We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice beach hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa
Ranked #35 of 85 Hotels in Ko Lanta
Reviewed February 27, 2017

Check-in was ok even though the staff did not speak very clear English. Got an upgrade to the family pool side suite. Room was big and had a nice decor. Wooden floors and large bathroom plus balcony towards the pool. The lighting in the room was a bit poor though and there was only one bedstand reading lamp. Asked for another but didn't get one. The air conditioning worked but seemed to always be blowing at full power which kept to noise level high. Beds were comfortable and had all basic amenities including bath robs etc. Room also had a mini kitchen with microwave oven.

Hotel has two pools and a beach restaurant. There was a surprising amount of families with kids at the resort. Lots of Swedish families with kids. That's fine but at moments the kids took over the pool areas and felt like being in a kindergarden playground with kids yelling and playing around. The beach side was a bit more calm. The beach is fantastic and location of hotel good.

Generally, it's a good family hotel. However, its 15 years old and a bit worn out here and there. Staff was mostly friendly but some restaurant and reception staff did not speak good English and seemed a bit tired/unattentative. Mosquitos at sunset can be annoying so bring repellent.

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Helsinkiglobus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 371 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2017 via mobile

We have been here in hour trip to koh lanta,and everything was above the perfection, the resort is well directed, spacious basic room with confortable bed. Really nice swimming pool and staff always smiling. Only recommended. Thanks for your hospitality

Stayed: November 2016, traveled as a couple
1  Thank lonsdaletravel980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2017

Stayed here for 13 nights in a superior room, located amongst the palm trees in the older part of the resort.
Rooms were large, reasonably clean but the atmosphere in the rooms is dark and dreary. Furniture is old and should have been replaced at least 20 years ago. Sound proofing between rooms is virtually non existent, you can here every noise, even the person next yawning.
The wash basin is located in the lounge/ bedroom, which is very inconvenient and for some reason there is no extractor fan in the bathroom, only a roof vent.
The grounds are well kept, clean and tidy. Breakfast was good. Staff are helpful and polite.
Lots of places to eat and drink along the beach. This hotel is in a good location.
We used the spa twice and would highly recommend it, staff are professional and well trained.
Superior rooms in the original part of the hotel really let this resort down.

Room Tip: Do not choose garden superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank June c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2017

We stayed 4 nights at the Royal Lanta by the end of October 2016. The place is lovely, the layout is ideal if you are looking for a chill out time. Our room was spacious, with a decking area at the front. The bathroom also big and comfortable. The room has lovely furniture, creating a local, enjoyable atmosphere.
Staff extremely friendly and attentive. Cleaners were really fast and efficient.
Two nice swimming pools, surrounded by well cared green areas. The hotel is beach front, there are plenty of restaurants both sides, we did not book breakfast due to the bad reviews. The restaurant was almost empty for breakfast and also for dinner.
We were lucky, as the room next to ours was empty until the last night. Then we realized that the walls were not sound proof at all. We could hear the next door people talking as if they were in our room.
We had a fantastic time at this place, this was our second time in Koh Lanta, it is ideal to spend a relaxing time, and also offers a variety of activities to do. We would recommend the Royal Lanta and for sure, would stay there again. We moved to another resort after 4 days, it was a pity we did not book this place for our 8 days in Koh Lanta.

  • Stayed: October 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patricia_viajera2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2017

We arrived excited after seeing the nice pictures on the internet.

Unfortunately, our room was not as expected. We had booked a Superior villa and although the villa/room looked nice, we immediately saw that this room needed some renovation.

There was mold on the ceiling in the bathroom, the fluorescent light in the bathroom was not working, the shower was cold, the shower head needed replacement and there was leakage damage in the room itself.

Due to the aforementioned, we asked the reception if we could get another room. The staff was courteous and were able to allocate us another room. Regrettably, it was a twin room and not a double as mentioned. And although this room looked a little bit better, this one also needs renovation.

Despite the old rooms, the resort itself is nice. It has a pretty view with a beautiful sunset. It's good they offer a 20 min complimentary massage, I wish it lasted longer.
Breakfast is okay, but please, please teach your staff some basic English. Four restaurant staff members didn't know what a boiled/cooked egg was!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chrssz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ko Lanta hotels
1.1 km away
Twin Bay Resort
Twin Bay Resort
#21 of 85 in Ko Lanta
528 reviews
2.2 km away
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
Lanta Sand Resort and Spa
#15 of 85 in Ko Lanta
491 reviews
0.6 km away
Costa Lanta
Costa Lanta
#26 of 85 in Ko Lanta
277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 km away
MOONLIGHT Exotic Bay Resort
1.4 km away
Crown Lanta Resort & Spa
5.6 km away
Chaw Ka Cher Tropicana Lanta Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Lanta Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Lanta Resort and Spa

Address: 222 Moo 3, Khlong Dao Beach | Saladan, Ko Lanta 81150, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Lanta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in Ko Lanta
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Ko Lanta
Price Range: ₱2,212 - ₱15,812 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Lanta Resort and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa is on an idyllic island, yet with shops and restaurants close by and convenient for Krabi airport. The stylish traditional villas and unit building , each with its own balcony and sun loungers, are close to the two pools, yet the nearby pavilion-style restaurant and bar is right on the sand. Enjoy our 'Coral Leaf Spa'. Sample our freshly-baked pastries in the 'Sea Cow Cafe' and keep in touch via the free Wi-Fi! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Lanta Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Lanta Hotel Ko Lanta
Hotel Royal Lanta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing