at Ibis Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2016

Dear guests,

it is almost impossible to stay in a bungalow, which is surrounded from many palm trees, flower bushes, only 60 m to the ocean and 150 m to the lagoon, without having a wild animal inside from time to time. And if you keep food in the room, of course a mouse like to come.
You moved from the bungalow to an ac room, because you wanted to have ac. The price was clear before. If it was to expensive for you, why you stayed so long? In the main season it is not easy to find a cheap ac room.
The power cut is not our mistake. There was a repairing going on at the main line. So whole Tangalle had not power. That´s why there was no ac and no wifi, of course. In the night, we switch of the wifi, otherwise not only our guests are using it.
The taxi to Ella is 9000,- Rupien. The Lonely Planat is may be not up to date?! If you had to pay a different price, please complain to the taxi, because the taxi is not our business.
If you walk 8 min from Ibis Guesthouse on the beach to the right you can swim very well.
Best wishes!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 January 2016

Highly recommended, extended our stay twice.

Well located at the broad white sand beach in the less busy area of Tangalle beach.

Rooms are basic, but clean and equipped with fans and good mosquito nets over the comfortable beds. Warm water showers. Rooms get cleaned on request.

Very relaxing with 4 big day beds, several hammocks between big palm trees and sunloungers.

Own restaurant with good quality food and nice breakfast, lunch, dinner selections with fruits and ice cream dessert options. Coffee and tea come in big pots. Personnel serves food even to the day beds. Several restaurant options nearby.

Management is very friendly, supportive, and keen to help with any requests incl. transfers and day trips.

Tips are donated to the nearby Eliya children's home managed by the German co-owner.
Recommendation: a separate tip box for the service personnel might help boosting motivation in busy times.

Room tip: Best view on the sea: rooms above the restaurant; Calmer rooms: in garden area
Date of stay: January 2016
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oasisinside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 January 2016

We didn't stay at Ibis, but we had a scrumptuous breakfast and dinner there just about every day of our one-week stay in Tangalle. A unique place to dine, because it's quiet , balmy, nicely lit, and a stone's throw from the surf. The food is beautifully served. On the last day, we treated ourselves to lobster. And if, after several weeks in Sri Lanka, you are desperate for good European coffee, this is the place to get it.

Date of stay: December 2015
Thank marijke2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 November 2015

Nice resort, right on the beach. They have different kind of rooms, we stayed in one of the bungalows which was great. ‘Garden’ is nice: little palm trees, hammocks, lounge chairs, the works. Restaurant/bar area is quite big and robust. Friendly staff and owners, they speak good English and can arrange everything. Food is fine, enjoyed the fish of the day, fresh out of the water. Coming from Tangalle I guess it’s the last resort you’ll pass, so you definitely need a tuc-tuc, which will cost you 200 rps. The only setback for us (with a small child) was that the sea at Ibis was too rough to swim, so we had to walk about 15 - 20 minutes along the beach to find a better place (which was still so-so for a kid). Actually the rough sea was a problem almost everywhere along the south coast. But we were told sea conditions at Ibis improve in december, and for adults it’s okay anyway. All together excellent place.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank friestijl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews