We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hike!”
Review of Kandy Green Tours

Kandy Green Tours
Ranked #8 of 118 Outdoor Activities in Kandy
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Kandy Green Tours is a privet owned trip organizer that arranging day tours in and around Kandy.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children, Lockers / storage
Reviewed 4 August 2018 via mobile

We did the 2 day hike with Sachi. The first day was a bit harder, but Sachi helped really well! The hike was amazing with beautiful views and Sachi knew a lot of nice facts. He didn't talk to much and knew when to tell something. He was really nice and the base camp was also good! The second day was a bit easier but still really beautiful! We went to the rice fields and also had some great views.

I would really recommend to do a hike with Kandy green tours. We arranged everything by email, so we were a little bit anxious that nobody would show up, but on the contrary! He was nice on time at our hotel to pick us up.

Everything is arranged, pick up, food, hike, sleeping place (including sleeping bag), and leechessocks (you're going to need those)

Sachi, thanks so much for the nice trip. It was the best thing we did in our three weeks in Sri Lanka!!

Kind regards
Gert and Jodie

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Jodiedk1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
795sachithrad, Owner at Kandy Green Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write a lovely review on our place! Regards Sachi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (57)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"base camp"
in 8 reviews
"day hike"
in 8 reviews
"knuckles range"
in 11 reviews
"amazing hike"
in 4 reviews
"own pace"
in 4 reviews
"knuckles mountains"
in 3 reviews
"mountain range"
in 3 reviews
"awesome guide"
in 2 reviews
"highlight of our trip"
in 3 reviews
"local village"
in 2 reviews
"arranged everything"
in 2 reviews
"great trip"
in 3 reviews
"adam's peak"
in 2 reviews
"curry"
in 2 reviews
"sri lanka"
in 12 reviews
"sachi"
in 30 reviews
"para"
in 7 reviews
Filter

16 - 20 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2018 via mobile

Sachi was so helpful from my first enquiry and reliable at all times. He arranged for me to join a couple doing the three day Knuckles hike for the first day of their trip (I only had one day left in Kandy). The hike was organised so well. Sachi and a further local guide allowed us to go at our own pace, provided all refreshments (wonderful) and pointed out interesting sights along the way. The landscape is breathtaking and this day was a perfect antidote to the bustle of Kandy. Thankyou so much to Sachi and his team for making this a particularly memorable day on my solo trip.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Lynne_c172
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
795sachithrad, Owner at Kandy Green Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 14 December 2018

Thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
Regards
Sachi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 May 2018

+ Super friendly guides
+ Food and stay at the "basecamp" were exceptional
+ Great lunch
+ Difficulty level was estimated correctly (hard was hard :) )
+ We were able to change routes on demand (flexible)
+ Very diversified routes for every day
+ Not very many other tourists on our routes (in low season)
+ Beautiful nature around Knuckles ranges

- The itinerary for the day was not always clear. It would be great if more information about the route would be given at the start of the day or the night before.

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sachithra d, Owner at Kandy Green Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thanks for the great review :) ++++++
Sorry that you feel the itineraries not clear. we going to update our website with some video clips soon. then it is easy for an idea i think.
thanks again for the useful tip
Regards
Sachi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

We had a great trip with sachi hiking in knuckles. On the first day: through jungle, visiting waterfalls some nice views, through tea plantations. It was probably not the most exciting hiking I have done, nor as demanding as I like, but still very enjoyable. I think we were a bit unlucky with cloud cover which prevented us from getting the best views from certain summits. Obviously there is nothing Sachi can do about the weather and he did give us options along the way. The lunch was local and very tasty. The camping later was great...comfortable foam matresses, nice food, friendly hosts and a nice camp fire.

The next day we walked down through a valley which was full of food producing plants...rice, cardamom, pepper, mango, jackfruit, tamarind (delicious to pick and eat!). We stopped and swam at some nice waterfalls, which was great. And we finished with yet another great meal.

Sachi kindly sent us some nice pics that he took during the trip...he seems to have an eye for a good photo!

I would recommend a trip with Sachi. Our experience was quite light and easy going, but I am sure he can organise more challenging trips if you ask.

Alan Whitaker

Date of experience: April 2018
Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sachithra d, Owner at Kandy Green Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Thank you very much for review us as very good.
we arranged you a hike by avoiding the unnecessary climate. yes we always should accept the nature.
Happy to hear that you enjoying the pictures i got for you :)
Sachi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2018

My boyfriend and I did the hardest option hike we could find with a night in base camp. Had the best time - the hike was a good challenge on day one, and a nice meandering walk on day two, with a swim in the waterfall on the second day. Our guide Ravi was extremely attentive and patient, and we learned heaps about the nature and culture of the country. We stopped to play cricket with some local children, and the camping was very comfortable - the tents are set up in small huts off the ground, clean and even a foam mattress and pillows were provided! So it was glamping really. I would suggest you BYO snacks for during the day as we would have been hungry if we we hadn't - it's a long day on the first day with a large gap between hotel breakfast and packed curry lunch on the hill. I highly recommend this company.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Holly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sachithra d, Owner at Kandy Green Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 1 June 2018

Hi
Happy to hear that you had the best time with us :) Ravi, my friend and the team done the best.
thank you very much for the highly recommending.
Kind Regards
Sachi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kandy Green Tours also viewed

 
Kandy, Kandy District
 

Been to Kandy Green Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing