We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach
Nearby Hotels
Twin Bay Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$26
US$25
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$86
US$74
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$77
US$62
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Lanta Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$27
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lanta Just Come(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$18
US$11
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Thai House Beach Resort(Ko Lanta)(Great Value!)
US$11
US$10
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lanta Resort(Ko Lanta)
US$32
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$191
US$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pimalai Resort and Spa(Ko Lanta)
US$178
US$171
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$131
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (54)
Filter reviews
54 results
Traveler rating
37
11
5
0
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
37
11
5
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmini martrent motorbikesminute walkwe loved our staygreat locationgreat place to staylong beachhot waterone nightthe main roadpunmidrangeroachesfridgescooterbathroomwifi
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 54 reviews
Reviewed 28 November 2017 via mobile

Visited here with my other half for 3 nights. Arrival was pleasant, room was very clean and tidy. Love the idea of having separate rooms rather than being in a block with rooms on top of one another.

One of our windows didn’t lock which was a little worrying for us but proved not to be a bother because my partner managed to fix it himself. Room was cleaned the next day but all they seemed to do was make the bed and fold our towels, no toilet roll replaced or floors swept etc. Also sad to see that we weren’t given some water in the room like we had in the last 4 hotels we stayed in.

Bathroom seemed a bit of an afterthought. There isn’t actually a drain for the shower, it’s just a pipe and a hole in the corner of the room (which by the way bugs can get in and out of, I found a cockroach crawling out one night). Also when we had a shower the water literally got on everything - toilet, toilet roll, towels, bin, everything was soaking.

Really convenient that they offer laundry and scooter/bike rental as well as free tea, coffee, toast and bananas, and cold drinks can be bought from the fridge - although choice is limited.

We gave in our washing on a Sunday and was told it would be ready the next afternoon. Went to collect the washing the next night and they were laughing amongst themselves and said ‘tomorrow morning’. I asked the next morning and they said it still wasn’t ready, ‘later’ was what I was told yet again. They told us they were ironing our washing when we asked again, but my boyfriend noticed it was sitting in a bucket next to reception still damp and on doing so he told them to sort this. They retrieved 2 irons and began to finish the washing we gave 2 days ago.

Location is also convenient, close to beach, restaurants and a couple of minimarts too.
All in all, hotel wasn’t too bad but I do feel cheated out of £70.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank hb2015x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lantasmileresort, ผู้จัดการทั่วไป at Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Thnk you for you advice...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights with my girlfriend in June, the staff were extremely helpful and nice. The room was pretty basic but can not complain for the price, very close to the beach. had fully working air con, shower, tv. We rented scooters off the hotel, they were low price but high quality. Booked our boat and other travels through the hotel and they were extremely helpful. Fully recommend if you are travelling on a budget!

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lantasmileresort, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your visit. Hope we can meet again.

best regards
lantasmilresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 June 2017 via mobile

After reading a number of reviews we had high hopes for our stay. Unfortunately we felt almost like a mild inconvenience. Its low season and it seemed like they had closed up shop. No dinner, no breakfast, no drinks and no water bottles in the room.

When we asked about water we were told the supplier had closed. We did eventually get one bottle and were told there would be bottles the next day. Nothing day 2 either. Again we asked and were told in 30 minutes. Nothing arrived and it wasn't until we asked again hours later that one bottle then a second appeared.

WiFi was non-existent (supplier issue) requiring us to make our onward plans or check if restaurants were open out at lunch or dinner.

As another reviewer mentioned the bathroom had a musty slight sewer smell. An we were in the best room.

3 stars as we can only assume from previous reviews that it's much better in high season. If you love cabins at a caravan park you like this.

It's a shortish walk to the beach and there's a mini mart close by.

The beach itself was dirty (heaps of rubbish and seaweed/mangroves) and uninviting. In low season it apparently doesn't get cleaned and almost all the beach front places are closed up.

Breakfast at Captains Bakery and dinner at Auntie Tode next door to the bakery were both excellent.

Would not however recommend visiting Koh Lanta in the low season.

Stayed: June 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank SandB-Syd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lantasmileresort, เจ้าของธุรกิจ at Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

We appreciate your suggestions. We will improve and improve.
Best regards
lantasmileresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 30 April 2017 via mobile

The thing I absolutely loved in this place was the staff. They really showed that they're here for their guests. And if we ever needed anything, all we needed to do was ask.
The little cottages definitely topped off the whole experience. The concept of having a private little bungalow was awesome. If you are used to 5-star hotel standards, this might be a little different experience for you. The best thing about this place is that its character is really down-to-earth, like its owners and employees. And although the resort itself does not have a pool, the beach is right next to it, about 150 meters away - the resort itself is located on the road that leads to the ocean.
Only minor thing I noticed while staying at the resort was the mild smell in the bathroom, that was probably due to the air moisture. I did not mind it at all, since I have experienced a lot worse. And you'll get used to it. It will not ruin your stay here. Just remember, if you experience anything inconvenient that bothers you, please let the staff know about the issues. They will also guide you with anything you need. They are here for YOU.
Next time when we're travelling to Lanta, we are definitely coming back to this resort! I cannot describe how much I loved staying here. I love these people!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Sara-Marja K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lantasmileresort, ผู้จัดการ at Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your visit. Hope we can meet again.

best regards
lantasmilresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

We were supposed to be here only for one night, but this place is so awesome and staff is so friendly that we spent four nights overall! If you're coming to Ko Lanta please, try this and you wont regret it. Staff is very very helpful and nice. Location is great. Rooms are clean. If I ever come back to Thailand this will be my place. I didn't even want to leave! :)
They don't have a pool, but it doesn't need to because the beach is so close.
I have to say one more time about the staff, that they're super friendly and make you feel very welcome!

Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Joonas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lantasmileresort, ผู้จัดการ at Lanta Smile Resort @Long Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2017

Thank you for your visit. We want you to be warm like your home.
Hope we can meet again.

best regards
lantasmilresort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews