We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,990)
Filter reviews
1,990 results
Traveler rating
1,290
390
160
82
68
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,290
390
160
82
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden suitebarefoot luxuryzeavola staffour honeymoonoutdoor showerbamboo blindsthe beansandy pathsthe general managerphuket marinabean bagsturn down servicelong tailno shoesliving areadiving centerspeedboat transfer
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 1,990 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2018

Not easy to get to so if this is a problem don’t book. Would imagine unless staying in Tonsai most hotels on the island are a tail boat ride away however so nothing different with Zeavola.

Rang them from the mainland to tell them when our bat would be arriving on the island so there would be a long tail boat there waiting to transport us to the hotel. When we got in to Tonsai there were staff From what looked like every hotel on the island yet Zeavola was nowhere to be seen even though we were told someone would be there. Ended up paying 1500baht to get there which wasn’t the best start. When we got to the resort service was excellent. Quickly checked in and in to our villa. Our Villa was first one when we got in to the resort at the back, Would say one of the less private ones due to people coming and going to the pier at the back. Number 53 I think. Still very private though and very rustic and nice inside.

I thoroughly enjoyed the experience with the no shoes, sand pathways etc. Read plenty of reviews before we cam eso knew what to expect. People who have complained do t seem to understand the concept or have read anything about it before they arrived. My only comment would be the outdoor shower in the villas. I used it everyday but thought area it was in was not very luxury and could do with a little attention. Think calling them rustic would be pushing it.

Pool are was nice and hardly every anyone there when we used it. Beach was beautiful. Always seeemd quiet and peaceful. Yes the odd boat comes in and tractor goes along the beach.

Breakfasts was varied and good quality, recommend the smoothies they make with the fresh fruit. We didn’t eat at the restaurant of an evening. We tried the restaurants along the beach front, would say jasmine was the best one we went to. Would recommend walking to the end of the beach and along the small road to the next village called Loh ba Kao, took about 45 minutes to walk but then there a several bars and restaurants and a totally different atmosphere to laem tong beach which was nice for a re are motorbike sidecar type taxis which get you back to the end of Laem Tong beach no probs.

Had a day diving and thought the team were great, really looked after.

We also booked the sunset cruise to bamboo island. Well we tried 3 days in a row but weather wasn’t on our side to get over there but managed to get over on our last night. Long tail broke down on the way over and had to be rescued which wasn’t ideal but couldn’t be helped. Bamboo island was lovely, our own little paradise for the evening. Food provided wasn’t the best, didn’t get much of it either and think some would says it was an expensive trip for what we paid. But then where else could you go and have a meal with a sunset and a location such as that.

Overall enjoyed the experience and our stay. Anyone who reads about the concept and understand it before they book will have a great time.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
2  Thank mstevo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianPhiPhiIsland, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Mstevo,
Thank you for your detailed review and a overall good score. We appreciate that you had an enjoyable time. For future guests let me explain some of the points raised.
We do not have a constant presence at the Tonsai pier to assist our guests, as we do provide speedboat services from Phuket and most of our guests do take advantage of this service. Our Pier staff Khun Sek will be checking you in already in Phuket, the luggage will be take care of from the van to the villa, and the ride is about 1 hour. If you arrive from anywhere else please do contact us and give us your arrival details then we can assist you and make the arrival as smooth as possible.

We will have a look at the outdoor shower to make it nicer.

The Sunset cruise is really one of our special trips being offered to or guests. We are very sorry for the boat braking down, which really is an accident. The food which we are providing during the sunset cruise is not mend to be dinner, they are Tapas to accompany the bottle of wine which is also included in the package.

As you wrote yourself, our hotel is not for everyone. To read about our concept and research about what we provide and what not is very important. Phi Phi island is a remote island even though there is so much traffic. Our location and our sustainable concept is putting some restrains on the service delivery. However 92% of our guests have a positive impression same like you.
Stay healthy and successful
Florian and the Zeavola family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

This hotel was just AWESOME the beach, the staff was nice, the breakfast the best one, it has 2 showers one outdoors and the other one inside, outside this place to chill, you could close the courtains and have your own private Villa.
The food the beach, everything was incredible and exotic hotel

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Panameña Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianPhiPhiIsland, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 18 June 2018

Dear Panamena,
Thank you so much for your excellent review, we appreciate that you had such a good time. Our Restaurant team in Kitchen and in Service is trying hard to create true experiences. It looks like you enjoyed all the different offerings.
We would be happy to welcome you back one day.
Stay healthy and successful
Florian and the Zeavola Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 15 June 2018

Living in Phuket for two years, and this was our first trip out to Ko Phi Phi Don. The boat transfer took 45 minutes or so, we got the buzz of travelling to an far-flung desert island. We were warmly received by the staff at the Royal Phuket Marina and also when arrived at the resort. We loved the rustic design which reminded us of the safari tent in South Africa. The bamboo constructed hut had an open lounge, but the bedroom was enclosed with glass doors and windows and it's air conditioned. The mosquito net draped above the bed and looked romantic.

It's the raining season, we expected to be rained on. Sitting in the restaurant sipping mojito and watching the rain pondering the distant island and the beach was poetic. The food and drinks at the restaurant was really good and creative. The friendly manger not only just exchanged pleasantry but gave us the history of the resort. The eco concept resort requires constant maintenance to upkeep with the rustic feel. We appreciated their effort to go down to basic and use local resources at best they could. The manager shared with us his experience of working in Thailand, he could come to our dinner party anytime!!

We were lucky to have sunny day the next day and we made the most of it by walking the length of the sandy beach to as far as Holiday Inn, and was surprised that the rocky beach in front was teeming with tropical fish and healthy brain corals. I was screaming and laughing in the water out of excitement. We are both divers and was great to be able to see so many colourful fish so close to shore.

We also followed the coastal path to Phi Phil Island Village Resort, the grounds were nice landscaped and we had a really tasty lunch there. It's a good respite from a humid and sweaty walk, the view of the bay with many long-tail boats and visiting yacht was really welcoming.

We enjoyed our short break to Zeavola and surely look forward to going back!!

Stayed: June 2018
Thank Zen1113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianPhiPhiIsland, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2018

Dear Zen1113,
Thank you so much for your good review of the resort. Please allow me to set the record straight our villas and rooms are build from tropical hard wood, not from Bamboo. We do use bamboo curtains to create privacy for the outdoor living room and for the out door shower.

Until now the rainy season did not deliver and we only had very few rains but you are right it is a wonderful time to relax, read some books or play some card games. Thank you for your endorsement of our Restaurant. We are always happy to make our clients satisfied.

Also thank you for your kind comments about my time to see guests and explain them what is close to our heart. Being on a remote island we do have very different challenges than hotels in Phuket or big cities. We need to produce water, clean water and ensure that it goes back in the garden in a proper quality. Our focus is on long term benefits for guests, staff, owners and the local environment which very much under threat. I'm happy to pop by to any dinner party, you know where to find me. :)

Our 5 Star paddy dive Center is always ready to show our guests the best places for diving, snorkeling and touring. there are many hidden places to find interesting Marine wild life, and you have found one of them. With the excellent equipment and the local knowledge my team can create some seriously enjoyable moments under water.

We would love to welcome you back.
Stay healthy and successful
Florian and the Zeavola Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 June 2018

This is our 9th visit in ten years! Yes, that's right! We continue to return to Zeavola every year because this place is so special. It is luxurious and high quality but set in and amongst the trees and the grounds, on sand-laiden paths through palm trees and greenery with soft lighting at night, and all private villas set in their own space....
This hotel is relaxing and beautiful, it's got every amenity that you require. It is romantic, and brings you down to a slow speed to relax, however it has 5 star service and a 5 star restaurant, great cocktails on loungebeds on the beach at sunset, and 6 star service, as the staff can't do enough for you - infact they have become our second family over the years!
If you're looking for a beautiful place to spend some nights relaxing on a clean pristine and private beach that is all to yourselves and the other guests.... looking out amongst crystal clear blue waters, with longtail boats cruising past, and palm trees above you, leading into cocktails on the beach in the afternoon infront of the restaurant on the beach, and then rolling into moonlit dinners on the sand, subtle lighting at night with palm trees swaying above your heads and delicious meals and wine, a wonderful ambience with some quiet music - you've got the picture in your head......
The hotel is based around wonderful villas set amongst the trees which are private but have outside areas and outside bathrooms and yet are comfortable, air-conditioned and private - you really have to be there to experience it, but it is so unique, and it is a little more remote on the far end of Phi Phi Island, but the GM and the staff will look after you and you're in good hands here...… so if you're after something amazing, and something different to write home to your friends about - then this is it!!!
Truly A MUST!!!
Zeavola - we'll see you next year for our 10th Anniversary trip!!!

Room Tip: All the villas have an outside area to relax in, so remember your mosquito repellent and enjoy this unique feature!
  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Noodlesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianPhiPhiIsland, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Noodlesam,
What a delight that you honor us again with an excellent review. It might not be very objective since you came already for your ninth time in 10 years but if anybody can describe our resort correctly it is you and Paul. You both belong to the family and are true friends of the resort and my family. So yes this non solicited review is written by personal friends of mine.
As always you enjoyed all of the hotel, the rooms, the restaurant and your favorite place the beach. You both are enjoying our barefoot luxury and you just perfectly fit into our offerings.
We are grateful to have your support and your love for this place, this beach and the Zeavola Family.
We wish you health ( especially you Paul) and success so that we can see each other for the 10th time next year in April.
Lots of Love
Florian and the Zeavola Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 7 June 2018

We only booked 4 nights at Zeavola and ended up staying for 7. It's the type of place that you literally never want to leave. The location is on the quiet North East tip of Phi Phi, far away from the craziness of Tonsai Pier. If you are looking for a beach-front resort with a quiet beach where they serve you drinks while relaxing the day away, this is your spot. We went snorkeling 3 times, had couples massages 3 times, and spend many hours relaxing on the water in our floaties. I highly recommend the spa!!! The staff was absolutely 5 star service, the rooms were clean and beautiful, the beds/pillows super comfortable, and turn-down service every night includes a little gift for you each night! I especially loved how the rooms/villas are all located in the rainforest, which is only a 100 yard walk from the beach. Lastly, the free breakfast is outstanding and each night you eat dinner right on the beach. We ate at the resort 7 nights in a row and never got tired of the menu. We're already planning our next visit to Zeavola for next May. We LOVE this spot!

Room Tip: Some rooms have all indoor bathrooms, others have outdoor showers
  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sondi_O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FlorianPhiPhiIsland, General Manager at Zeavola Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Dear Sondi,
We really enjoyed your visit to our shores. first of all the floating Donuts have been just perfect. Your decision was wise as our beach is pretty much the best swimming beach in this entire region during the low season. The Phuket beaches can be very dangerous due to rip tides and the Khao Lak beaches are completely violent.
Both of you really enjoyed life with us, doing 3 trips and 3 spa treatments. With that you should return to your regular life completely relaxed and re-energized so that you can conquer your world once again, to be successful.
Thank you for your kind comments about our staff and the team. I personally enjoyed our discussions about South East Asia and the Historical aspects of the different countries. Really disucssion.
to you both Stay healthy and successfull. We would be delighted to have you back some day.
Florian and the Zeavola Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews