We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Sevana Agro(Pinnawala)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$20
Booking.com
View Deal
Villa Pinnawala(Pinnawala)
Free cancellation until 07/22
US$44
US$38
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cafe Pinnalanda(Pinnawala)(Great Value!)
US$23
US$20
Priceline
View Deal
US$32
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Pinnalanda(Pinnawala)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (8)
Filter reviews
8 results
Traveler rating
7
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
7
1
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscooking classsri lankathe riverhostsdungridinglunch
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 8 of 8 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018 via mobile

There's a lot of elephant places in Sri Lanka, mainly for riding and a few other places that combines "saving" the animals with riding. After a lot of research we decided to go to the freedom project since we do not want to contribute to animal cruelty. And, it was amazing.
We took a walk with Nilame (elephant), we gave him a shower and when he went for a quick nap we got a cooking class for real sri Lankan food (delicious!). After lunch we went to the river where Nilame was taking a bath. He loved to be scrubbed and taken care of! Then we went to the dung factory which was interesting, but one of the most fun parts of the day was when we got to a local English school and sat down with the students to practice their English! So much fun. I was actually a bit sore in my mouth muscles in the evening from smiling and laughing the whole day! Guide , chef and elephant keeper was excellent. Do this and help save more elephants from tourist attractions!!! And do a full day:) it's worth it.

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Frida E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 February 2018 via mobile

What a great day we spent at the Elephant Freedom Project. Nilame was an amazing elephant. I felt so lucky to be able to spend time walking with him and bathing him in the river, which he really loved.
The Elephant Freedom Project puts Nilame as their No1 priority which is refreshing to see. My boyfriend and I picked this place because the elephant is not chained and you cannot ride on it. Riding on an elephant can be very uncomfortable for the elephant and it is just cruel. We saw the scars on Nilames back from where the seat had been when he was at the riding place. Very sad.
I can not rate this place highly enough and would advise anyone wanting to see an elephant while in Sri Lanka to go to the Elephant Freedom Project.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Lesley O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 December 2017

My friend and I visited the Elephant Freedom Project for a day in December. The hosts at the Elephant Freedom Project made us feel very welcome and at home.

We had a lovely time with Nillame and enjoyed washing him, feeding him and walking him. It was refreshing to see the elephant owner talk to Nillame and guide him rather than use force or pain. We had a very good guide who told us lots of facts about elephants. We learnt so much from that day (we still talk about these facts now!) and we have such fond memories.


We would recommend the Elephant Freedom Project to anyone looking to spend time with a happy elephant in his natural environment. Nillame looked very peaceful, happy and calm.

We have recommended this place to several friends already and would definitely return on our next visit to Sri Lanka.

Enjoy!

Stayed: December 2017, traveled with friends
Thank L_Han243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 27 December 2017 via mobile

The best experience, where the elephants are in a safe environment and not misused and abused. Lovely washing them in the river, taking them for a walk and feeding them! Definitely the best elephant experience ever! And the friendliest tourguides. Defenitely recommend it!

Stayed: October 2017, traveled with family
Thank MeganJoGreeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews