We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (327)
Filter reviews
327 results
Traveler rating
88
130
67
25
17
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
88
130
67
25
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fish cook s bay french polynesia french channels four wheel drive allo pizza tiny beach beachfront bungalow the water's edge car or scooter star property magic mountain stayed nights private beach other resorts pier swimming
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 327 reviews
Reviewed 13 September 2018

The location of the hotel is perfect. We woke each day in our delightful well-maintained beachfront bungalow to spectacular views across Cook's Bay and cruise ships that had moored overnight. Staff are welcoming and well-informed. The spacious hotel restaurant/bar set over the water, served a delicious variety of choices - breakfast, lunch and dinner, by friendly staff. Good wine/cocktail choices. Do the Albert's 4WD tour to Magic Mountain and other scenic spots. Unforgettable. Quite the thrill ride at times!

Room tip: Beachside bungalow, but all accom is close to water.
Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Denise R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 31 July 2018

I was a bit surprised to discover H.K. was closer to the shopping area of the town and not surrounded by beaches rather buildings. My all over feeling about the hotel is " fine, but not what I expected" . I was first given a small bungalow on the very small beach, behind the dining area,felt isolated..I was able to move to the other side which I would recommend..more greenery, more activity although no beach as such.

The staff was helpful, the restaurant was fine with a lovely view of Cook's Bay. The cottages are very clean with a nice front porch. The electricity is controlled by the small card attached to the key chain; consequently the refrig goes off when you leave...so no cooled drinks for your return!

The price is right, so as long as you your expectations are reasonable you'll be fine, this is an older hotel. A car or scooter rental is recommended.

Room tip: ask for the cottage area with the sea wall, ocean view
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SeafoodLover432
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

This was our 1st time on Moorea and we liked the island. We did have some unexpected issues. 1st -was the water in Cook’s Bay is not the stereotypical crystal blue. By no means is it not beautiful but on the other side of the island it is gorgeous. 2nd- the Hotel did not credit our booking with Agoda and we had to work out the details while we were in Bora Bora. Not something you want to do while on vacation. It also tied up funds from my husbands credit card for a week while we were on vacation. This was not our fault and the hotel did not offer any compensation for the international service fee or for our trouble.
3rd - My husband contracted Dengue Fever while here. It is and awful fever and can be serious. Lucky we were on the way home.

Not sure we would be back but it was a nice room, very basic. Take some time when deciding.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank AllieJosie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kavekaMoorea, Front Office Manager at Hotel Kaveka, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Guest – thank you for taking the time to post this review concerning your experience here at the hotel – we really appreciate your feed-back, nevertheless we would simply like to contribute to your comments so as to put your remarks in context with the reality of what really happened.

Please visit our website at www.hotel Kaveka.com and the many other websites hosting reviews and you can find contradictions to your statement concerning the quality of our beach and lagoon; this is in relation to you comment that our water is not stereotypical crystal blue.

The issue you had with your reservation that you processed thru a website provider was initially due to your own fault, as according to our files you made numerous reservations that of course created confusion upon check-in. This mainly due to the fact that during the check-in procedure you produced the wrong website provider vouchers (that you had prior to your arrival already cancelled) Of course initially we did not understand why we could not collect payment due to the fact that you had mistakenly presented upon arrival the already cancelled vouchers. After numerous phone calls with your website provider did we finally sort this matter out.

Also even though this issue was not our fault, we nevertheless apologized for the inconvenience this may have caused to all parties.

Thank you for visiting our property and hopefully one day you will visit our islands again.

Life is Paradise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We stayed in one of the lagoon facing bungalows. It was spacious, clean and in good condition. The staff here are very friendly and the restaurant is very good. Situated on a pier so you can look over an see the fish while you are enjoying the meal. We were celebrating our wedding anniversary and when the staff found out they made it a very special night for us. We enjoyed this hotel as it was quite and very relaxing and in a good location.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank Luffers10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 March 2018

I took a group of people, a few years ago. I went back last year with my family. The place is simple but very nicely situated. The bungalows are nice. Mine was a brand new garden one and the shower room was amazing. Just walk through the garden and you are next to the sea. If you don't have a car you can take the shuttle organised by Kaveka and go to the nearest place with a cafe and a few shops. It is complimentary. The staff is nice and very helpful. it was all we needed for a great relaxing time in Moorea!

Date of stay: July 2017
3  Thank nathalierp2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews