We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local cuisine”
Review of Junior

Junior
Ranked #26 of 136 Restaurants in Hvar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$6
Cuisines: Croatian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant "Junior" is a family run restaurant in the old town centre. We serve local and organically produced food. "Junior" is a great restaurant if you'd like to taste traditional dishes and to experience truly local Hvar atmosphere.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The food was delicious and service was good. Since it is not the best but one of the best alternative of the local foods. Reservation is easier than the other restaurants in the island and the team was more helpful for arranging the table if you dont have a reservation.

Date of visit: August 2021
1  Thank Scenic16703382387
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (472)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 472 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2021 via mobile

Whilst making our way around the bars situated in the little streets and ally ways amongst the buildings just up from the seafront, we found Junior by chance and it was the perfect choice for the next stop in our bar crawl.

We were staying at the Amfora Beach Resort and asked the concierge for restaurant recommendations,l; one of which was Junior. We were told that this was the place in Hvar to eat the authentic black risotto. He also told us how the restaurant is run by a local family who catch their fish fresh everyday, and it has been in their family for 30 years. We immediately went onto trip advisor and after looking at the menu, we decided we would go and see if we could get a table the next evening.

We walked past at half past six and they were happy to reserve a table for us at half past seven.

We had a fantastic evening! We had 3 dishes between the two of us; the black risotto, the wild boar and Gnocci and the seafood platter (which is meant to be for 2, but our waiter kindly organised for us to have a portion for 1). We would highly recommend the black risotto and the seafood platter, but be aware that the portion sizes are rather big!

There were many people queuing and waiting for a table, and they were all greeted with a drink and a warm welcome which gave it a real atmosphere. Regardless of this, we did not feel pressured to leave by a certain time, and our waiter clearly understood that we wanted to take our time and properly enjoy our food.

As previously acknowledged, our waiter was amazing. We sadly can’t remember his name (we were drinking lots of wine and in a food coma) but we know he was the friend of one of the sons, and had previously worked at the Splash cocktail beach bar (near Amfora) for 8 years prior. Thank you!!!

We highly recommend Junior for the gorgeous fresh fish, great service, and buzzing atmosphere.

Date of visit: July 2021
1  Thank gmitchell94
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 13 July 2021

We had the best meals of our lives in Croatia at Junior on Hvar. It's a hidden gem with exceptional food, service, and atmosphere. Our server, Ante, was superb! I cannot recommend the drunken octopus entree enough!

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank 844carries
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 July 2021

i can't say enough about this restaurant in Hvar. it was one of the best meal experiences I had when I was in Hvar. The fresh seafood was out of this world, the ambience that wasn't over the top but encapsulated all that is brilliant about Hvar.

This place should be everyone's first and last dinner on Hvar and of course you can count on Ante to give you the best experience during your meal.

Fantastic food. fantastic Hvar experience

Date of visit: July 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank ipo2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 June 2021 via mobile

I have to say we didn’t try much on the menu, just one fish soup and two first courses, and this can make a difference with other customers' valuation. What we had was surely quality food, good service, with a positive note about the black risotto. Maybe too little to recommend it.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank andcar74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Junior also viewed

Hvar, Hvar Island
Milna, Hvar Island
 
Hvar, Hvar Island
Hvar, Hvar Island
 

Been to Junior? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Philippines. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.