We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (547)
Filter reviews
547 results
Traveler rating
390
123
20
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
390
123
20
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews li river minute walk karst mountains beautiful location chinese food best of both worlds the hustle and bustle friendly hotel relaxing stay local beer third floor town centre taxi ride spent nights peace and quiet rented bikes stayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 547 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2018 via mobile

We had the family room 302. A very spacious and nicely decorated room. The bed is very firm but we had a good night rest. Seeing the sunrise directly from your bed with a view over the beautiful mountains is breath taking.

The breakfast and the dinner that we took are also very nice. You can easily walk to the city center through a gallery if you prefer something different. It is about 40 min walk.

I have no idea about the price as everything was booked through a travel agent.

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Viander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Dear Viander,

You did have a great room. All of our Riverview Family rooms are big with great views of the Li River and mountains.

We have worked very hard to deliver good quality food for our guests. We want the hotel to provide a great experience in every aspect. We have some of the very best views in this region and we want our rooms, service and food also to be very good.

We also arrange all types of trips around here and you will find our prices are also very competitive. We also use a select small number of local guides who are really nice and great guides.

We hope to see you here again in the future.

Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

We got a very, very big family room. Service is great, we even got a fan on the terrace. Swimming pool is marvellous and people are vert nice. Scenery is beautiful, just away from very crowdy Yangshuo. We took a very nice drawing class, on our wished time in hotel. Visited the nice light show including transfer. Everyting clean and comfortable! Perfect

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Marleen v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Marleen v,

It was great having you stay with us and we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have a special team who wants all of our guests to have a great stay. Also, our location is indeed very unique here with some very special views. Most of our rooms have great views.

Our staff can arrange any trips around here and we can also get tickets to the light show. We do try to cover all aspects of our guests needs while they are in Yangshuo.

We hope to see you here again one day.

Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel is without doubt the best we’ve ever ostayed in anywhere in the world. It’s a small family run hotel but with so many luxuries. We were staying for two nights for a couple of days relaxing after 2 busy weeks touring China and it was exactly what we needed. The hotel and rooms are beautifully decorated with a lovely mix of traditional and modern, and a really relaxing space. The location is out of this world, you feel like you’re in the middle of nowhere. All of the staff were lovely and friendly and would do anything to help make our stay perfect. We had planned to go into Yangshuo for meals but after our first meal decided not to bother. The food in the restaurant, both western and Chinese, was fantastic. While we were there they were interviewing for an extra chef, and the managers and all the staff tasted all the food to see if it was good enough for their restaurant, you can see that everyone takes huge pride in this hotel and loves making guests feel welcome. Thank you so much to Alf & Amy and the manager Angel for a beautiful couple of days. We will never forget it and hope we can come back again in the future.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank millys2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018

Dear millys2003,

It was great meeting you guys and having a chat. I can't to see you here again one day.

You are spot on with our staff. They want every aspect of the hotel to be spot on even if it is not their area of responsibility. The interviews for the new chef involves the potential chef cooking some dishes and then us trying them out to see if they match our standards. We have tried a few chefs this week and none have made the cut.

Our location is indeed very unique and very special. The views from the rooms are stunning and it is so peaceful here.

Angel is superb here. She is on top of everything and make sure that everything runs smoothly. She is an amazing person.

Well, enjoy the rest of travels through china.

Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2018

We spent four great nights in the large and beautifully decorated family room at the Li River Resort. The king bed faces a large picture window with a lovely view of the mystical mountains. The room has a well laid-out bathroom, with a huge tub and separate shower and toilet rooms. The beds and pillows are very comfortable. I enjoyed many cups of coffee in the fine china. Everyone at the hotel is so friendly and accommodating. The service is immediate and efficient. We sent our laundry out and received it back within a day. This hotel is the perfect place for relaxing at the end of a day of sightseeing. We enjoyed cooling off at the pool, followed by wine on the terrace at dusk, and then dinner at the restaurant. Amy's on the Li offers a wide array of western and Chinese dishes. The hotel is located 10-15 minutes outside of Yangshuo, which is nice because it is quiet. The hotel will call taxis for you which is around 30 RMB to downtown Yangshuo. Love this hotel!

Room tip: The family room on the third floor is huge and very comfortable. #302 was ours.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank KHWanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear KHWanderlust,

We are all very pleased that you enjoyed all the facilities at our hotel. The Riverview Family rooms are large and of course have those magnificent views.

Our pool is something special with its great views and yes, it is great to cool down in after a day of sightseeing around the area.

The terrace is a great place to relax and enjoy a meal and drinks. It is so quiet and peaceful there.

We would love to see you here again one day.

Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 18 July 2018

We loved this place! This was one of those "wow" moments!! A rare traveling find!!! People were so kind and thoughtful to us - The answer was an enthusiastic "yes!" to our every request. The staff helped us, extensively, to arrange everything from rides, to tours (river and bike), to traditional Chinese medicine therapies/services. Our room was breathtaking! Floor to ceiling windows framing the gorgeous Yangshuo mountains. We kept the curtains open the whole time just to soak in the view! And the food! Great restaurant at Amy's, right in the hotel. Food and service were both outstanding. Fresh, delicious and large variety. We are vegetarians too and we had lots of choices. And please treat yourself to the freshly squeezed juices-the passionfruit is the best!! And the juice tea is a real treat too! Such attention to detail - spacious and so comfortable. It was a very relaxing and safe 20 minute walk along the river to the town of Yangshuo. Being removed from the hustle and bustle of Yangshuo was a huge plus of this place! We can't wait to come again! Li River Resort was a highlight of our trip to China. And please, go on a countryside bike tour with Sally. Request Sally! She picked us right up from the hotel and we biked out to the countryside, along the Li River, passing rice fields and farmers' homes. The hotel will arrange this for you. Sally is a jewel and we learned so much about this beautiful area of China from her. Really can't say enough good things about our stay at Li River Resort! We felt so fortunate to have had this experience. Thank you so much for making our stay a really great memory!!

Room tip: All rooms have incredible views of Yangshuo mountains.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Garnett888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alf E, Manager at Li River Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 July 2018

Dear Garnett888,

Great to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us. You certainly took full advantage of everything that we provide here at our hotel.

The views are really special here and unique to this area. No other hotel can be located on the Li River in the countryside like ours. Wether you are in your room, eating out in our patio or by the swimming pool, you can always take in the stunning views.

With our restaurant, we always try to source fresh ingredients. The passionfruit is in season right now. We actually have our own passion fruit tree, that is why it is so fresh. we just pick it off our own tree. It is only in season during the summer but it is amazing how it tastes. we also grow some vegetables that we use in our dishes making them taste so good also.

Sally is an amazing local girl who takes our guests out for trips in this area. You didn't meet Anna, she is also another amazing guide. These two ladies are not famous because they do not know how to promote themselves, but they are just as mazing as the famous local guides in Yangshuo.

We look forward to seeing you again and provide you with another lovely stay.

Kind regards
Alf

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews