We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Elephant Foundation - Surin Project
Save
Review Highlights
majestic animals

It is worth going. to be with elephants. touch one. It is an experience. There is plenty of... read more

Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Leelee C
,
the world
Two faces of Surin

I stayed for a week with Save the Elephants Surin Project. We fed the elephants, bathed them... read more

Reviewed 4 weeks ago
sidcupdiner2016
,
Sidcup, United Kingdom
via mobile
Read all 167 reviews
  
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
135
20
7
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
135
20
7
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thai culture an amazing experience love elephants elephant owners baby elephants these magnificent creatures every morning week volunteering home stay elephant foundation understand why host family small gift riding elephants small village volunteer group volunteer trip
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 167 reviews
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Had chance to visit this small charming city, the temple attractions and also the elephant center project.
It was such a great experience, there are herd of elephant and we were happy to have done this good cause.

Date of experience: March 2017
Thank ChhanV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 February 2017

I volunteered for 1 week at the Surin Project - which aims to inform people and mahouts of alternative options of tourism. It was an amazing experience that allowed us to walk the elephants, bathe them, feed them, and also take pictures without causing them any distress. The village puts on a circus daily, but its not humane the way the elephants apart of it are treated. They are left chained with their feet together, confined to one spot often without food and water for hours. Mind you, the weather is very hot and humid. These elephants are treated in a way that is considered the norm, but the Surin Project is a movement that wishes to change that for the better. I spent my birthday week here and can't wait to do the same next year!

Date of experience: February 2017
3  Thank Ashley Ann W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 February 2017

This seems to be 2 parts to Ta Klang Village. One that entertains the tourists with a kind of circus like show and an elephant santuary. The show is worth watching and you can ride on an elephant if you want to. They have the local and foreigner pricing which annoys me a bit, but the difference is not huge here so it doesn't grate as much. A good project that gives former working animals a place and something to do.

Date of experience: January 2017
Thank JBlack14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 February 2017 via mobile

I stayed at the Surin project for a week in January and it was amazing! It's so unbelievable to see how the elephants and mahouts are together and to see the elephants doing there own thing. It is hard staying here as you have to be near to circus and have to walk past elephants who aren't in the project and are chained however the elephants in the project do make up for it! I just wish more people got involved to make a better like for their elephant. The days were tiring so I slept like a baby at night and the food cooked at night for you is amazing, was the best food I had while I was in Thailand. I would defiantly recommend to anyone thinking of going to the surin project.

Date of experience: February 2017
2  Thank 263laurae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 December 2016

Nice place to visit to really see the animals and handlers up close and their natural habitat. ... not working for food on the streets of Thailand being used for income for the manut

Date of experience: December 2016
Thank BahtMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews