We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,396)
Filter reviews
3,396 results
Traveler rating
2,130
861
234
104
67
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,130
861
234
104
67
Show reviews that mention
All reviews overwater bungalow our honeymoon fish french polynesia vue bar beach bar rented a car dinner buffet outdoor shower travel agent beautiful property dive shop entire stay snorkel gear ferry terminal dream come true bucket list
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 3,396 reviews
Reviewed 19 November 2018

We stayed for 4 nights in a Lagoon Front room - an excellent choice - we choose it as OWBs were fully booked as was the whole hotel even though it was not the high season (early November). The location of the hotel is excellent - close to the airport and the ferry terminal and (as you would expect) right on the beach - with excellent snorkelling right off the beach. Overall the hotel really needs some refurbishment to maintain it's 5* rating but in all fairness I would say the price reflects this (e.g. it is much less expensive than the Hilton).

Now onto the detailed pros and cons:-

Pros:-

- Good location and excellent beach
- Grounds very well maintained
- Professional and friendly staff (but, see later, significantly understaffed in the restaurant)
- In spite of resort showing it's age - rooms themselves are well maintained
- Welcoming bottle of Champagne in the room on arrival (we're Accor Plus members)
- Housekeeping amazingly responsive to even small requests

Cons:-

- Resort needs overall refurbishment
- Seemingly temporary roof over the main restaurant (huge plastic tarpaulin) needs to replaced with the thatched roof in the photos - it seems to have been in place a long time - makes the whole bar/pool/restaurant area look downright tacky
- food in the main restaurant was somewhat hit or miss (quality-wise) and twice one of us received the wrong meal (which was replaced)
- One evening the restaurant was so understaffed it was totally chaotic - people were either just leaving without eating or going to the bar to at least get a pre-dinner drink. We asked the manager the next morning at breakfast (as she was walking around asking guests if they were having a good time) what happened - she responded that some staff had not shown up for work. This was amazing (to us) as the staff who were serving the previous evening were working extremely hard and remained totally professional even though you could see they were embarressed by the situation. And if staff were absent - why wasn't management filling in.
- The water sports centre need refurbishment - it looks quite crummy. We did a snorkelling trip (the one where you use water scooters) which was fantastic - the boat driver and the guide (sorry I did not make a note of their names) - highly recommended . We were told when booking there would be 6 people maximum however their were 8.

Anyway - i would still recommend the Sofitel as value for money and great location - the main thing that needs to be addressed is the roof on the dining area and understaffing in the restaurant.

Date of stay: November 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank luxury-lizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMHV, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2018

Ia ora na and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
We are delighted that you have found your corner of paradise at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora: good location, beautiful beach, professionnal and friendly staff, housekeeping service.
We will take your feedback into consideration in order to improve. We hope to welcome you again very soon!
Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 November 2018

Just returned from a 2 week stay in 4 islands. Sofitel was our first stop. We stayed in a luxury beach front bungalow and it was perfect. The room was very nice and spacious. The bed was dreamy such a great night sleep every night. The beach was perfect the best one in Moorea. Friendly staff and high end service from housekeeping to reception. We loved everything about this island. Great snorkeling pretty much in front of our beach. We had perfect weather everyday but come 2:00 p.m. the winds come and the mountain brings in the cloud coverage at the beach. We walked over to the public beach next to us and it was great, no wind and sun in the water til almost 5:00 p.m the locals were so friendly and purchased some food from the food trucks there on the weekends, true Tahitian flavors very yummy. If you have time rent a car and tour the island it's so beautiful and the beaches were amazing to see the color variation. It's such a beautiful island we loved it.

Date of stay: November 2018
1  Thank LilmamaSoCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSMHV, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2018

A great MAURUURU for this magnificent sharing. Polynesian hospitality and kindness are our strengths and our greatest reward is to see that you have been touched by it.
We are delighted that you have found your corner of paradise at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora: superb bungalows, the most beautiful white sand beach on the island... Once again a big THANK YOU for your comment which goes right to our heart and see you soon at Sofitel Moorea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 14 November 2018 via mobile

We arrived and thought we were in heaven. Staff was exceptional food was good. Should explore outside restaurants options, some will pick up up at hotel. We were blessed to met the GM, she was a fantastic host. The location can not be beat. The beach activities as well as snorkeling were the best. BOOK it you will not regret it

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank surfbax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Generalmanagermoorea, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 November 2018

Ia Orana from Moorea,
A great MAURUURU for this magnificent sharing. Polynesian hospitality and kindness are our strengths and our greatest reward is to see that you have been touched by it.
We are delighted that you have found your corner of paradise at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora: location, the most beautiful white sand beach on the island...
Once again a big THANK YOU for your comment which goes right to our heart and see you soon at Sofitel Moorea.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2018 via mobile

Second visit to this Resort. You can see why they won Worlds Best Luxury Hotel a few years ago. Staff are amazing and location just a dream. Plenty to do if you want o or just idle the day away in one of the over water bungalows. Worth the extra money. Good to see the are strong on the environmental front with the growing and re-planting of coral. There were more fish than 3 years ago. The ability to climb down off your deck and swim with the fish who let you come pretty close to them is an amazing experience.
The wifi is superb around the property and our fridge in the room was always stocked with free drinks.

Hard not to want to come back.

Date of stay: November 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1  Thank KiwiNickJax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Ia ora na from Moorea,
Thank you for your loyalty and for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
We are delighted to have welcomed you to our haven of peace! We hope to see you again very soon! Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 9 November 2018

My husband and I stayed at the Sofitel Ia Ora from Oct. 19 to 27. Getting there was difficult due to American Airlines but our travel agent called the hotel and our room was ready when we arrived, before the normal 3 pm check in. This was much appreciated after our travel difficulties. We had a lovely beachfront bungalow that had a small wall separating us from the water but steps and a ramp were very near so I was able to get into the water to snorkel despite my mobility problems. We have snorkeled in other Pacific waters and still found snorkeling here exciting, seeing fish that looked like they were created foran art gallery, worth the travel to get there! The room itself was fine and we enjoyed our porch with a view when we wanted a break.

The entire staff at the hotel put themselves out cheerfully to see our needs were met at any eating area, the pool or beach. For me the pool was a problem because it had no handrails which I think is a common problem with infinity pools. Staff members offered to get me in and out safely but I declined the assistance and enjoyed the beach instead where I could get in and out to enjoy the wonderful snorkelling.

Other reviews complained about food running out at breakfast. This was never a problem, even though we ate relatively late, because if something was missing all one had to do was ask. The croissants and pineapple were amazing. Of course many other choices were available. Normally I don’t like nutella but crepes with nutella were so popular I tried one and it was delicious. Omlettes were made to order and perfect. Of course the chef was wonderful too, wanting to please everyone and entertaining us in the process. Some Chinese items were also available like congee and dim sum which are favorites of ours so the biggest problem was setting limits and making choices. The steamed buns called Chinese hamburgers containing ground meat are unlike what I would expect but tasty so no complaint.

For dinner we had a special evening at the K restaurant, an evening at the bar where you can order multiple courses from a large menu and most evenings enjoyed the buffet, all very good.

If getting to Ia Ora were easier we would be regular visitors and it should get even better with newly arrived Ms. Annabelle joining the staff and keeping an eye on things. Good luck to her and all of you who choose this resort. You can’t go wrong doing so.

Room tip: probably any, we had 302.
Date of stay: October 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dream755932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2018

Ia Orana from Moorea,
Your comment is just Magnifique ! Mauruuru Roa as we say in Tahitian !
We are so happy that you have been filled by our beautiful resort and by the quality of service of our wonderful Ambassadors. We are happy to read that you enjoyed our Asian foods such as congee and dim sum. The name for the Chinese burger is Chao Pao.
We can not have a better reward than so beautiful a comment. The whole team is very delighted that you had a pleasant stay with us, very touched and happy that you enjoyed their service, which comes from the heart.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews