We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
34
36
5
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
34
36
5
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews restaurants and shops hotel grounds bit dated old city nice hotel location is ideal few minutes walk chinese dishes first floor place to stay amenities driveway tourist lijiang slippers english china
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 75 reviews
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Our tour with Travel China Guide brought us to this delightfully designed hotel in a lush garden setting within the town walls of the old city of Dali. The buildings were of a
traditional Bai design. Our room felt very private and quiet and staff were friendly. Breakfast could be eaten inside or on a veranda. We enjoyed wandering from the hotel through the streets of the old city.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Pam Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 24 April 2018 via mobile

This hotel is situated by old town. The staff is very helpful. The rooms are very nice and well equipped. I liked the nice touches such as a flower placed on the slipper and a flower In the toilet.

The hotel is located in old town so you walk out of the hotel turn left and you are in old town which has a lot of local restaurants and shops.

I would highly recommend this place.

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with friends
Thank Dianne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 November 2017

This hotel was classy and in a beautiful setting. Although a bit dated, the rooms were comfortable and the beds terrific. Breakfast was ok, however there was not a lot of seating making it difficult when there was a tour staying there. The location was great as you could walk out the driveway and into the old city which had great shopping and plenty of restaurants. This is a two story hotel with no elevators. Be aware if stairs are a problem- I would have requested a first floor room when I booked if realized there was no elevator; when I arrived none were available. The staff has very limited English proficiency however, they are very friendly.

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Geonannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 5 June 2017

The drive from the airport not the greatest in the world, but when we turned off the main road onto the steep drive down to the hotel it was like entering another world, the hotel is divided into various low level blocks set in a colourful, scented garden - very beautiful, litter free and well maintained.
The rooms were spacious and clean, a fairly old fashioned layout with armchairs and table, but charming in its own way and with genuine character, a rarity in most hotels.

The breakfast buffet had a good choice of both European and Chinese dishes and the food was of a good quality. Don't go down to eat at the same time as a coach party though as there are just enough tables for them and not for you! We would happily stay again.

  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EtzyKetzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 25 May 2017

The name Gurong Hotel didn't impress us but the hotel turned out to be a nice hotel.
It is located next to the old town. It's just a few minutes walk to the old town town center.

It's resort like hotel complex.

Staff are very responsive & surprisingly speaks very good English.

Rooms are not impressive in old Chinese traditional design. Noted wall paper peeling. It reminded me of 3-star hotels in remote places.

Good breakfast buffet spread

Air conditioning & heating available even during winter.

Christmas Eve Party organized by hotel staffs. The program was amateurish but the performers did their best. My wife & I enjoyed the party very much. Dinner buffet with prawns was included in the ticket.

USB charger/Extension electrical cable stand available inside the room.

Stayed: December 2016
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews