We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Roman Beach
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Suite Lanka(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbeach Hotel(Hikkaduwa)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (241)
Filter reviews
241 results
Traveler rating
190
40
6
4
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
190
40
6
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschef mangalaa high end restaurantsmall hotelboutique hotel with only roomsno alcohol licencejacuzzi bathssri lankastaff setlobster thermidorshort walkroom fridgefantastic staydoor stepwe loved our stayamazing place to staylocal cuisineunforgettable experience
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 241 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Absolutely lovely small boutique hotel at the beach. Super nice, friendly snd helpful staff and excellent food. Beautiful rooms with sea view, especially from the second floor. The pool is small but absolutely clean and there’s lots of love for the details.
We’ll definitely come back!

Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Fabian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent retreat for much needed rest, relaxation & privacy on the beach. Staff are very friendly & very helpful. Close to all amenities. No alcohol but happy for you to purchase your own, keep in room fridge & bring to the table at no extra charge (saves lots of $s)
Large bed but I think could do with more luxurious mattress & pillows, they were a little too firm.

Room Tip: Only 6 rooms - all great
  • Stayed: March 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantha, Manager at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Barb,

Thank you for the wonderful response. We at Roman Beach are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Roman Beach. Regarding the mattress and pillows, we will look into this, and perhaps get some more plush linen for you to truly enjoy if you do decide to visit us again !

Please do inform and we will arrange a direct booking discount for your stay.

Thank you again !

Yours sincerely –
Romantha De Silva
Director
Roman Hotels
Email: Director@romanhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

We loved our stay at this hotel. Perfect location on a quiet part of the beach, but just a short walk to bars and restaurants. The hotel itself was a relaxing and pretty place to spend a few days. Right on the beach with an awesome pool. The staff were attentive and sincere without being overbearing. We had an emperor room which had amazing high ceiling and a huge balcony. Would absolutely recommend staying here.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank charleynot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantha, Manager at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Dear Traveller,

We would like to thank you very much for your review,

I will pass on the compliments to the staff as well, and appreciate your recognition on the space allocated for the balcony and ceiling

If you do decide to visit us again , please do inform and we will arrange a direct booking discount for your stay.

Thank you again !

Yours sincerely –
Romantha De Silva
Director
Roman Hotels
Email: Director@romanhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at 3 hotels in hikka and Roman beach and villa 46 are both very good.

Staff
They are lovely and can’t do enough for you.

Rooms
Fantastic bright, large and comfy rooms. The bathroom is to die for. I spent hours in the spa bath watching the sun set. The bathroom feels luxurious. There is a fridge which is great as it is very hot and nice to be able to chill water in your room.

Food
I think villa 46 is better but it is still very good and would happily have eaten there every night.

Pool
It’s fab, large, perfectly heated and it is never busy as there are only 8 rooms.

Beach
Just at the start of the quieter end and the sea is rough but perfect to paddle in.

If you can get a room stay here for a night or two before heading home!

Stayed: February 2018
Thank Kep2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantha, Manager at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Dear Traveller,

We would like to thank you very much for your review, we do apologize for the belated reply, however we wished to thank you for your sparkling review.

Regarding your comments in regards to Villa 46, we are taking your information under consideration and will improve upon these caveats to better satisfy you in the future.

If you do decide to visit us again , please do inform and we will arrange a direct booking discount for your stay.

Thank you again !

Yours sincerely –
Romantha De Silva
Director
Roman Hotels
Email: Director@romanhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2018 via mobile

Roman Beach was the destination for our first 5 nights in Sri Lanka... Congratulations to myself because it was the perfect choice.. There is no better destination in Hikkaduwe. It is very stylish with just 6 rooms which are super spacious and a great design. Huge balconies... huge bathrooms with fab showers and huge views from bedroom and bathroom. The pool is lovely and it's so nice that there are maximum 12 people on sunbeds, actually rarely 12 people because some are sure to be out. The beach in front of the hotel is wide and sandy and the sea is wavy. Walk along, as we did every morning, calmer swim places and after 2 km you come to a great snorkeling area... This is where the giant turtles are. Continue a further 600 metres and you are on the local beach but this is where the reef is just off shore. Amazing... If you enjoy snorkeling this is the place. Good visibility.. Best in week as weekends the glass bottom boats are busier. Astounding fish, no drag. Perfect.

Stayed: February 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank brititurkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romantha, Manager at Roman Beach, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2018

Dear Traveller,

We would like to thank you very much for your review, we do apologize for the belated reply, however we wished to thank you for your sparkling review.

If you do decide to visit us again , please do inform and we will arrange a direct booking discount for your stay.

Thank you again !

Yours sincerely –
Romantha De Silva
Director
Roman Hotels
Email: Director@romanhotels.lk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews