We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO NOT STAY!!!!!”
Review of Tohko Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tohko Beach Resort
Ranked #24 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed January 2, 2018 via mobile

We checked in on the 30th, somewhat concerned after reading all the negative reviews. A man picked us up of the pier to take us across to the hotel. It is not near to the hub of Phi Phi and you are literally deserted.
They fully take advantage of this, a bottle of water is 30b when it’s 10 everywhere else.

We checked in and had booked a family room with a sea view as I was travelling with my brother so two separate beds. They kept asking us to move rooms as ‘to big to big. The room was very very basic to say the least. We paid for aircon and even though there is a unit in the room, it doesn’t work. A man who was the ‘manager there’ refunded us the difference and said that the hotel had been closed for two months and changed owners. Stains on all the bedding, no hot water, awful shower, Ants EVERYWHERE. Holes in mosquito nets, the only good thing about the place is the view. There is nothing at all to do there. Do not stay here if you want to see the island, dive or take any tours.

We got the 12.30 boat back round to the pier on NYE (which finally came at 2pm). If we had any excursions booked we would have missed them. We made the decision to book into a hostel for The night to try and enjoy the experience. The hostel cost 1,000b for the night and was much cleaner and more equipped than the hotel we had paid 12,000b for for 4 nights!

We met 6 other people at 5pm to collect the 5.30 boat back to tohko at the pier and looked for the sign, it never showed up. Not a single Taxi boat wanted to take us back as it was ‘too choppy’ We called the hotel who tried to tell us that they had been at 5.30 and no one was there, utter rubbish. They then refused to send a boat out initially. We finally got someone to take us back at 7.30 in the pitch black. Absolute joke. The manager was more concerned that we refused to pay the boat man than the fact they had just left 8 paying customers stranded!

We packed our bags that night and checked out at 8am the following morning a day early. No sorry, nothing. The manager refused to refund us saying we needed to go through agoda.

To top it off my brother was sick on the crossing back and neither of us were well that day from the food the previous day. He’s been travelling for 2 months round Thailand, Vietnam and Cambodia and has not been ill once until staying here.

I repeat, DO NOT STAY HERE.

Stayed: January 2018, traveled with family
1  Thank hayley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (383)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 383 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2017 via mobile

Out of my whole trip this one was the worst. It was not worth the amount they charge.
Out of all the huts available I was given the worst hut. They gave me bamboo hut instead of the cement ones that had big red ants all over the bathroom. On asking to why I was not given the cemented one like the others, the response was not available.
The BEACH area maintained by the resort is dirty. Don't feel like walking on it.
Food is awful. Me being a vegetarian, had to spend night empty stomach.
Walking inside the hut without slippers would not be a recommendation as the nails might prick your feet.
Overall, we were just glad we had only one day to spend here.
Would not recommend this beach resort.

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Ruchika B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2017 via mobile

Dont' go to this hotel, there is no road, only by boat and the price is fixed.(800 baths)

Food quality is very bad and all drinks or foods are very expensive.

The boss was fighted with a customer for nothing a french guy who aksed to leave the hotel as soon as possible.

Doors are very good, but there is a probleme with screws are rusty and it stains white clothes ...

Poor service, there is an old woman not nice whi speak only Thai and three other persons and only the boss has a little english ...

We stayed only two days but it stay a very very bad experience !!

Stayed: June 2017
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2017

If you're looking to be cut off from the world, this is your spot. There's only 2 ways to get here, 1. climbing through the jungle or 2. water taxi. There are a lot of mosquitoes and creepy crawlies, which is to be expected when you're in an open bungalow. We actually switched to a closed air conditioned bungalow because we couldn't handle all the spiders we were seeing in the original room.

There's pretty much a curfew here. No internet in the rooms, only the main lobby area. Electricity stops working 6am until night time. So no charging phones or laptops. There's also ants everywhere.

However, the private beach and the water being just steps away from you is amazing.

  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Jessica P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2017 via mobile

Having read all the reviews I wasn't sure what to expect & yes there were a few tears on a sheet & a few marks on another but nothing major & a really fabulous place to down tools. You do need to plan your trips into 'town' as if can get expensive. I only noticed afterwards that we'd paid 600baht each for the 5:30pm return I'm assuming as they had no ferry pick ups however on both occasions the man who collected us also stocked up on some supplies. It is a fabulous spot for snorkelling, reading a book or playing games on the beach. Make sure you use their longtail boat within the times provided as it can get really expensive hiring a longtail from the pier also if the weather changes after 5:30pm you'll end up having to get accommodation for the night!
We did a fantastic trip with Roshanna tour. It left at 10am & was back at 4:45pm so excellently times for our stay - that seemed to be the only tour we could do but it was amazing - 1500baht pp & less for under 12's. We saw all the sites around PhiPhi & the tour guides were fantastic too.
We stayed in a 2 double bed cottage on the beach which was perfect for 2 adults 1 child. There are no cupboards for storage so it can get messy & difficult trying to find stuff but for 3 nights we coped fine.

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
Thank aussievivd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
1.9 km away
Phi Phi Hotel
Phi Phi Hotel
#6 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
917 reviews
1.3 km away
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
Phitharom Phi Phi Resort
#31 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
217 reviews
1.7 km away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Chong Khao Bungalow
Chong Khao Bungalow
#21 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
99 reviews
1.3 km away
Gypsy Sea View resort
Gypsy Sea View resort
#22 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
307 reviews
2.1 km away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#17 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tohko Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tohko Beach Resort

Address: Moo 8, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: ₱2,765 - ₱4,956 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Tohko Beach Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Tohko Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Toh Ko Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing