We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Panoramic Getaway(Chithirapuram)
US$106
US$103
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
US$61
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$79/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$125
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Abad Copper Castle Hill Valley Resort(Pothamedu)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Alhind Residency(Munnar)(Great Value!)
US$19
Booking.com
View Deal
Aminas cottage(Munnar)(Great Value!)
US$26
US$25
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
The Fog Resort & Spa(Chithirapuram)
US$105
US$84
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Anna Homestay(Chithirapuram)(Great Value!)
US$40
US$24
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (309)
Filter reviews
309 results
Traveler rating
168
74
28
18
21
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
168
74
28
18
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsswimming poolmr aniljungle safarimud housenearby waterfallmunnar townbeautiful waterfallrock climbingtea estateremote locationmother naturelove natureserene atmospherecity lifelocal cuisinehomely foodheaven on earth
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 309 reviews
Reviewed 6 June 2018

This hotel is expensive in terms of accommodation in India. The location is fantastic, but the accommodation is shoddy and VERY damp. The cottage we were given had mould growing on the walls and ceilings. We asked for a different room, which was just as bad. These shacks are not designed to sustain the weather. I am not a hotel snob and enjoy camping in the rain in England. But I feel that first and foremost a room should be clean and dry. Even the bed linen was damp. The bathrooms are just wet rooms, a shower head, bucket and jug. We left after two hours and booked somewhere else, choosing to lose our money rather than stay there. Very disappointing.

Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank HappeeGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seetharamankc, Owner at Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

We have been having guests in our property who have been appreciating our facilities after staying there for two or three days some extend their stay and others keep coming back. This gentleman never stayed in our property. He only saw the cottages and left saying that he would like to stay in Munnar town. We had other guests in the same cottages on that day and there were no complaints. It is highly disappointing for us also that a person without even staying in our property has made a judgement which is highly unacceptable.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 12 May 2018

The hotel is located at a very nice location. Falls is vissible from the resort .staffs and manager of the resort is very polite and friendly. Everything is best at this resort. Food is very nice but they have very very limited option. During our two days stay we didnt get idly/dosa. Night we were limited to chappathi parotta in tiffin items then fried rice noodles other chinese items are available. Morning we got poori bread omlet and puttu only. Quality and taste of the food is awesome but items are limited. All other things about this resort is very good.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Vijayapreethi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seetharamankc, Owner at Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2018

Thanks for your kind review . We do have an a la carte menu items of which can be ordered.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 April 2018 via mobile

Far away at a distance
The gurgling waterfall gets lost
Among the TEA gardens of the 19 th century.
Tall moist deciduous trees paint the
sky grey..
A grey of blue and love
kissing the horizon .
A Smokey lazy veil spreads over the
Shy hills..
She can only spread love and solidarity.
They are alive to the sounds of
the ever so ENCHANTING universe.
Not yet trapped in urban literacy,
The environs give away a bounty
of joys,
Dotted with surreal and real SURPRISES..
For the eyes to behold and ears to listen.
Touch upon the bounty with your inner eyes,
Do not litter or break the silence...
Serenaded the mountains...
Leave your worries at my feet..
Churn out memories ...and we shall again meet..

Grace SithaRaman.
18th APRIL. '18.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
2  Thank Toastmaster S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seetharamankc, Owner at Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2018

Thank you for your wonderful poem Grace and hope to see you back soonest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 April 2018 via mobile

This resort is a long way from anywhere but it is pretty spectacular! Well worth the long bumpy drive to find yourself in a jungle paradise.

The resort is up a very steep track and it's like suddenly finding heaven on earth....from the stunning flora and fauna, to the amazing scenery and sounds of wildlife.

We had the large room with two double beds and balcony facing the waterfall, and it was top notch. We arrived late but a meal had been saved for us, and the breakfast the next morning was delicious.

There is a beautiful waterfall and lake within 20 minutes walk. The entrance fee is very small, and you can then swim in the lake for as long as you please. The walk past the tea plantations is lovely too.

The pool has a wild feel to it and swimming whilst gazing at the hills and tea plantations is deliciously romantic. It struck me that this idyllic resort would be fantastic for honeymoons, being literally in the middle of nowhere and so exotic.

Word of warning...if you can't abide bugs, keep your bedroom door closed!

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
Thank joobags12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seetharamankc, Owner at Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

We are grateful for your kind review and we expect you to visit us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 11 April 2018

First off- this resort is not in Munnar- which is one of the best things about it! Instead, it is set around 45 mins from Munnar, down a tiny road, surrounded by gorgeous, gorgeous greenery on all sides! The views are breathtaking. Thanks to its position of height the whole valley can be seen. The rooms were basic, but clean and well kept (no need for air con thanks to it's height- and actually we ended up turning the fan off, even in April!) The temperature was perfect. The food is tasty, the staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. Beautiful gardens surround the resort, which has a gorgeous pool and several hammocks to chill out in. We went to Munnar on a day trip, and it made us so happy to be staying out at Wild Elephant, the location is just so much better. A very beautiful place to chill out!

  • Stayed: April 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seetharamankc, Owner at Wild Elephant Eco Friendly Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2018

Thanks for your kind review. We assure you our best services and hope to see you visiting us again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews